SPYWAREGUARD released - real-time protection against spyware

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by javacool, Jan 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    What two (exactly) would those have been, Peaches? Perhaps a screenshot of what you had? Pete
     
  2. Peaches4U

    Peaches4U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    5,070
    Location:
    At my computer
    It was Data Miner which got through on two occasions. This little nasty played havoc with my computer. An Ad-Aware scan picked it up but SpyBot [all updates are in place] didn't nor did SpywareGuard. My guess is that SpywareGuard is not picking it up because I am lacking the updates which I can't seem to get? Should I uninstal and then download the software again? o_O
     
  3. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Peaches - Follow the advice contained in LowWaterMark's first post in this thread and then see if you can get updated:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=8354 .

    If you get re-infected with the same thing, please try to give as much detail as possible just in case it isn't yet covered, or so we can see if it's even something SWB can cover. Pete

    *It really should be in your AA log somewhere, but I can't help you find it - I don't use AA anymore. Pete
     
  4. Peaches4U

    Peaches4U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    5,070
    Location:
    At my computer
    :'( I deleted Data Miner from my quarantine folder so I think there is no log- at least I can't find anything, but will search again. However, Data Miner may visit me again and this time I will be sure to get as much detail as possible and refer it to you. Shall also read referral to Watermark's post and try his suggestions. Thanks.
     
  5. Peaches4U

    Peaches4U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    5,070
    Location:
    At my computer
    :( LowWatermark's post refers to SpywareBlaster. I have no problems with updates here and it works like a charm. It is getting SpywareGuard updates where I am puzzled - I have been getting this message for ages " No updates available, You have the lastest SG definitions". Actually, since I installed SG [mid January] I kept getting the same message. Perhaps there were no new definitions since o_O
     
  6. Marianna

    Marianna Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    1,215
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    Hi Peaches,

    just read your post - the last update I had was February 22, 2003 - maybe this helps??
     
  7. Peaches4U

    Peaches4U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    5,070
    Location:
    At my computer
    Thanks Marianna. I was in New Zealand then but when we returned home, I checked for all updatesfor my software that would require updating. I just tried right now and it gave the same message. Beats me. o_O
     
  8. Marianna

    Marianna Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    1,215
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    Peaches,

    maybe I could send you the 2 files I have, they are dated 22.02.03 ??

    The files are:

    def1.dtb 14 kb file
    def2.dtb 7 kb file

    If it's allowed, pls. send me a message via the board with your e-mail address in it - then I'll send you the 2 files .
     
  9. Peaches4U

    Peaches4U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    5,070
    Location:
    At my computer
    Message sent. I was supposed to provide info. here regarding the Data Miner my Ad-Aware picked up. Well, this nasty paid me a visit again and wrecked havoc with my email, etc. anyway, had it quarantined and here are the object details:
    Vendor ........ Other
    Category ....... Data Miner
    Object type ..... File
    Size ................. 98 bytes
    Location ...........C:\Janet\
    cookies\Janet\@cgi-I
    Last Activity......4-19-2003 - 7:00 a.m.
    Comment..........RedSherrif Tracking Cookie
    Description...... Unnamed or unclassified object.

    The following site tells me something about the above:

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/archive/index.php?board=34;action=display;thr

    which led me to other links on this topic. What I must do is place this data miner into my security restricted zone ....... but first have to have some more details & understand the how to.

    The time/date above did not coincide with the time here in North America - I suspect it might have been New Zealand time?? :)
     
  10. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,475
    Location:
    Netherlands
  11. Peaches4U

    Peaches4U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    5,070
    Location:
    At my computer
    :D Hi Pieter - I don't know what I would do without all the help I get from Wilders. Discovering Wilders is like winning a lotto. Thanks everyone - I truly am appreciative.

    Have visited all the links provided - wow, it is so mind boggling which avenue to pursue - have archived the sites so I can read them thoroughly. Thanks Pieter & have a Happy Easter & Happy Easter to everyone here too. :)
     
  12. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    I may be totally out of phase with whats been happening here , but what mike suggested in the thread that pieter gave seems to fix red sherriff. however if you are in communication with your freinds in nz they may be using xtra or such and that may some how be reloading it ? You would have used there pc maybe to access your account
    Sorry if this is out of phase with whats going down . but i have had to deal with this lately with xtra.
     
  13. Peaches4U

    Peaches4U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    5,070
    Location:
    At my computer
    Hi - yes I am in contact with New Zealand but my contact uses Inspire as their server [they dumped Xtra about a year ago] as well as government office computer for brief messages - the latter I would presume to be very secure. Other contacts use their hotmail accounts. When we visited N.Z. for the winter, I gave computers a rest and only accessed my hotmail account through Inspire once a week. My problem arose recently.

    I am free & clear right now and will be downloading SPYAD as recommended - it is suppose to deal with RedSherrif. With all the great advice I get here, how can I go wrong? ;) Cheers.
     
  14. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Spyware Guard wouldn't update for me either.
    I tried the live update and got the same messages."no updates available""you have the latest definitions".

    I followed the instructions on uninstalling SpywareGuard.
    I downloaded and installed a fresh SpywareGuard exe.

    I used live update and it worked.

    The exe that I used before was from Feb.
    I don't remember it ever finding an update available.

    At any rate,it works now. ;)
     
  15. dlevere

    dlevere Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    O.K., thanks! :)
     
  16. 123headcase

    123headcase Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    7
    spyware and related privacy issues

    :)

    Hi Guys

    I dont know if this is the right place to post this general question. I am not a security guru just a simple but worried user. I appreciate all the good works done in this area but feel that its a bit like plugging holes in a leaky dam. The whole M$ stuff is fundamentally insecure and what you guys are doing (as best youcan) is to plaster over the cracks. My question is, surely there must be a way to isolate an area of your machine against intrusion? In other words your port (switchboard) only goes into one room rather than have access to the whole building. At present we seem to be in the hands of M$ and must set up our machines the way the state approved abusive monopoly dictates. I am not suggesting that a quick fix is available now for such a fundamental security issue, but is it likely round the corner? or should we all be migrating to Linux.

    I am truly appaled at the way the inet industry seems to feel it has a perfect right to place whatever files on your system without your consent in the name of customer service. like going to a library to look up a book then coming home to find someone has entered your space and plastered your walls with "sex ads say" and put radio bugs in your bedroom. In the real world such watergate behaviour impeached a president.

    So on the windows platform do you think a real solution to the problem will emerge? or will we spend more and more time fighting off invaders o_O
     
  17. 123headcase

    123headcase Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    7
    hi jc :)
    have got swg dld and installed but it keeps popping up and telling me i have a possibly corrupt or out of date database and need to do a live update. well i have done this once already but the problem still occurs

    what to do?

    I am sure your app cant really expect me to do a live update each session, once a week maybe?

    :p Headcase
     
  18. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,043
    Do you have a Chinese or Japanese language version of Windows? If so, this is a known problem - I am trying to work on a fix (for now, I would recommend that you uninstall SpywareGuard if that is the case).

    If not, please post any other details you can provide.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.