SS3 Scripting Explained

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by Dazed_and_Confused, Apr 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dazed_and_Confused

Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

As I continue to wade through the vast features of TDS-3, I was wondering if someone would explain SS3 Scripting to me, please. I've read a quite lenghty post in the Private DCS forum that just served to confuse me more.

Maybe I'm wrong, but from what I can tell, the SS3 scripting feature allows one to run some type of code written by the user. But I fail to understand the benefit of doing so. While I'm not a programmer by trade, I have done some VBA work with MS Access. What type of programming lingo are we talking about here? I might want to learn it. And maybe someone could post a short example of code that might demonstrate why this feature is so useful. Thanks!

2. Jooske

Jooske Registered Member

Hi D&C

in the TDS private SS3 scripting forum are several examples, you should configure the forum there to show all postings from the beginning to get some ideas and working with the examples available for download from the TDS download page. In the forum here are several examples too, in the Test/Demo sticky posting among others i pointed to one example of the several in this forum, a nice integration with speech, msagent, interactive use of scripting with TDS.
    SS3 is kind of enhanced VB or VBS, while TDS reads JS and VBS too. To have some idea one could best get the manuals for those and try if SS3 does that for you too. SS3 was intended to add extra functions for yourself, but people use it for whole bigger programs the more they get into the scripting. But many people don't post their products there, so we don't know everything created unfortunately.

3. Dazed_and_Confused

Hi Jooske,