Stand alone webshield?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by mattdocs12345, May 31, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Any suggestions? I tried K9 and didn't really like it.
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    norton dns
     
  3. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    By webshield what are you looking for, something that scans website content in realtime (http scanner) or just a simple URL Blocker that will show you a "block page" if the site is black listed. :doubt:
     
  4. 031

    031 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    Bangladesh
    Norton DNS + Bitdefender trafficlight.
     
  5. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,697
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    What's wrong with K9?
     
  6. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,736
    Salfeld
    http://salfeld.com/

    If you need only browser protection think about Firefox with Adblock Plus & Noscript.
     
  7. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    K9 is great. Of course I don't use it as a parental filter. My main purpose is to block malware/adware/phising. K9 does excellent job until the moment when I can't access internet at all and then I have to uninstall it.
    I am running it currently but I assume within this month it will be gone from my system for the reason above.

    I need something that blocks harmful URLs. Norton DNS is not very good at that, K9 does much better job with exception for that bug.
     
  8. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    I would suggest using HostsMan to block harmful URLs. I use Acrylic DNS Proxy in combination with it, but you can also just use the built in Windows hosts file.
     
  9. mhl6493

    mhl6493 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I'm currently using Bitdefender Trafficlight and Adblock in Chrome. Seems to be working nicely, without having to download a separate program.
     
  10. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    I found traffic light quite effective but heavy on the system.:)
     
  11. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    That's the main problem. It eats CPU like there is no tomorrow.
     
  12. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,919
    I tried to check how BD TrafficLight blocks sites. However I tried, I've never got any site blocked. Does anybody have BD TrafficLight blocking anything?
     
  13. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,697
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Try to install it as an application, not as an add-on.
     
  14. Feandur

    Feandur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Posts:
    401
    Location:
    Australia
    Currently using Traffic Light + Ad Block Plus + WOT on Chrome on Linux Mint.

    Only seen a warning a few times (presumably WOT) and only , maybe, once or twice a blocked page with a friendly <get me out of here> type of message [presumably Traffic Light].

    Only 2G RAM and 1st generation E6300 C2D processor.......No conflict, and no slow-down that I notice.

    -cheers,
    feandur
     
  15. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Thanks, I will do that next time. I am currently testing K9 if the internet connection bug has been fixed or not.


    Try this site:
    www.virtualrouterplus.com
    Click download. It's an adware.

    Norton DNS doesn't block it. K9 blocks the heck out of it.
     
  16. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,919
    K9 blocked it as "Spyware / Malware Source". BD TrafficLight showed green light and didn't do anything.
     
  17. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    URLVoid currently has no blacklisting for this domain.
     
  18. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Thank you for checking, it's very helpful. I hope none of you downloaded the file...
     
  19. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,919
    I downloaded it twice. Then I scanned it with CIS, it detected nothing. Then I deleted. Is it not safe to download and not install?
     
  20. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Yeah it is not safe IMO.
     
  21. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,919
    Actually after the download PC cannot hibernate and logoff. Though Killswitch didn't show any unknown process in the RAM. I just switched to earlier snapshot with Eaz-Fix. And now it's OK. Maybe it's coincidence.
     
  22. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    It's just a coincidence. It can't do anything if you didnt execute it. Don't worry :)
     
  23. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    I don't know. I've been running problems with my PC recently. Today is a 2nd time Im imaging. When I downloaded the file Avira freaked out and locked the registry... Ive had browser hijacking and my USBs infected.
     
  24. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,919
    I think so as well. Moreover the problem survived after forced reboot. I have Applocker with Hash rules. So even if I had executed the download it would live only in the RAM and could not survive reboot.

    I guess I get problems with my PC not because of malware but because I tweak security apps and OS. :)
     
  25. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Have any of you that uses or have used K9 and have experienced the bug actually sent in a bug report or made contact with them so they could take a look at it and try to fix it, or do they already know about it? :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.