SpywareBlaster 5.6 released! - (Google Chrome, Firefox, Windows 10, and more!)

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by javacool, Dec 7, 2019.

  1. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,223
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    @Javacools, Thankyou for the update. :thumb:

    Win 10
    Spyware Blaster V5.6, updated:

    Chrome protection "partially enabled" 48 items disabled
    ??
    Looks like multiple versions of COINIMP and Outbrain

    HAve manually checked all the disable boxes: does not stick.

    What Have I done wrong. ?

    WAIT ...
    have just seen that my chrome on my private desktop is showing "Mananged by bigpond.com".
    Bigpond is my ISP via Telstra in oz.

    Hmm, scanned with Malware bytes, Webroot and Symantec: nil found.
    Usually run with NoScript and Ublock as well.

    .. Same on second desktop.

    Can the ISP set remote policies ?? - I am sure/I bet there is some commercial link with Telstra and advertisers (at the very least)

    Is this the case ??
    Is there a fix ??
    Have i picked up some crafty script?
    Am I running a bitcoin miner :(



    Any insight please.
    Regards
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 10, 2020
  2. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,223
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    So..
    Update
    Went through all the settings: disabled all, re-enabled all, ran as admin, updated, ran all browsers etc etc

    Issue resolved on both Win10 boxen: All Protections Enabled:seems to have been undoing all and redoing all which fixed what ever was the small bork.
    W&W
    regards.
     
  3. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,976
    i would like to reiterate that so far I had no issues related to SpywareBlaster 5.6, although I have no idea how effective it is on my system.
     
  4. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,385
    Location:
    USA
    Isn't that basically what most of us SpywareBlaster users have been saying for the last 15+ years? :D
     
  5. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,976
    I couldn't agree more although my post was referring to the new version 5.6 with Win 10 (64 bit), released in December 2019 :)
     
  6. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,385
    Location:
    USA
    Same as it ever was, then. :thumb:
     
  7. showtime33

    showtime33 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    hmm..? I dont see restricted sites working...on my windows 10 1909 with edge and firefox. see pics...o_O
    am I doing something wrong here? the hosts file has zero sites added...
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,661
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    @javacool ,

    The last two times I 'received' updates for SpywareBlaster there were no new items to add. Have I missed something?

    Thanks.
     
  9. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,660
    Hi Krusty,
    You are not alone. I saw the same thing with respect to IE11 on Win7. In March I wasn't completely sure myself about it (it could have been that I didn't watch it good enough), but in April I watched it more carefully and I even put back a backup image to watch it again. There was already last month a post about it over at the DSLR forum.
    Several days ago I did send a PM to Javacool about it but I have not heard back yet; I don't know why. I do hope that JC is OK! Let's hope we hear more soon.

    PS:
    Here are the screenshots after the updates in March and in April (as I usually post them in the Updates Alert forum):

    March:
    SpywareBlaster_2020-03-31_01.png

    April:
    SpywareBlaster_2020-04-27_01.png

    And here a screenshot from April that there were indeed no new unprotected items after the update:
    SpywareBlaster_2020-04-29_02.png

    It may be still possible that there were new items for browsers that I don't use. But why then not for IE11?
     
  10. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,661
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Thanks FanJ. That makes me feel better knowing I'm not alone.
    I haven't seen any new items added for anything other than IE for years. I don't have Chrome installed but I do have Firefox and there's been no updates for it.

    Thanks,
    Dave
     
  11. doppelganger

    doppelganger Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    I'm new here.

    I've disabled IE11 on my Win7 PC (after first having removed/disabled it's plugins and all possible traces of Flash / Macromedia)
    Basically, my preference is to move fully to Edge Chromium and drop Chrome which I'm using as a stop gap.
    I'm trying to find out if and when Spywareblaster will be updated to support Edge Chromium - is it actually needed though? Does it achieve anything in Chrome and therefore in Edge Chromium?
    There are references to a Spywareblaster update coming but Edge Chromium has been public for a few months now and there's no action from Brightfort. Unless Brightfort are waiting until Microsoft rolls Edge Chromium out in their Windows10 updates over the coming months. Either way it would be nice to know!

    All advice welcome!
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2020
  12. MD2020

    MD2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Is SpywareBlaster still effective for Windows 7 in 2020? I haven't gotten an update in a long time ( I check every day). TYIA
     
  13. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    833
    They only update once a month.
     
  14. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,014
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen
    Anyone knows if it works in Opera ?
     
  15. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,047
    Restricted Sites are not stored in the HOSTS file. The only functionality of SpywareBlaster that touches the HOSTS file is the "Hosts Safe" tool for backing up / restoring it.
     
  16. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,047
    If you are seeing no unprotected items after an update, it is indeed because you don't have certain browser(s) installed (example in this particular case: Google Chrome). The number of unprotected items only counts items for browsers you have installed.

    The specific formats / items blocked vary per browser, as the browsers have different ways of encoding that information / support different technologies. So there are multiple different block rule lists, and some only apply to certain browsers that support those types of rules.

    We still fully support IE, and there will be plenty more items added impacting IE in future updates. So if you're waiting for those IE-impacting updates, no need to worry. :cool:
     
  17. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,047
    We do plan to support MS Edge Chromium. I don't have an ETA, but if you'd like to be updated when a beta is available please feel free to PM me.

    SpywareBlaster's protection for Chromium / Chrome-type browsers currently supports blocking ad / tracking cookies, and malicious / unwanted / ad / tracking / annoying scripts. One simple example that's more prevalent lately: blocking crypto-mining scripts that secretly harness your CPU (and massively slow down your browser) to mine crypto-currency in the background.
     
  18. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,047
    We do not currently support Opera. (What version of Opera are you using?)
     
  19. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,014
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen

    67.0.3575.137 I believed that since it use Blink....
     
  20. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,660
    Hi JC, thanks! That's what I was thinking but wanted to be sure.
    Thanks. Keep up the good work :thumb:
     
  21. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,661
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    So, does that mean there has only been updates for Chrome lately?
     
  22. doppelganger

    doppelganger Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for your reply. I'm interested in Beta and will PM you. Spywareblaster is one of several trusted apps/programs that I want to take with me into Edge Chromium. All the others have updated. Spywareblaster is the last one that's holding me back from dropping Chrome completely. Hope that explains why I've questioned as I did.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.