Spywareblaster colonization failure

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by ldantus, Jun 26, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ldantus

    ldantus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Posts:
    11
    Helping a win98 friend, so I don't have exact error message, but after updating, then choosing "select all" and selecting "protect against all selected", I get a "success!" message
    But when the screen tries to refresh (and show all the items) I get an error "colonization failure", etc. with some numbers.
    If I close it the program and reopen it , it refreshes the list and there is no error message. The error only occurs after updating.

    Is this a biggie?

    BTW, he needed the MSCOMCTL.ocx file, which I successfully installed from the web site, would that matter?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. ldantus

    ldantus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Posts:
    11
    Are there other sites to seek an answer

    I posted here assuming this was the appropriate place to seek an answer.

    Are there other sites where one can look for an answer?
     
  3. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Could you please post the full text of the error message?

    (It doesn't sound like it is a major problem, but I would still appreciate more details. Thanks!) :)

    -Javacool
     
  4. ldantus

    ldantus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Posts:
    11
    Javacool, I have your answer

    Run-time error '\-2147221008 (800401f0)':
    System Error &H800401F0 (-214722100:cool: Colonitialize has not been called
     
  5. ldantus

    ldantus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Posts:
    11
    Sorry about the other post

    I thought this post was so old that it wasn't being noticed
     
  6. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    No problem, Idantus. :)

    But is better to bump them like you did just now by replying to it, then start a new one.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  7. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Re:Javacool, I have your answer

    Apologies for the late reply.

    Please try the following:

    1.) Browse to the SpywareBlaster folder and delete the three files named "sbdatabase.dtb", "sbinfo.dtb", and "ckdatabase.dtb".
    2.) Open SpywareBlaster and press "No" when it asks you to download updates because the database is missing.
    3.) Open the Settings area and check the box marked "Use Alternative Download Method". Save the Settings.
    4.) Now try downloading updates, and please report if it works.

    TIA. :)

    -Javacool
     
  8. ldantus

    ldantus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Posts:
    11
    Thanks, but same error

    Any other ideas?
     
  9. ldantus

    ldantus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Posts:
    11
    Javacool, any ideas

    ?
     
  10. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,878
    Location:
    New England
    Hi ldantus,

    I'm sorry, but there is no update on this error as yet, and Javacool is going to be away for a couple weeks...

    Again, sorry for the inconvenience.
     
  11. ldantus

    ldantus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Posts:
    11
    Forgetting the error message, my friend does get a Success! message. Can I infer that he is protected? That is the only item I care about
     
  12. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    A screen shot would help. Ask your friend to make one (.gif extension recommended) ask him to attach it to an email sent to you - and upload it over in this thread.

    regards.

    paul
     
  13. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    If a "Success" message is displayed, you are protected. I still can't reproduce this error, but I'll keep trying.

    Again, I'm sorry the reply took so long.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  14. ldantus

    ldantus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Posts:
    11
    The latest version corrected the glitch

    Thanks, you've been very helpful.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.