SpywareBlaster 5.2 released! - (Google Chrome, Windows 10, and more!)

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by javacool, Jul 16, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Hello sweater:

    If after very carefully following the "Upgrade Instructions" at http://www.brightfort.com/sbupdate.html and your issue fails to be resolved, please consider contacting @javacool at BrightFort for further assistance.

    HTH
     
  2. tork

    tork Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    after installing 5.2 i now have a Firefox not detected message.....no user profiles were found..Firefox is my main browser v 42.0
     
  3. tork

    tork Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    anyone any idea why firefox showing as not detected by v 5.2
     
  4. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,722
    Location:
    UK
  5. drbb

    drbb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Others have posted that they have discovered Firefox protection is turned off in SpywareBlaster. The most common solution I have seen is to adjust settings in both Firefox and SpywareBlaster to solve the problem. I, too, have experienced the issue of the mysterious "partially enabled" cookie protection for Firefox for years, and adjusting the settings made no difference. In fact, my settings were already consistent with the recommendations.

    However, tonight I was experimenting with some housekeeping utilities I use and discovered that unchecking the following setting in Wise Disk Cleaner allows me to retain my fully enabled Firefox protection in SpywareBlaster 5.2 (I am currently using version 8.85.623, but I have been using WDC for years):

    Under the Common Cleaner tab, and the Surf the Internet sub-tab, make sure that the Mozilla Firefox Cache setting is unchecked. ​

    That was it. I opened/closed SpywareBlaster several times, experimenting with various combinations of WDC check boxes related to Firefox, opening/closing Firefox to generate a cache and cookies, but the only setting in WDC that consistently affected Firefox Protection status in SB was the Mozilla Firefox Cache setting.

    This suggests that other applications that delete some or all of the Firefox cache, at least in a similar way to the way WDC does, may have a similar effect. I hope this minor discovery helps at least a few others.
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,286
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    In CCleaner it is Site Preferences. If you delete that you lose SpywareBlaster protection in Firefox.
     
  7. drbb

    drbb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    REVISED FINDING: It is not the "Mozilla Firefox Cache" box in Wise Disk Cleaner that was disabling Firefox settings in SpywareBlaster. Instead, the culprit seems to have been checking the box, "Mozilla Firefox Other Histories" under the "Surf the Internet" tab in the "Traces in the Computer" category. Checking this box deletes a number of sqlite files, including permissions.sqlite. If you use any file cleaning utilities like CCleaner or WDC, make sure they do not delete permissions.sqlite to avoid the "partially enabled" issue with Firefox. I presume there are analogous files in other browsers that should be not be "cleaned" as well.
     
  8. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,309
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I checked for updates yesterday and it actually updated to a new database version.
     
  9. Patricia Ard

    Patricia Ard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    I am having same proplem. Running Windows 8.1 and google Chrome (most recent update is not offered as of 12/08/15) I have 239 items disabled. I have left many c/s tickets and as yet recieved no replies. I do not count the automatic replies to let me know that you got my c/s ticket.

    Someone, anyone please help with this problem.
     
  10. Patricia Ard

    Patricia Ard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    I am running Windows 8.1 and google chrome is showing 239 disabled protections. Help at least you could reply and let me know what the problem/fix is.
     
  11. drbb

    drbb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Read replies #81-83 above. The most likely reason (though there may be others) is that you (or someone else using your computer) is using a third-part utility, such as CCleaner or Wise Disk Cleaner, that deletes the permissions.sqlite file in your Firefox profile. If so, adjust the utility settings (as stated in the replies) to omit deleting that file.

    P.S. We are all users like you, not employees. We have not seen your tickets.
     
  12. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,081
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.