Spywareblaster - updates

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Ladowa, Nov 25, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ladowa

    Ladowa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    UK north
    Javacool, firstly thanx for the neat application I have been downloading the spyware updates and appreciate the overall simplicity of use. But, running the update today has given me a notification to download a new and later program version.

    I wonder if this will often be necessary to do (I liked the rapid download update - on dialup) and should I completely remove the previous version before installing?

    PS - sorry if I've double posted
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
  3. Ladowa

    Ladowa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    UK north
    Hello Pieter - cheers for the welcome

    I followed your link (ta) but did not find the answer to my query there I'm sorry to say. Maybe just blind?

    I checked for updates today and was told to download new version. I appreciate needs for revisions/program overhauls as Javacool was busy working on implementing some of the user requests - I just wonder how often this will be necessary and should the old program be unintslled before installing the later version?

    Thanx for rapid respose!
     
  4. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Ladowa,

    Maybe it's best if you state your version. Because in the new versions all you need to do is update the definitions. So for those I am sure you don't have to uninstall the old one.
    Javacool can probably tell you what you need to do, if he has your version number.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  5. Ladowa

    Ladowa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    UK north
    Hello again - version downloaded only a week or so ago. It's version 1.1 I have "Version]Version=1.1.0DOR=11/24/02Filesize=n/aWhatsnew=n/aTag=(11/24/02)"" taken from C:\ folder directory today. CSLDs downloaded to 46 list and this message: (jpeg hopefully attached).

    Well - I will follow the advice and install the new version just downloaded. It's only that I thought to clear up the questions raised as many users I know of elsewhere have followed recommendations and downloaded spywareblaster recently and may also be getting the same prompt - hence I can advise.

    Ta Pieter - thanx for looking in
     
  6. Ladowa

    Ladowa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    UK north
    Well - didn't work. The message reads:

    "A new version of SpywareBlaster is available! You must download it from the SpywareBlaster website before you can download the latest update!"

    I only downloaded version 1.1 a week (maybe 2) ago
     
  7. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi Lawoda,

    Version 1.1 has been released just today - you obviously have the previous version installed.

    The new version 1.1 is available using the Updater. Only after installing this new version, the database can be updated.

    regards.

    paul
     
  8. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    A little clarification - you must uninstall your old version, and download the new version of SpywareBlaster released today. The new version released today cannot be obtained through the updater (as it is not just a database update - the program exe is updated as well).

    HOWEVER, you should not need to ever do this again. I realize many users have dial-up and like the small update size, so the updater has been improved and can now download program updates for you also (and these will be much smaller than the full install package). :)

    Regards,

    -Javacool
     
  9. Ladowa

    Ladowa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    UK north
    Paul and Javacool,

    Thanx once more. That neatly clarifies all for me.

    I'll pass this on and once again, thank you for such a useful tool.
     
  10. --NZ4ME--

    --NZ4ME-- Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    I have just updated my Spyware blaster.exe to the latest version 3.2 how ever on trying to connect to the update definitions site I get an error message :
    There was an error getting the update information file from the server. The server may be temporarily unavailable, or there may be a conflict with firewall software installed on your PC. The update information file may have also gotten corrupted during the download.

    I've checked that my firewall (Norton's Personal Firewall) is set to allow all transmissions to and from Spywareblaster. And I've also tried un-installing and re-installing spywareblaster no no avail ...........PLEASE SOMEONE HELP :'( :'(
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.