Still asking for help with this program

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by Nikilet, Oct 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nikilet

    Nikilet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Something funny happened with my computer yesterday and I have no idea what it was, but I was able to get past it through using System Restore. My next step was going to be the complete disk backup I have on my external HD which was made using Paragon. Had I needed to use my Paragon backup, I would have been in a double mess because I would have had no idea what to do.

    I made the boot CD, or whatever you call it. Thing is, I don't think I could have gotten into the BIOS to change the settings to boot from a CD because I was unable to access Safe Mode. The only thing it would automatically take me to was Startup Repair. Through there I got to the System Restore. I scan every day with Malwarebytes Pro and with Avast Internet Security 6; once a week week free SuperAntispyware.

    I thought maybe I should contact someone and find out what to do for when/if this happens again. I've read and read in the help manual and, of course, I have gained some knowledge. But mostly I found it hard to understand. Can anyone out there lay this out for me in a simple way that's easy to understand?

    Every time I backup I just do a full backup since I have room on my external. I always verify the archive when I'm done with the backup.

    I think I made the boot CD from something called Paragon-140-HEE_WindowsInstallSNU_10.0.11..... -- but I wouldn't swear to it.
     
  2. Zacrux

    Zacrux Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    BIOS - Options are set during the initial start up of your computer..
    You should only need to change or set the boot order of your boot devices if you can't get to the following screen prompt.
    There is usually a message on the screen to press a certain key for boot device options. *** these settings have nothing to do with your Operating System ' windowsxp, windows 7, linus, etc.. '

    If you are to the point of pressing F8 for 'boot in safe' mode you have already gone too far ...

    That is .. if you want to boot from your 'boot CD' that you made.
     
  3. Nikilet

    Nikilet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    You are assuming I am smart enough to understand all this and I guess I'm not.

    When I used Acronis before, which failed me I might add, I had to go into boot options and select to boot from CD. That part worked for me fine, but after I booted I couldn't even make a selection because my mouse flew all over the screen and there was no stopping it.

    So are you saying I do not need to choose the "boot from CD" option. How do I boot from that CD? I've read that one should use the CD and run a test just to make sure things will work when you need them to. I'm afraid to do it; scared I'll end up erasing everything.

    I've tried getting help before. I wish someone would just understand that I'm an idiot when it comes to this backup situation and help me with that knowledge in mind.
     
  4. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    A lot of this is (somewhat) obvious but only after you understand it! I sympathize with you but unfortunately this stuff requires a bit more in-depth understanding of computer operation than just typing an email and pressing the send buttton.

    Computer BIOS setups vary and if your computer pops up with a "Boot from CD" menu then you should be able to select it and have the CD boot. Hopefully the Paragon software will be better behaved with your mouse than the Acronis software.

    I am one of the people who will tell you that until you have successfully restored you shouldn't have total confidence in your backup/restore method. However, a test of a complete restore should be done to a spare HD in case it doesn't work and the "doesn't work" doesn't necessarily mean you personally screwed up but includes the program recovery environment not working on your PC.

    If you have the paid version you will have access to both the Linux recovery environment and also you will be able to make a WinPE bootable CD. There is a good chance that if the Linux recovery fails the WinPE one will work because of better hardware compatibility.
     
  5. Nikilet

    Nikilet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    I do have the paid version of Paragon, and if one has to be a computer technician/guru to effectively run this program then it should not be for sale to the "general" public. I do have a bit more knowledge that just typing an email and hitting the send button.

    I do know how to go into BIOS and make the change to boot from CD. I think it's either the F11 or F12 key. But when I had this little mishap the other night, I don't think I could have gotten into my BIOS screen to change the boot mode. I say that because I tried using the F8 key so that I could try "last good configuration" option (Safe Mode options also on this screen) and it would not take me to that screen. It would jump over everything else and automatically take me to that Startup Repair screen and that was it. Fortunately, Startup Repair eventually brings up the option to use System Restore if it can not make repairs. I took advantage of that and it worked.

    If I can not get into the BIOS screen to change it through the normal channel, is there any other way I can use this boot CD or am I just totally out of luck?
     
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I certainly didn't mean to imply that you were only capable of email but rather to point out it requires more computer knowledge than just running typical applications.

    I think you are still missing the point about BIOS. BIOS has nothing to do with Windows it is included in the computer motherboard to facilitate communication with the hardware and to configure various aspects of the computer such as device order, memory speed, CPU, power management and other paramteters. In fact the acronym stands for Basic Input Output System.

    You should always be able to get to the BIOS to set boot order etc and all this happens before Windows or any other OS starts up. If the computer doesn't work such that you can't get to the BIOS then you have a major problem and it won't have anything to do with needing to restore the OS.
     
  7. Zacrux

    Zacrux Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    You state that ' I don't think I could have gotten into BIOS to change the settings to boot from CD because I was unable to access Safe Mode'

    This implies that you think you have to boot into windows in order to chage your system to boot to the CD.. that is wrong... thus the BIOS discussion.
    Most System BIOS will print text to the screen at the very beginning of you computer's start up process... this text ( and it may not be on the screen for very long ) will tell you to ' press ( del or F2 or F12 ... ) key to show boot device menu .. each BIOS is different... Now if you can't see this on the screen and your PC always boots from the Hard Drive even if you have a bootable CD in the CDROM drive you may have to change your BIOS Boot Drive order to move your CDRom drive to boot before the Hard Drive.

    Computers are complicated devices... I would purchase a basic computer troubleshooting book that might explain the process we are discussing.

    That being said ' If your computer has been set up such that the hard drive will boot before your CDROM drive and you don't see the text on screen telling you which key to press to select a boot device, it isn't Paragon's fault that your computer is set up that way and It isn't right that you 'Blame' them for not having reset your computer's settings to change the boot order. Your computer's BIOS settings are the lifeblood of your computer working properly and believe me you don't want ANY software vendor attempting to change your bios settings through software.

    Yes it is distressing when you are treading in unknown territory, but sometimes you have no other choice but to learn something new. If you do decide to muck about in your computer's BIOS settings be sure you don't change anything you don't understand... you can completely stop your PC from working by setting the wrong things... even to the point of having to physically remove the CMOS battery and reset your BIOS to system defaults in order to start up your PC.

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.