SSD

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Rico, Nov 17, 2023.

  1. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,059
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Correction. MiniTool Partition Wizard Free will let you resize that partition while in Windows.
     
  2. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    2,286
    Location:
    Canada
    @Brian K I wanted to visit the BIOS to see if any <labels> for Optane need enabling. I also wanted to verify your moving "restore" partition to C: within windows. Later the Optane problem more accurately looked at, came the 5 MB gree space at the end of the recovery partition

    If re-sizing not possible from Win OS, then Boot disk needs to be made, this would require F2 or F12 functional, or your boot command.
    Mentioned was Paragon may resize that partition.

    In Pation program Paragon hovering over stats '... ' revealed 648 MB partition with 584 MB used. So Optane has enough "Space"

    So. The free space, on the partition, is not in the correct position to be recognized or perhaps Optane mem toast, or o_O?

    Also I Paragon I saw nothing to resize the partition in Windows, using Paragon Partition , <free>, perhaps missed
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,059
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Paragon can't do it from Windows and both my Paragon boot disks failed to load.
    MiniTool can do it from Windows. Resize the 648 MB partition to 643 MB. Then you will have 5 MB of Free Space at the end of the drive.
    Try MiniTool Free.
     
  4. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,649
    Location:
    USA
    Thats odd! I just tested Paragon CE in a VM and I was able to create an unalocated space both after the recovery partition, as well as the C drive from within Windows. It did not even ask me to restart. The only issue was that you cannot enter a custom size in the free version, you have to use the slider and Paragon will choose a size for you.


    Paragon CE1-m.jpg


    Paragon CE-m.jpg
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,059
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Raza,

    I had another look at Paragon CE in Windows. I can get a "Move or Resize" window for the OS partition but not for the Recovery partition.
     
  6. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,649
    Location:
    USA
    Brian were you able to actually select the recovery partition? The default view of the paragon window is very narrow, I had to expand it horizontally to be able to get a decent clickable size on the recovery partition. Once the recovery partition is selected, it should offer you the same "move or resize" option for that partition as well.
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,059
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Raza, the Recovery partition is narrow but there is no way to make it wider. I have several other partitions that are smaller than the Recovery partition and I can create a Move or Resize window on those partitions. The Recovery partition, the ESP and the MSR are in the same category. No Move or Resize option is available for those 3 partitions.
     
  8. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,649
    Location:
    USA
    I just tested again on the VM (Windows 10). Paragon does not give me a "move or resize" option for both EFI and MSR partitions, but it does give me the option when I select the recovery partition.

    I do not know why it is not giving you the option, maybe the partition is locked or being used by another software or a process. I will investigate further.
     
  9. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,649
    Location:
    USA
    Brian, I was able to test with another free partition manager "AOMEI Partition Assistant Standard". It too was able to resize the recovery partition for me from within Windows, without asking for a restart.

    All these tests were performed within a VM, but I do not see why they should be different from a physical system. I unfortunately do not have a recovery environment on my physical system to test.

    There must be something on your system preventing write oprerations on your recovery environment.
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,059
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Raza, I just installed Paragon into Win11 in another computer. I get the same results in both computers.

    As mentioned above, MiniTool Free can resize the Recovery partition in my Windows. But Paragon can't. Weird.
     
  11. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,649
    Location:
    USA
    Brian, you are right! I just tested on a Windows 11 VM and Paragon does not give me an option to "move or resize" the recovery environment. The option is available on Windows 10 however.

    Must be something missing in Paragon Partition Manager that will allow the operation on Windows 10, but not on Windows 11.

    AOMEI Partition Assistant Standard on the other hand does allow the recovery partition to be resized on Windows 11. So I guess if someone is on Windows 11, they should either use AOMEI or MiniTool.
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,059
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Thanks for that. I'll test on Win10 later today.
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,059
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I just tried Paragon in Win10 and couldn't get a Move or Resize option for the Recovery partition. This is weird.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2023
  14. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,649
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, that is weird.

    The only thing that comes to mind is that it has something to do with Windows updates. The Windows 10 running in my VM is the 22H2 version 10.0.19045.2006 released in Oct 2022, no updates. My Win 11 version is very recent. So that must be what is different between our systems and causing Paragon to behave differently.

    So in Rico's case he should avoid using Paragon free and use one of the other free partition managers to resize his recovery partition.
     
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,059
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Just messing around. Two scenarios.
    I made The Recovery partition Hidden.
    Next, I changed the Type GUID from Microsoft Recovery to Normal Data.

    It made no difference. Paragon couldn't resize the partition.
     
  16. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    2,286
    Location:
    Canada
    I found the limitation of Paragon as well, was worth the effort as Paragon revealed a "TELL"

    Paragon indicated ample 'free space' available on the 'Recovery Partition'

    If it's not 'Free Space' issue, areas/avenues of approach to <ENABLE> 648 MB recovery partition with 584 MB used.

    Does Intel Optane memory interact with HDD, and compatibility issues, or ....

    Right now I see no need to mess with the 'recovery partition'. Is my guess
     
  17. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    2,286
    Location:
    Canada
    @briank - Please explain why resizing is for resizing (from Win OS) when the goal of using the tool was to create 5 mb of free space.

    Hoovering over the Recovery partition, " ... " on size info. for that partition

    Indicated 648 MB with 584 used

    NOTE - It seems logical the the partition would fill with data, starting at square one & fill till
    finished, the remainder of the free space, would be from 585 to 684. So that puts greater than 5 MB at the end of the drive.

    NOTE: If the 5 MB is supposed to come first NOT LAST, then my mis-understanding
     
  18. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,372
    "5 MB of continuous unallocated space at the end of the drive", so 5 MB after the last partition; not 5 MB free in the last partition?
     
  19. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    2,286
    Location:
    Canada
    the Recovery is still the partition is the target, that partition being 648 MB it total size, uses only 584 MB.

    The 5 MB thing came from the error message, when trying to <ENABLE> Optane.



    I get it now & where the 5mb fits & the why in making restore partition smaller. Think outside the box!!! 5mb.

    mini tool makes sense now
     
  20. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    2,286
    Location:
    Canada
    @briank

    upload_2023-11-21_14-20-7.png
    If so 5mb or you mentioned 12 mb, change here <apply> <save>
    Where the red arrow points set to 12 MB?

    resize doing this won't...my next q may be about Macrium... BU - time
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2023
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,059
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Change the partition size to 643 MB. The Unallocated Space After will automatically become 5 MB.
     
  22. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,059
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Here is your partition. ( * is sectors in use, - is free space)

    [******---]

    After resizing you get this...

    [******--]-
     
  23. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    2,286
    Location:
    Canada
    by adjusting at red dashed arrow points?

    Odd went to Macrium started finished in 7 min, way faster than normal. During the bu I scrolled, saw the partitions 4 dor back up plus
    underlined in pic., the BU continued in 7. Checked the drive save to, it was approx 1/3 size of normal

    upload_2023-11-21_15-19-37.png
     
  24. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    2,286
    Location:
    Canada
    Mini tool upload_2023-11-21_15-51-29.png
     
  25. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    12,059
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Don't type. Use the up/down arrows (the down arrow) at the right of 648 field.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.