Starting Acronis Loader > Error

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by MESURF4, Mar 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MESURF4

    MESURF4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I had a Client who wanted a good backup solution so I recommended True image 10.0

    He is a bit Excitable and rushed down to the store and Grabbed the First Acronis Box he saw with 10.0 on it. Unfortunately it was Disk Director Suite 10.0 :thumbd:

    Instead of waiting for me to help him he went about installing ( The Wrong Product) :thumbd:

    Now when he Boots his computer ( Windows XP Home SP2) he gets the following error message and Nothing else :'(

    Starting Acronis Loader No Commands For Booting Operating System Press Enter to Reboot ( This in White Letters on a Black Screen )

    Upon Pressing Enter The same Message Immediately Reappears

    I tried Booting from the Disk Director Suite Install CD and The C drive is displayed as

    NTFS C: Drive with a Red Flag above it

    Shows the content of C Drive i.e. Folders but cannot access anything

    Tried Xp Recovery Console Goes through Reading Files from Cd but then it reports No disk found although SATA HD Shows in BIOS.

    ANy Ideas for repair. *puppy*

    I cannot Download anything from internet as computer will not even Boot into Safe Mode with F8 Key :'(


    I don't think he followed any instructions during install and if part of install is a Acronis Recovery CD he didn't do it o_O :'(


    I Found something on Google saying to Reactivate / Disable OS Selector ?

    How can I do this from the Installation CD?

    Also I read about the F11 Commando_O

    Mahalo
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2007
  2. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    MESURF4:

    The Disk Director Install CD is also a recovery CD. Using it, if you can explore the disk content and see folders, then that's hopeful. The red flag simply indicates the bootable (active) partition. In my opinion, that was a poor color choice by the designers. Red flags generally are used to indicate trouble. This needlessly causes alarm when seen for the first time!

    It sounds like OS Selector was accidentally activated but not set up with any operating systems. You could try to disable OS Selector. Look in the Tools menu.

    If no luck here, try the recovery console with your XP CD and issue the FIXMBR command, if you can get it to see your disk.
     
  3. MESURF4

    MESURF4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    In Reference to Previous " Possible Solution"

    "It sounds like OS Selector was accidentally activated but not set up with any operating systems. You could try to disable OS Selector. Look in the Tools menu."



    How can I Disable OS Selector using the Disk Director Suite Installation Cd which I can Boot from although I cannot get beyond it into Windows. o_O

    If Someone would Post a Link or provide Detailed Instructions I would Appreciate it VERY MUCH :thumb:
     
  4. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    When you boot from the installation CD you should see a menu screen with choices for starting Disk Director in Safe Mode, Disk Director in Full Mode, Activating OS Selector, and OS Selector Setup.

    I'm not that familiar with OS Selector, so I can't help with specific directions, but I would try the OS Selector Setup choice from the menu and look for an option for removing OS Selector. The Acronis documentation is here:

    http://us1.download.acronis.com/pdf/DiskDirectorSuite10.0_ug.en.pdf
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    The OSS program should be on the startup menu on the rescue cd IF it was checked when the cd was created. If the cd was made with just DD then it won't be there. Another cd will have to be created.
     
  6. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    MudCrab:

    He's got a retail CD purchased at a store, so your guess is as good as mine as to what is on it. From reading his previous post, it is bootable, so he's in luck there. I would hope that Acronis would put all choices on the startup menu of their retail CDs.

    You're probably more familiar with this than I am, but if OS Selector won't load, isn't there a key that you can press to bypass it? Is it F6??
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Pressing F6 is supposed to bypass the menu and boot the last OS booted. In this case it won't help as OS doesn't know what to boot.

    I find this odd that the XP recovery console says no disk found. I wonder if something else is corrupted. Is the XP recovery console the same thing as doing a repair? I've never had to do one so I'm not up on the details.
     
  8. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    If the Windows install disc doesn't see your hard disk, it's probably because the correct SATA driver isn't loaded. You could check the BIOS of the machine to see if there is a "compatibility mode" setting for the hard disk controller. If so, try it again and see if the recovery console can see the drive. If there is no compatibility mode setting then you would need to find a floppy disk with your SATA driver and load it by pressing F6 when prompted by the Windows installer.

    If you are then able to see the hard disk from the recovery console, use FIXMBR to replace the master boot record and you should then be able to boot directly into Windows. In a stubborn case if the partition boot record or the boot.ini file was modified you may also need to use FIXBOOT to repair those.

    The recovery console lets you do things manually. The "repair" option does it on autopilot, but I'm not sure exactly what it will check/fix.
     
  9. MESURF4

    MESURF4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    :thumb: I was able to resolve the issue by Pressing F11 from the moment I turned on the computer (Dell) Removed the Word quiet . This all happened so fast I don't remember the sequence of events exactly as I wasn't writing it down , anyway This Basically allowed me to Bypass The Loader Error. I then was able to Boot into XP and Uninstall The Disk Director OS Selector Program all together.:D

    I very much appreciate the Help / Suggestions you guys provided throughout this process. I'm a little dissapointed in the methodology? that this company uses for Tech support. Having to Pay for Telephone support:thumbd: In this case the software rendered the computer unbootable and therefore the owner was unable to register to get Tech Support. I had to register for him from a working computer and then wait days for responses from Tech Support. This is why I went away from Symantec Products. I think Acronis makes a Good product but just hope you don't encounter any problems:eek:

    Once again Thank You:cool:
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2007
  10. ledcreigh

    ledcreigh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    I'm having a similar problem in Windows Vista that I'm hoping someone can help with. I activated OS Selector and now cannot deactivate it. When I fire up OS Selector (either in Vista or the boot loader) I see no operating systems listed in the main window. Selecting Tools->Deactivate OS Selector or Tools->OS Detection Wizard, OS Selector claims that it cannot find any operating systems in my C: partition. Which is rather odd, as hitting F6 before OS Selector is loaded does allow Vista to boot successfully.

    I've thought about just uninstalling Disk Director Suite and reinstalling it again, but I want some assurance that this will actually correct the OS Selector problem. I'm still fairly new to Vista, so I haven't investigate trying to boot the recovery console, but any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    Regards!
    -----Stuart
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.