Stateful Packet Inspection logs

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by tester, Jan 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tester

tester Guest

Im new to Look'n'Stop and just started testing the new beta 2.05 so i just have a quick question. I turned on Stateful Packet Inspection under advanced options and now im seeing in the logs a bunch of Stateful Packet Inspection rules showing up all the time now. They are being blocked from coming in with the address being 127.0.0.1 and with a source port of 80. So my question is, is this normal or not to be happening all the time? and if so is there a way to disable them from being logged?

2. Frederic

Frederic LnS Developer

Some months ago I also experienced this kind of packets.
    it seemed to me that is was a real detection of bad (malicious ?) packets.
    Here is the reference to my post:
    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=13244;start=msg88614#msg88614

I added a rule to block specifically these packets before they were examined by the TCP SPI:
    http://looknstop.soft4ever.com/Rules/LocalHost80.rie

and after that everything was Ok.

Frederic

3. tester

tester Guest

Hi Frederic,

To bad i cant read french or else i would read the thread you posted on this before.

The link to the rule you posted above to block this i couldnt make out totally but i think i understand it enough. I just created a rule at the top of my filter rules to block localhost inbound source ip 127.0.0.1 and source port 80 and that seems to be doing the trick.

I have used both kerio 2.1.5 and 8signs firewalls and have never seen this happen before and they are both supposed to have stateful packet inspection. So i have to wonder then if this could be a bug or something with Look'n'stops SPI perhaps?

4. tester

tester Guest

Ok, I just checked my logs again after awhile and noticed some more very strange Stateful Packet Inspection logs.