SPYWAREGUARD released - real-time protection against spyware

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by javacool, Jan 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,043
    I'll create a "dummy file" for the next release and include it in the definitions so users can safely test if SpywareGuard is working correctly.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,043
    Hmmm - that translates to something close to...

    "Error messages e.g. ms 9SrV32 - application is closed due to an invalid procedure. Stacking fault in module "

    I believe this is still an error with the installer's support file registration process (although I'm really not sure why). If safe mode didn't work at all, all I can really suggest is to wait for the next release (which shouldn't be too long away).

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  3. Marianna

    Marianna Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    1,215
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    Javacool - Thanks a lot !

    I've sent her your reply per e-mail. I guess, will be the best to wait for your "next release".

    Yup - your translation is EXCELLENT :eek:

    Thanks again !
     
  4. Jason

    Jason Guest

    Not sure what these porgrams are classified as but, i installed overnet www.overnet.com and it installes
    eBates MoneyMaker
    eZula HotText
    GigaTech Software
    PeopleOnPage ("POP")

    I have the lastest veriosn of spywareblocker and spywareguard and yes updated
    got by botho_O
    Good thing for spybot and PestPartol

    Jason
     
  5. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,043
    I'll take a look at all of those shortly - thank you for bringing them to my attention. :)

    And please remember - both programs are an on-going effort (and SpywareGuard even more so than SpywareBlaster, as SpywareGuard was just released). With every new item that is brought to my attention, I can make my current protection solutions that much more comprehensive.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  6. pin

    pin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Posts:
    116
    thx for this great program, no more ad-watch necessary!!
     
  7. dlevere

    dlevere Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Javacool, I installed SpywareGuard and I had to uninstall it. It didn't seem to work. After Running Spybot Search and Destroy with SpywareGuard running, I still noticed Spyware on my system. And I have Spyware Blaster running, too. o_O
     
  8. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,043
    I'm going to guess (although I could be wrong) that the spyware was probably just "cookies" - small text files placed on your computer by websites. This isn't really "spyware" (as in a program placed on your computer to collect and transmit data back to the owner of the spyware) but it could be used to track you online. You'll need some sort of cookie-manager to prevent these from being replaced on your system by websites (IE 6 provides its own cookie manager).

    And also, if it was in fact full-blown spyware, there's no need to uninstall SpywareGuard - it is a work in progress and while it may not catch everything now, new items are constantly being added to its definitions (and it already detects a fairly large number of items). SpywareBlaster on the other hand, is a different protection measure against only ActiveX-based spyware. Having both on your system is recommended, as they both have different ways of helping to protect your system.

    A measure of protection is better than no protection. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  9. bottlecaps

    bottlecaps Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Posts:
    4
    After installing SpywareGuard I get a box saying...

    Control Panel

    Windows cannot access the specified device,path,or file.You may not have the appropiate permissions to access the item.

    This happens when I try to double click and open anything up in the Control Panel AND if I try to open up My Computer Properties by right clicking.

    I have SpywareBlaster running just fine.Am I missing a needed file or something? o_OAny suggestions?

    Thanks Javacool for the great freeware!
     
  10. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,043
    Are you sure you made no other changes to your computer? And what version of Windows are you running?

    TIA.

    -Javacool
     
  11. bottlecaps

    bottlecaps Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Posts:
    4
    No other changes were made at all.
    I noticed that after installing SpywareGuard and BEFORE rebooting there was no problem.Its after I restart that the problem starts.

    Once I uninstall SpywareGuard the problem goes away.But it seems that SpywareGuard is working correctly except for this one certain problem(control panel).

    I have Windows ME.
     
  12. wawadave

    wawadave Guest

    hello
    i had to remove spywareguard after my system froze up solid after uninstalling it i,ve had no problem.
    i,m running
    xp home
    norton 2002
    zap
    trojanhunter
    swattit
    spyblaster
    spybot
    i-mesh spy ware free custom ripped.
    mru blaster
    pest patrol
    windows washer
    ee elimanater
    system amd 1.3
    1 60 gig 1 40 gig drive and 512 ram
    o/s win3.11-m.e-xp home
    were or are there any others haveing complete lock ups?
    if so what have they tre :rolleyes:id?
     
  13. wawadave

    wawadave Guest

    o_Ohello
    i still cannot run this program.resaults in complete lock up. and hard shut
    down.[glow=red,2,300]TEXT[/glow]
     
  14. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,043
    Something is definitely conflicting with SpywareGuard, but I'm still not sure what.

