Stability of Windows XP Service Pack 3

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Chamlin, Sep 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    My computer keeps "urging" me to install Windows XP Service Pack 3 on my computer and I hesitate. I have NOD32 2.70.39 installed, along with online armor.

    Is there anything I need to do to ensure this goes smoothly?

    Thanks!
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,938
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  3. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Another precaution is to take an image of your drive before you install SP3
     
  4. krypton_harsh

    krypton_harsh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    84
    to maintain more stability of sp3, i would prefer, u clean install xp and then update sp3 with out doing changes to it

    and a still better idea would be to streamline sp3 to u;r xp cd using nlite and check for some useful tweaks in it, like Disable SFC ( system file check during installation)

    i am using Windows XP SP3, and its very stable, no errors no issues..
    its good...
     
  5. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Have updated and slipstreamed 7 machines so far - no stability issues to report.
    Agree that making an imaging is a good idea in case your current system is not as clean or stable as it should be - updating may bring out the instabilities.
    Slipstreaming and starting again is by far the best solution - assuming you have a few hours to spare.
     
  6. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    I made the mistake to try to upgrade to SP3. I didn't have the possibility to make any backup, so I didn't, thinking that it would have been safe. So it went till the end, then said "Access Denied":blink: and rolled back the changes. Then a message came up:

    "Service Pack 3 didn't install correctly. Your computer may not work correctly"

    or something similar. The first time I used the computer it was really slow. Had a few BSODs, the last one yesterday when opening a new tab:blink: . It was win32k.sys

    Seems alright now. Just some BSOD that may happen sometime. I can't wait until I get a new computer. It'll take a while to install my 300 programs, but at least I won't have any BSOD.
     
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    One of the 300 may be at the root of your troubles. SP3 installed like a dream for me. But then I don't have as many programs as you.
     
  8. axial

    axial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    If you use programs that depend on OLE support (e.g. desktop publishing where you could drag a spreadsheet or a graphic into a newsletter layout) then SP3 can be a huge problem because it changes OLE significantly.
     
  9. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Well I installed those programs before SP3 was available...So I couldn't uninstall them, install SP3, then install them again...Anyway, the important thing is that the system is working fine, except for some random BSOD sometimes.
     
  10. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    " Anyway, the important thing is that the system is working fine, except for some random BSOD sometimes. "

    What are you talking about ? Strange, strange ... and funky ... You joke, Sir ?...

    Clean your services and your startup applications, PLEASE ...:thumb:

    PS. Use Advanced WindowsCare 3 Beta 2.8.5 ; you know this ?... ONE click ...
     
  11. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Yes, I ran those. But I think that some system files have been damaged.
     
  12. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    Sir,

    Blue CHKDSK ... ; sfc /scannow ; Defragment ; AWC 3 Beta black ...

    ...and ... when did you last see Steve?

    Look every morning to
    http://fakesteveballmer.blogspot.com/ and this : http://virb.com/balm

    - for your good humour ... every morning ... Steve has a acute sense of humour ... devastating humour !

    Enjoy your meal !!!

    Your PROROOTECT ( Beta )
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2008
  13. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Lol are you a bot or something? You have a strange way to talk:D
    Don't worry the system is running fine now, I already run a chdsk before, also defragmented with UltimateDefrag.
     
  14. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    YES.

    I'm a stranger HERE ...

    I love frogs ...

    My frog has a personality of being friendly with a acute sense of humor ...:-*

    :argh: :argh: :argh: ( Beta )
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.