SpywareBlaster 5.2 released! - (Google Chrome, Windows 10, and more!)

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by javacool, Jul 16, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LimboSlam

    LimboSlam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    Does Spywareblaster work ok with MBAE (malwarebytes anti-exploit free), wondering because I do feel a lag with both of them protecting Pale Moon. I have PM v25.6.0, Spywareblaster v5.2, and MBAE v1.07.1.1015.
     
  2. ky331

    ky331 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    157
    Since SpywareBlaster does not "run in real time", it should have no impact whatsoever on a program's speed. MBAE, in contrast, can POSSIBLY impact a program's speed... but hopefully not by much.

    If you want to check things out for yourself, it's an easy-enough test to [temporarily] disable all of SpywareBlaster's protection --- I believe it's just blocking cookies in PaleMoon --- to confirm it makes no difference.
    Alternatively, you can [temporarily] stop MBAE's protection, to see what impact (if any) that has.
    And then decide for yourself.
     
  3. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,081
    There is absolutely no reason that SpywareBlaster would affect the performance of Pale Moon, regardless of what other software you use. Once you set protection, SpywareBlaster has no running processes.

    If you are seeing a change on your system, I would strongly suggest investigating the other software you have installed, per the recommendation above by ky331. :)
     
  4. LimboSlam

    LimboSlam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks, It was neither MBAE and SB. The culprit was my bad WiFi connection I've been getting for a few days, and well added SB blocking my cookies I guess puts a strain on the loading process in Pale Moon. But it's all good now, I switch my WiFi connection.

    Thanks for all the help!! Really appreciate it! :)
     
  5. Potus

    Potus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Your answer on July 17 was not quite accurate. The screen shots from JohnMult (above) depict my situation, but I am using Windows XP Professional SP3, but you wrote that "the problem is limited to Windows XP Home Edition." Not so, and you even added that "Google Chrome protection on Windows XP Professional works fine." As I noted, Spywareblaster 5.2 does not work with Chrome on my XP Professional.

    You wrote that the problem is because "Microsoft decided not to include certain features on Windows XP Home." But, ah, 5.0 and previous releases worked just fine on XP despite the "missing libraries and functionalities" -- which you guys did not referred to as "missing" previously. LOL.

    You said that "Changes to SpywareBlaster were necessitated by changes Google made to Chrome." Okay, but why didn't those "changes to SpywareBlaster" also factor into the so-called "missing libraries and functionalities" of XP Home (and Professional)? And are the same libraries and functionalities an issue in XP Professional which, contrary to what you wrote, also is problematic with the 5.2 release?

    I am running "the latest version of Google Chrome," and I am "running SpywareBlaster 5.2" But, as I've said, I am not "fully and properly protected."

    I look forward to learning about the details, as well as what workarounds might be available.

    Thanks much.

    PS: I sent you an e-mail with a link to this thread and my username on these forums to:
    bugreports AT brightfort DOT com. Thanks for keeping us updated as more information is available.
     
  6. pd123

    pd123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Agree with Potus, Chrome protection does not work fully with my XP Pro SP3.

    One interesting thing I found though. If I remove all protection first, then fully uninstall 5.2 and re-install, all protection could be enabled (including Chrome) for the Admin account used for install. Non admin accounts could not apply Chrome protection still though.
     
  7. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,736
    Location:
    USA
    Wow. I checked for SpywareBlaster 5.2 updates on both of my 7x64 machines just now, and much to my surprise, I had 239 items with protection disabled.
    I fixed that, then updated and of course, all looks fine.
    But what the heck could have happened to have protection disabled like that on two separate machines?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. NoVaGal

    NoVaGal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    I'm running XP Pro (SP3) and SpywareBlaster 5.2 is protecting most of Chrome .. but not scripts. So currently I have 7 items not protected in Chrome. Fortunately, Chrome isn't something I use often, but look forward to the time when I can protect against it in full.

