SSM & Installs

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Rico, Dec 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,702
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Guys,

    Trying to install a few apps. "Wise Installation Wizard" would never finish, or close since running SSM. To close I've add to ctrl+alt+del & end process on msiexec.exe, to close "Wise Installation Wizard."

    What should I do so future installs run smooth? See Pic.

    Thanks
    Rico
     

    Attached Files:

    • ssm3.png
      ssm3.png
      File size:
      50.8 KB
      Views:
      183
  2. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,702
    Location:
    Texas
    Busted Installation

    Hi Guys,

    I tried to install snagit 8.02, however "Wise Installation Wizard" would not finish or close. Nothing would close! I rebooted to get past this error. Now new installations, will complain that a previous installation is in progress & needs to finish first. Anyway! How do i get rid of the old install? Snagit 8.02 i did get to update.

    I believe "Wise Installation Wizard" did not finish or close due to SSM's protecting it. Wise Installation Wizard uses msiexec.exe file.

    Thanks
    Rico
     
  3. Genady Prishnikov

    Genady Prishnikov Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    350
    Re: Busted Installation

    Have you tried actually manually stopping the process?
     
  4. KDNeese

    KDNeese Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    236
    Hard to say. I always close all my other programs down when I install anything, including closing down SSM. I don't see the need to have it running. After install (and reboot if necessary), fire SSM back up and allow the new program. As for the installation wizard, I would check and make sure the "keep this process in memory" tab isn't checked for msiexec.exe. But I guess if that were the case the control-alt-delete wouldn't work, as SSM would just fire it back up. Although, the control-alt-delete might terminate it just long enough to finish the install. After you terminate msiexec, does it pop back up again in Task Manager shortly afterward? If so, then there has to be some rule somewhere telling SSM to keep it from terminating. At least that is what makes sense to me without actually being able to look at your setup. I would just do through and check all your SSM rules for msiexec and try to determine if there is possible some rule keeping the wizard from terminating correctly.
     
  5. [suave]

    [suave] Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Posts:
    218
    Hey Rico,

    If you are installing a trusted application then you it might be easier to either disable SSM during the installation process, or put it in learning mode.

    But before using learning mode, it is important for you to understand that while this mode is enabled SSM will create "allow" rules for anything you are currently doing without asking for your approval. Good for trusted apps, but could compromise your security if you're not careful.
     
  6. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    I'll also echo shutting down SSM before installing a known and trusted program. It's simply easier. As has been said, simply run the new program after installation and allow the appropriate rules upon prompting. I'm loving :-* SSM, now a permanent part of my security arsenal.
     
  7. ggf31416

    ggf31416 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    314
    Location:
    Uruguay
    Maybe a module is blocking some important registry change
     
  8. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Rico: I've got to agree w/ the idea of: Shutting down (Exit) SSM when installing a "Trusted" app. Then just start up SSM and allow the installed app in the SSM pop-ups. Learning mode can be risky if you want a tight rule set up.

    If you're using Network in SSM and the app you're installing is network enabled, like an AV, AS or something that requires updates, Just add the IP in the network. It will be added as "Trusted", therefore limiting its ability to roam, and keeping your rules tight.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hello Rico,

    I have taken the liberty to merge your "SSM & Installs" and 'Busted Installation' threads into one. IMHO both issues concern your understanding of SSM and feel that combining these issues into one will better serve you as other users of SSM attempt to explain how best to address these issues.

    I also feel your SSM & the Web thread will benefit from you understanding SSM somewhat better.

    Bubba
     
  10. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    [QUOTE='[suave]But before using learning mode, it is important for you to understand that while this mode is enabled...could compromise your security if you're not careful.[/QUOTE]The most recent versions of SSM do include an Install mode (accessible via the Allow button dropdown menu) which temporarily allows all actions for the process (only critical ones like driver installs should be prompted on) - this should avoid any such problems.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.