SpywareBlaster Doesn't Work w/Firefox .9

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by drjster, Jun 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. drjster

    drjster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    SpywareBlaster does not recognize Firefox .9 which was just released today. I realize that the install directory for FF .9 has changed so I hope JavaCool makes the necessary changes to SB.

    Many thanks.
     
  2. RickFriedman

    RickFriedman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    New York City
    Yep... I just installed Firefox into its new, default location (on Windows: C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox). SpywareBlaster has no idea that it's installed.

    Rick
     
  3. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hey drjster,

    Are you using version 3.1 of SpywareBlaster ?
    If so....is your version of Firefox using C:\Documents and Settings\Rick\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles as it's folder location ?

    If that's the case....it's my understanding version 3.2 of SpywareBlaster will address this issue. Hopefully that's the last change they make for a while so JavaCool can make it part of the 3.2 update.
     
  4. RickFriedman

    RickFriedman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    New York City
    Yeah... the old location for the Firefox profile was C:\Documents and Settings\Rick\Application Data\Firefox\Profiles. So the problem is the new profile location as opposed to the new program installation location?

    Rick
     
  5. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Yes, that is indeed the main problem - the install location actually doesn't matter, in regard to detecting profiles. (The Firefox crew are also using a profiles.ini file now, instead of writing the profile locations to the registry.dat file.)

    SpywareBlaster 3.2 will be ready soon (I actually just took a break from working on it to answer some questions), and will include support for Firefox 0.9. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  6. drjster

    drjster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    In addition, it's my understanding that the bad cookies that SpywareBlaster blocked were placed into cookperm.txt for Firefox .8. Now in FF .9, it looks like they go into hostperm.1 instead.

    Again, thanks Javacool.
     
  7. Anon00

    Anon00 Guest

    First off, Great program Javacool. Don't know if you're going to include this, but may I suggest an option to define the Profile Path? In case those wacky Developers decide to change the path again (they said last time but who knows)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.