spywareblaster in corporate america

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by az_max, Mar 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. az_max

    az_max Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    Hi There,
    First, Can Spywareblaster be used free of charge by corporations?
    if so,
    Can Spywareblaster be run or installed in silent mode without the users seeing the screens? Can I make a snapshot of the program using SMS or ZENWorks?

    I'm trying to come up with a product that will remove spyware/adware/malware from our PCs without having the users click through a bunch of application screens. My management has so far balked at paying $39 per PC to get similar applications installed, and has decided spending $5000 per week for support costs plus untold $$ for lost revenue by the employees.

    thanks
    az_max
     
  2. subratam

    subratam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,310
    Location:
    Issaquah, WA
    Hi az_max,

    first let me welcome you to wilders , :)

    You'll have to wait for the developer on that one.

    It is not like other common programs.. that need to be run, autostarted etc.
    you install it and then
    do this
    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/attachments/SpywareBlaster-selectandprotect.png
    which will ensure you have the job done.
    It then sets kill bits to the spywares seen in main window.
    thats it and your job is done. It wont come into picture and not like running in background. It just handicaps the spyware infection points. oh you need to check for updates though

    umm... someone else might answer you who have checked this

    spywareblaster is no scanner
    get spywareguard-> http://www.wilderssecurity.net/spywareguard.html (will help your machine from browser hijacking, can get info and download link from here)
    spybot-> http://www.safer-networking.org/index.php?page=download (a scanner, run update once and run it then and fix if any evil found and thats enough)
    ad-aware-> http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/ (same as spybot)

    hop these helped..
    any more questions
    please keep posting

    good day
     
  3. az_max

    az_max Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    Hi subratam,
    Thanks for the reply. It's the install on each workstation that I'm trying to avoid. We have 5000+ workstations with over 250 software applications. We don't do desk visits to the PCs to install software, and don't have the users configure anything other than their own printers. Getting users to push the right buttons is harder than pulling a lion's tooth without knocking it out first. A scripted, automated install or ZenWorks NAL object is what's needed.
     
  4. subratam

    subratam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,310
    Location:
    Issaquah, WA
    Hi az_max,

    I would say you to wait for the developer, Javacool to arrive and give you the answer regarding this. and about the other things lets wait for some expert in this to come in and enlighten us

    good day

    [because of different time zones, some persons can be offline at some moment. so please wait and your help is soon on its way]
     
  5. sig

    sig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    716
    Two ideas I toss in here to see what's viable in a workplace network:

    1. In a network situation with administrative control over the users' pc's, I'd consider having IE set with ActiveX and scripting disabled which would prevent a number of potential issues, including getting spyware from surfing the net with default IE security settings.

    Of course I don't know what the individual valid internet needs of your users are. Too many legit sites use ActiveX and scripting (when it's not really necessary IMO). But if there's no legit needed sites that require these functions that's one way to go. (Any legit web sites that must be used for work purposes and require ActiveX and scripting can be set up in the IE trusted zone with lower security settings as long as the users don't have the ability to change the security settings themselves.)

    I know my workplace can control what IE settings users have access to (XP Pro) and users cannot change some settings.

    2. I wonder if IESpyAd is an option in such an environment. http://www.staff.uiuc.edu/~ehowes/resource.htm#IESPYAD I does get updated to add new sites to the blocklist.

    Also there's a link to "enough is enough," which appears to be another way to accomplish what I mentioned in #1 above: http://www.staff.uiuc.edu/~ehowes/resource6.htm
     
  6. sig

    sig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    716
    Just ran across a CERT workshop paper on ActiveX that has some info for system admins just in case anyone's interested: http://www.cert.org/reports/activeX_report.pdf
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.