SR Ware Iron as default browser problems

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by acr1965, Dec 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I have Google Chrome set as my default browser (it is version 15.0.874.121 m) and recently installed SRware Iron's browser version15.0.900.2 (Developer Build 107001 Windows). Because Iron loads so much faster than Chrome I want to use Iron as my default browser. When I try to set Iron as my default browser nothing happens, Chrome just remains in place.

    A few questions-
    1. How do I set Iron as my default browser?
    2. When Iron updates to their next version will I need to download and install that myself? If so, will it install over my current Iron and keep all bookmarks, settings, etc?

    thanks
     
  2. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    This has happened to quite a few people, if I was cynical I'd think that Google did this on purpose. :rolleyes:

    Incidentally, in Win 7 the Chrome icon sometimes stays at the top of the 'Start' menu even if you have changed your default to something else.


    If you still have the installer run it again as 'Admin' (in the right-click drop down menu). If you haven't got the installer, just download it again & run as admin (don't worry, it should keep all of your settings). You may have to uninstall Chrome if this doesn't work, set Iron as default, then re-install Chrome once Iron is your default.


    Yes, just download the new installer & run it. All of your bookmarks, settings etc will be saved.

    You're welcome. ;)
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2011
  3. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    If I uninstall Google Chrome is there a way to save all my bookmarks first? I have a ton of them and don't want to lose them all.

    Thanks for the detailed response, very helpful
     
  4. Fuzzydice45

    Fuzzydice45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Australia
    Little wrench icon in the top right > Bookmarks > Bookmark Manager
    Click "Organize", then click Export bookmarks to HTML file...

    I also had the same default browser problem with Iron when I used to use it, uninstalling Chrome and then reinstalling Iron solved it for me.
     
  5. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Well, I would follow Fuzzydice45's advice, but in my experience Chrome will save bookmarks even if you uninstall it. This is one of the things I actually prefer about Iron. You can totally uninstall Iron, Chrome leaves a profile folder somewhere (probably in AppsData).
     
  6. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    did you later reinstall Google Chrome or no?
     
  7. Fuzzydice45

    Fuzzydice45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Australia
    No, I ended up switching to Chromium... I can't remember why though...
     
  8. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    ok. will this this a shot then thanks
     
  9. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
  10. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I'm glad it worked out. I've used Iron almost from since it was first released, well before I ever tried Chrome, & apart from a few small bugs occasionally I have always preferred it to Chrome.

    I've seen it before, but I think that an adblock updater would be more useful. I suppose SRWare haven't included an auto-updater for security reasons.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.