SpywareBlaster allowed Conducent Timesink

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by bodhisattva, Aug 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bodhisattva

    bodhisattva Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    I have all protections turned on and Conducent Timesink is on the list of protections, but it still got through.

    Why? :doubt:
     
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hey bodhisattva,

    How were you made aware that Conducent Timesink "got through" ?

    While it is listed in the database....perhaps the info you have may show it's using a newer clsid ?
     
  3. bodhisattva

    bodhisattva Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Hi Bubba,

    I knew something was going on when my computer slowed down to a crawl. I ran SpyBot and found the Conducent files. I did not check to see if it was the same clsid. I know to do that next time.

    I also immunize using SpyBot. It found the files and eliminated them but didn't block them. I thought the immunize function would keep them out.
     
  4. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    What browser are you using ?

    Spybot's Immunize function adds a list of sites to the Restricted Zone to restrict the actions of spyware/ad/tracking sites in Internet Explorer.

    Conducent Timesink is usually installed unknowingly....due to a user installing freeware and\or shareware programs. So if that's your case....Internet monitoring programs can't protect a user from that type install.

    Only by knowing how you got infected....will we be able to offer thoughts of why ABC program did not protect you.
     
  5. bodhisattva

    bodhisattva Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    I think I got timesink when I visited a link(www.jokaroo.com). It was supposed to play a short film but it wouldn't work right. That's when I got suspicious and closed the page. My computer slowed down after that.


    I haven't downloaded anything but SpywareBlaster. I downloaded it from www.majorgeeks.com .

    I'm using IE 6.0
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2004
  6. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Unfortunately....without a little more info....that will be a hard to figure out. That site is full of all kinds of traps....least of which are advertisements\links for bogus Rogue/Suspect Anti-Spyware Products & Web Sites.
     
  7. bodhisattva

    bodhisattva Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Posts:
    7
  8. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hmmm....there must have been another site or link because the only ActiveX object plugin on that page is a hillarious shockwave file.

    Other than that....there is no earth shattering harmful source on that page.
     
  9. bodhisattva

    bodhisattva Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    I'll have to go through my history and see if there was somewhere I went that I don't remember.

    Hilarious, huh? Dang, and I couldn't get it to play!

    Thanks for your time, Bubba.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.