    I've tested SpywareGuard with most of those programs, but it's always possible a certain combination is causing the problem - I'll look into it and get back to you, but until I can replicate the issue there isn't much I can do. :doubt:

    However, it might help expedite the process if you could send any and all details about that computer to javacoolsoftware@hotmail.com (including running services, if possible). That way, I can try to simulate your particular setup and see if I can duplicate the issue.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  15. rusty

    rusty Guest

    i had a problem also. i have a dell 1.6 gig windows me
    when spyware guard is on computer. it took and extra amount of time for windows to load. shen i removed it windows loaded quickly.
    thanks
    Rusty
     
  16. rusty

    rusty Guest

    norton antivirus and firewall with spyplaster and spybot. some times locks up and windows never loads. only after a 3 or 4 hours of not running computer.
     
  17. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,043
    A potential fix for this issue should be included in the next release of SpywareGuard - I was only able to duplicate this ONCE, and I believe the issue is on NAV's side, but I've implemented a potential workaround anyway. Look for it in the next version. :cool:

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  18. kyte

    kyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Australia
    I had a similar problem to the other poster who had a freeze. I had had a javacool-app-installfest and so didnt know which particular app was now causing freezes. I traced it to spywareguard in the end.

    w2k, also running AVG, POW!, spywareblaster, blackice 3.5 and wormguard. (64mb video, 256mb RAM and an athlon2200+ cpu)

    I wondered if it was the scan time that was slowing things and eventually freezing the system..even 60 seconds seems like a very short time...I would like the option to set it longer. I think it must be using a lot of resources..
     
  19. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,043
    It doesn't scan every 60 seconds... (I believe you are thinking of FileChecker, which has the scan time setting).

    Just to clear things up: SpywareGuard simply scans any exe and cab files before you run them. Thus, there is no setting for the scan time.

    The next version will have some new features, but will also incorporate several optimizations, plus a few potential bug fixes (including one that will hopefully fix the issue you two were experiencing). It is currently being worked on, but I don't have an estimated time for the release yet.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  20. kyte

    kyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Australia
    you know, even as i hit the button to post, i started doubting my memory. you are right. filechecker. so thats definitely not a problem, tho i have kept filechecker and MRU blaster off my system now also.

    in which case there is no logical reason that I can see, that would explain the freeze. nonetheless, with SG..freeze, without SG..nofreeeze.

    sighhhhhhh i loved the idea of that thang. Looking forward to the new release :)
     
  21. Vietnam Vet

    Vietnam Vet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    306
    Hi kyte,

    You seem to be pretty sure SpywareGuard is causing your freeze, but I am gonna add this just as a FYI in case you might want to take another look.
    Running 98SE here. If I happen to initiate some action on this machine at the same time FileChecker is running the checksum checks, the computer appears to freeze. I quickly learned to give it a chance to finish and then everything returns to normal. Whatever I was trying to do will go ahead and begin it's operation. This may not apply to your situation, but since you installed several of Javacool's apps at about the same time, I thought it may be worth mentioning.
     
  22. Prince_Serendip

    Prince_Serendip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Posts:
    819
    Location:
    Canada
    :) Hello Everyone!

    I also use Win98se and I would like to say, for the record, that I have had absolutely no problems with SpywareGuard whatsoever. It uses very tiny resources and runs like a top! This can be very important when you only have 128 MB RAM.

    Knowing my own system very well, I would surmise that if some are having problems with it, it's most likely software conflicts or it could be a problem with your settings. Try running it with all your other extra apps turned off. Turn them on one by one until you find the culprit. I have used this technique before with other apps and it works. If there is a problem with the extra apps off, then it is likely due to something in your settings. I suspect that Javacool would know better than I, what settings you would need. (For XP, I would suspect a possible conflict with M$ spyware settings?? Not sure about that though. Hehe.)


    Best regards from Larry :)
     
  23. RUSTY

    RUSTY Guest

    IS THE NEW VERSION OF SPYWARE GUARD OUT YET
     
  24. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,043
    Not yet - it is still being worked on. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  25. Peaches4U

    Peaches4U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    5,070
    Location:
    At my computer
    o_O I have had SpywareGuard installed for several months but everytime I go for an update, the message is that I am up to date. Doesn't seem right as other anti-spyware software I have, there is always an update. What gives?? It certainly is not catching any spyware because I cleaned up two today with Ad-Aware. :(
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.