Stability of Windows XP Service Pack 3

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Chamlin, Sep 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    My computer keeps "urging" me to install Windows XP Service Pack 3 on my computer and I hesitate. I have NOD32 2.70.39 installed, along with online armor.

    Is there anything I need to do to ensure this goes smoothly?

    Thanks!
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    28,066
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  3. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Another precaution is to take an image of your drive before you install SP3
     
  4. krypton_harsh

    krypton_harsh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    84
    to maintain more stability of sp3, i would prefer, u clean install xp and then update sp3 with out doing changes to it

    and a still better idea would be to streamline sp3 to u;r xp cd using nlite and check for some useful tweaks in it, like Disable SFC ( system file check during installation)

    i am using Windows XP SP3, and its very stable, no errors no issues..
    its good...
     
  5. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Have updated and slipstreamed 7 machines so far - no stability issues to report.
    Agree that making an imaging is a good idea in case your current system is not as clean or stable as it should be - updating may bring out the instabilities.
    Slipstreaming and starting again is by far the best solution - assuming you have a few hours to spare.
     
  6. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    I made the mistake to try to upgrade to SP3. I didn't have the possibility to make any backup, so I didn't, thinking that it would have been safe. So it went till the end, then said "Access Denied":blink: and rolled back the changes. Then a message came up:

    "Service Pack 3 didn't install correctly. Your computer may not work correctly"

    or something similar. The first time I used the computer it was really slow. Had a few BSODs, the last one yesterday when opening a new tab:blink: . It was win32k.sys

    Seems alright now. Just some BSOD that may happen sometime. I can't wait until I get a new computer. It'll take a while to install my 300 programs, but at least I won't have any BSOD.
     
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,683
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    One of the 300 may be at the root of your troubles. SP3 installed like a dream for me. But then I don't have as many programs as you.
     
  8. axial

    axial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    If you use programs that depend on OLE support (e.g. desktop publishing where you could drag a spreadsheet or a graphic into a newsletter layout) then SP3 can be a huge problem because it changes OLE significantly.
     
  9. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Well I installed those programs before SP3 was available...So I couldn't uninstall them, install SP3, then install them again...Anyway, the important thing is that the system is working fine, except for some random BSOD sometimes.
     
  10. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    " Anyway, the important thing is that the system is working fine, except for some random BSOD sometimes. "

    What are you talking about ? Strange, strange ... and funky ... You joke, Sir ?...

    Clean your services and your startup applications, PLEASE ...:thumb:

    PS. Use Advanced WindowsCare 3 Beta 2.8.5 ; you know this ?... ONE click ...
     
  11. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Yes, I ran those. But I think that some system files have been damaged.
     
  12. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    Sir,

    Blue CHKDSK ... ; sfc /scannow ; Defragment ; AWC 3 Beta black ...

    ...and ... when did you last see Steve?

    Look every morning to
    http://fakesteveballmer.blogspot.com/ and this : http://virb.com/balm

    - for your good humour ... every morning ... Steve has a acute sense of humour ... devastating humour !

    Enjoy your meal !!!

    Your PROROOTECT ( Beta )
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2008
  13. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Lol are you a bot or something? You have a strange way to talk:D
    Don't worry the system is running fine now, I already run a chdsk before, also defragmented with UltimateDefrag.
     
  14. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    YES.

    I'm a stranger HERE ...

    I love frogs ...

    My frog has a personality of being friendly with a acute sense of humor ...:-*

    :argh: :argh: :argh: ( Beta )
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.