Spywareguard alert after google bar beta uninstall

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Digiti, Jul 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Digiti

    Digiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    39
    I get this alert when booting ever since I tried the Google search bar beta which I uninstalled and replaced with the original bar. When I choose undo change the change does not stick because I am greeted with the same alert when I reboot again, which is a nuisance. How can I rectify this ? You will note also that it does not tell me what it has been changed to. Thanks. I am using WinXP Home I.E. 6.0.
     
  2. Digiti

    Digiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    39
    For some reason my attached jpeg file was not posted with my message. Maybe someone cabn help me out? Thanks.
     
  3. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,874
    Location:
    New England
    Hi Digiti,

    The most common reason why an image does not attach when making a post is because it was not the last thing done prior to hitting the [Post] button. If the "Attach:" line is filled out and then [Preview] is used, the image will not attach when you do go and later hit the [Post] button.

    You need to first enter the text of a post, [Preview] it to make sure it's as you want, then just prior to hitting the [Post] button, add the attachment to the "Attach:" line.

    The http://tags are something different. You use those to link directly to an image that is sitting on another webserver, such as your personal file space at your ISP. This is also a way to show an image in a post here.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Digiti

    Digiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    39
    LowWaterMark, Thanks for the help and the prompt reply. I hope my attachment shows here in this message
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Reverend Ike

    Reverend Ike Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    You might try this:

    (1) Reboot.

    (2) Download a copy of HijackThis (a diagnostic tool) from here:

    » HijackThis - Download

    Unpack the .zip file and run the HijackThis.exe file. Click the Scan button to scan your system, then click the Save log button to save a copy of the log it generates. The file Hijackthis.log will be created. At this point, do NOT check any items in the list, and do NOT click the Fix checked button. (Most of the items listed in your log will be normal and legitimate.)

    (3) Copy and paste the contents of the HijackThis log into a message and post it in this thread.

    The log will display settings and registry entries related to your search pages and toolbars, and it may be easier to then determine what is causing the unwanted change ...
     
  6. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Reverend Ike, :)

    I think the uninstaller sets that particular search entry to blank and the alarm is caused by the change.
    It is good to be notified of these things, but I don´t think any spyware comes into play here.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  7. Reverend Ike

    Reverend Ike Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Hey, Pieter - I kinda concluded the same thing, I just thought (perhaps wrongly) that if the "blank" entry was listed in HijackThis, "fixing" it might stop the warning from popping up.

    Would you suggest just clicking Reset Web Settings instead?

    Or should Digiti try to edit the appropriate registry key?

    I assume it can also be changed through an IE setting, but I'm not sure which search setting specifically applies to the HKCU search bar registry key ...
     
  8. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Reverend Ike,

    I think HijackThis would set that to blank as well.

    *Pieter scurries of to find a regfile

    Found it. Use this one after the uninstall and everything will be default Windows values.
    Direct download link: http://www.spywareinfoforum.com/downloads/tools/IEFIX.reg

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  9. Digiti

    Digiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    39
    Here is an excerpt from my Hijackthis scan. I think the first line is the significant one.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Digiti,

    That is the basic MSN Search Page you usually would get as a side panel in IE (See attachment).
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Digiti

    Digiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    39
    I meant to say that I reinstalled the older Google Search Bar after uninstalling the beta. Would this account for my problem? Should I uninstall it before applying the IEFIX reg file fix?
     
  12. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Digiti,

    That depends on how you want to end up.
    The best following order would be to uninstall anything you don´t want anymore, then use the reg file and then install the one you want to end with.
    Disable SpywareGuard while doing so, because it will alert you to the changes every step of the way. ;)

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  13. Digiti

    Digiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    39
    I uninstalled the Google Bar, shut off SpywareGuard ,then ran the reg file. When I rebooted SG gave a runtime error and would not start. I installed the old Googlebar then rebooted , turned on SG real time scanning rebooted again,but this time I was greeted by the same SG alert I had at the beginning.This is a puzzlement!!!
     
  14. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    It sure is. Have you tried with SG on but Browser Hijack Protection turned off?

    Options > remove the checkmark before "Enable Borowser Hijack Protection" > Save Settings

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  15. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Well, that would unfortunately cause the run-time error, in many cases.

    I'm working on a fix - if you did disable the browser hijack protection, simply open the SpywareGuard main program and quickly recheck it and save settings (then it should run correctly). If that doesn't fix it, please post the full details of the error.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  16. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Javacool,

    Just making sure I understand this correctly:
    if the protection is turned back on after changes have been made, then the error occurs?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  17. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Nope - the error will occur if the Browser Hijacking Protection is disabled (again, on some systems).

    Re-enabling it as soon as SpywareGuard starts up should fix the issue (before the error can occur).

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.