Still on upgrading to V.3

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Blutarsky, Apr 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blutarsky

    Blutarsky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    148
    I'm an "old" NOD32 customer, and a few month a go bought a new computer with high processing power 4GB RAM, blazing 7200RPM SATA disk......with Windows VISTA Ultimate..... slower than my old laptop with XP!!!!

    Now: it's quite a time NOD V3 is out....

    - Is it reliable?
    - On the same hardware is it faster\slower than V3?

    Hate to keep on downgrading computer performance!
     
  2. sammyc53

    sammyc53 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Posts:
    39
    My opinion:

    First, 7200 is not blazing. It's the bare minimum :) Unless it's a laptop of course, it's about as high as you can go.

    Get Vista SP1 and Office SP1. The first time I installed Vista, it was indeed slower than XP. When both SP1's came out, I gave Vista another shot. Ten times better now.

    As for performance, test it out yourself. Use a program like PassMark, to benchmark you system with
    1. No AV
    2. Old Version of NOD
    3. New Version of NOD

    And compare the speed results.

    Also, you could disable 'Scan on Access' for the real-time scanner. This will give you a big speed boost.
     
  3. Blutarsky

    Blutarsky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    148
    Sorry forgot to mention, it is a DELL Vostro 1500 laptop.
    I have all SP installed

     
  4. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    I'm finding NOD V3 to be reliable now. In the beginning I went back and forth between V3 and V2.7 as V3 caused me some problems. They appear to be solved for me.

    For you the best thing to do is try it out for yourself. No two machines are the same. You can always go back to V2.7 if it's not right for you yet.
     
  5. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    Sammyc53,

    Is disabling scan on access a good idea (from a security standpoint)?
     
  6. sammyc53

    sammyc53 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Posts:
    39

    Depends on your user, network, and exposure. Inside a secure network, it's not much of a big deal.

    All files still get scanned on create/modify/backup, etc. So files will still get scanned at each of those executions. By the time a file is actually 'Accessed' it's probably already been scanned.

    Many Admins practice this, it's pretty common.

    If you are fearful of doing that, you could also trim the scanners to only scan file types that are capable of carrying a malicious payload.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.