SpywareBlaster Prompts System Reboot

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by BrianZ, Dec 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BrianZ

    BrianZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    I'm having a problem with Spywareblaster, where if I try to disable all protection on the menu, it only proceeds about 3/4 of the way, then suddenly causes a system reboot, which is reproducible every time. I was trying to disable all antivirus, etc, when installing windows updates to avoid any problems, when I discovered this. I'm wondering if I should have done this before the recent install of IE7. Upon reboot, the message pops up about windows recovered from a serious error, which is reported as a stop error:
    Error code 1000000a, parameter1 00030029, parameter2 00000002, parameter3 00000000, parameter4 804ec6d4.
    There are no viruses detected by NAV2006 or Windows Malicious Software Removal Tool.
    I'm wondering whether there is some incompatibility here or if I have some other corruption going on in my system. I have occasionally seen a reboot like this before recently at other seemingly random times, but this is the first time I have encoutered a way to actually reproduce it.
    I'm running WinXP Home on my Compaq AMD Athlon 1800 PC, with Norton Internet Security 2006, Windows Defender, and IE7, and have cable internet service.
     
  2. Peeved McAfee User

    Peeved McAfee User Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    Several Google hits indicate that "Error code 1000000a" can be caused failing memory (RAM). I suggest that you consider running a memory diagnostic program. If your system didn't come with diagnostic routines including a memory test there is one here:
     
  3. BrianZ

    BrianZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks, I'll give that a try. Microsoft documents said it could be any number of things ranging from hardware problems to software incompatibility or drivers.
     
  4. BrianZ

    BrianZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Ok, I ran Memtext86 on my system. On the first pass in test #8, it found a single bit error 00800000 at address 1a1013f4 (417mb), so I let it run for a few hours and after 5 passes, the error did not repeat. The instructions with the program say that every intermittent error is valid, so maybe I can assume I either have some bad RAM or cheap RAM that doesn't work well enough with an Athlon processor. I have two 512mb PC2100 DDR-266 cards made by PQI. They have a lifetime replacement warranty, but the problem is which one would I send back? If I could reproduce the error with Memtest, then I could pull one card and see if it repeats, in order to identify which card was bad. Or, I suppose I could just pull one card and run the SpywareBlaster routine that caused the reboot before, to see if it happens with only one card or the other. If both, then not likely a memory problem I suppose. Should have tried that first I guess, since it's a lot quicker than running Memtest for several passes on 1 gig of RAM.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.