SpywareGuard 2.1 crashes

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Q Section, May 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    Hello Everyone

    We went from v1.1 to 2.1 directly and followed installation instructions carefully. Upon clicking on Options we get "Run-time error '429': ActiveX component can't create object." This happens about every 4 out of 5 times. Upon clicking "OK" a new popup says,

    "SGMAIN caused an invalid page fault in module <unknown> at 0000:00000015.
    Registers:
    EAX=000000d5 CS=0177 EIP=00000015 EFLGS=00010202
    EBX=0068fa04 SS=017f ESP=0068fa14 EBP=0068fa50
    ECX=e0714500 DS=017f ESI=00000018 FS=5897
    EDX=8188914c ES=017f EDI=0068fa38 GS=0000
    Bytes at CS:EIP:
    ff 00 f0 6a ea 00 f0 12 ea 00 f0 00 00 00 c8 28
    Stack dump:
    0068fa18 0045017f 004571e0 00000e38 00000018 00000000 00000000 00008aa6 bff7363b 00000e38 00000018 00000000 00000000 8a8058ff 0000017f 0068fa64

    Have an idea about this?

    Thank you,
     
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Could you please post more information about your system?

    TIA.

    -Javacool
     
  3. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    What other kind of information do you wish? 192mB ram.
     
  4. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    The following information could help me greatly:

    -Your version of Windows (98, 98SE, ME, NT, 2000, XP?)
    -What version of Internet Explorer you have
    -What anti-virus (if any) you have installed
    -What firewall (if any) you use
    -Any other programs you have running that are used to help secure your system
    -Have you recently scanned your system with software such as Spybot S & D or Ad-Aware?

    TIA. :)

    -Javacool
     
  5. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    Quote<<The following information could help me greatly:

    -Your version of Windows (98, 98SE, ME, NT, 2000, XP?)
    -What version of Internet Explorer you have
    -What anti-virus (if any) you have installed
    -What firewall (if any) you use
    -Any other programs you have running that are used to help secure your system
    -Have you recently scanned your system with software such as Spybot S & D or Ad-Aware?>>

    Please see signature below. Yes we use Spybot SD and Ad-Aware at least daily. In addition to all of those we have also running Win Patrol, System Safety Monitor, Spybot Resident, Cacheman, Popup Killer, Disk And Registry Alert and Spyware Blaster to name a few. Hopefully we did not leave out any. :D
     
  6. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    Any news yet?

    Thank you.
     
  7. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    I'm sorry, I don't have any more information on this issue yet. I've only had a few reports of it, although most (if not all) users seemed to have Windows 98 and IE 5.5.

    I'm trying to reproduce it now, but have not had success yet.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  8. TopDog

    TopDog Guest

    I just installed SG 2.1 and get the same error :oops: ""Run-time error '429': ActiveX component can't create object." Clicking on OK does not provide anymore information."

    Heres what Im Running:

    Win2K Pro with SP3 installed
    IE 6
    512Meg PC2700 RAM, ASUS A7V266E motherboard (not using raid)
     
  9. DragonFly666

    DragonFly666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Posts:
    2
    Some further info for javacool

    Running W98SE & IE6.......

    1) Error 429 occurred while installing Spywareguard - right at the
    end of installing.
    2) Next occurence was while closing Spywareguard.
    3) Next occurence while opening "help" for the 1st time. (Closing
    now seems to be ok)
    4) Next occurence -while closing "help" for the 1st time (Opening it now seems ok)
    5) Next occurence - while openinmg a topic within help for the 1st time. (Closing help new seems ok & opened several topics without getting the failure.)

    I will go back and see if I can break the pattern which seems to have emerged - I get the failure only when carrying out an activity for the first time. Thereafter the fault doesn't seem to occur again at that point, but migrates elewhere................
     
  10. DragonFly666

    DragonFly666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Posts:
    2
    Who said life was s'posed to be easy?

    Ok - scrub one bright idea - got the error 429 again while opening help (after many attempts) It's occurrence semms random but doesn't happen more than it happens................
     
  11. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Please see this thread for details on a fix:

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=9645

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.