    Deb
     
  9. hewee

    hewee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    I got Firefox and Pale Moon I keep disabled.
    It only does cookies for them and I use the cookie Exceptions rules.

    http://www.lifetechnologies.com/us/...w-to-change-your-browser-cookie-settings.html

    No cookies are allowed that are not on the allow list.
    31 Session
    5 Block
    12 Allow

    That is my whole cookie list.
    Then with Cookie safe I use temp cookies at other sites

    All other cookies are blocked by default so no need to use SpywareBlaster that only adds them to the very same Exceptions list.

    I know I got a lot of Session but they are sites I only need to worry about that cookie at that site I go to so they are not tracking me all over.

    But then I use CookieCuller to clear the cookies I don't mark as protected before going to another site.

    Only cookies I can't block are the dom storage or supper cookies. I can disable it but only one web site I need to go to and login will not let me login if I disable dom storage.
     
  10. PallMall

    PallMall Guest

    SpywareBlaster handles Firefox, Pale Moon, but not Cyberfox. This resumes to Cookie protection.
    There is a workaround to have SpywareBlaster handle Cyberfox as it handles Firefox. This is what I've done and it works perfectly :

    Exit Cyberfox
    In your %APPDATA% folder (i.e. c:\Users\[USER]\AppData\Roaming) create a Mozilla folder then a Firefox subfolder to Mozilla -> %APPDATA%\Mozilla\Firefox\
    Locate your Cyberfox profiles.ini file : %APPDATA%\8pecxstudios\Cyberfox\profiles.ini (i.e. c:\Users\[USER]\AppData\Roaming\8pecxstudios\Cyberfox\profiles.ini)
    Copy that Cyberfox profiles.ini to the Firefox subfolder you've created above.
    Run SpywareBlaster : it recognizes Firefox because it has searched for and found a %APPDATA%\Mozilla\Firefox\profiles.ini -> Enable protection for Firefox
    Start Cyberfox. Lead to Options / History / Accept cookies from sites : click on Exceptions : cookies blacklist created by SpywareBlaster are all in place (Blocked)

    I use a Firefox add-on called Self-Destructing Cookies so SpywareBlaster not handling Cyberfox was not a real issue but still : better with that extra protection.
    But if you change your Cyberfox's profiles.ini page you'll have to remember to copy it again as mentioned above.
     
  11. pd123

    pd123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Javacool,
    Have to disagree with you. Happening with XP Pro also. Managed to fix for Admin account by removing all protection, uninstalling and re-installing, but this does not help with users that do nat have admin permissions.
    Any news on fix yet please?
    Cheers
     
  12. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    833
    Database: 9/23/2015 was updated
     
  13. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
  14. BarryFS

    BarryFS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    I am seeing the same on my screen as JohnMult (posted July 16th).
    However, I am using Windows 7 64 bit not XP.
    I have uninstalled SpywareBlaster and re-installed 5.2 - Same.
    I have uninstalled SpywareBlaster, installed 5.0 (all browsers are fully protected at this point, but when I updated to 5.2 - Same issue.
    According to Chrome, I am running the latest version, but SpywareBlaster states that protection for Google Chrome is only partially Enabled and that 239 items are disabled.
    If I try to manually enable them, nothing changes.

    Any advice?
     
  15. mkubo

    mkubo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Hello,
    I've been using Spywareblaster for many years and I'm so confused now. In Firefox, under Tools, Options, Content > Block Pop-up window > Exceptions... the Allowed Site Pop-ups list used to be populated with a lot of blocked sites. Now, there's nothing showing up no matter how many times I rerun Spywareblaster. Has something changed with the newer versions?

    Thank you!

    Please disregard, I found a workaround.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2015
  16. wildman

    wildman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,185
    Location:
    Home on the range.
    I loved SpywareBlaster but they had to go and make it not work if one did not keep the cookies on Firefox. I wish they would leave well enough alone. It was not broken and did not need to be fixed. Another once loved program is now of no use to me.

    Always,
    Wildman
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,286
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    You don't have to keep cookies for SpywareBlaster at all, but if you use CCleaner to remove Site Preferences you will need to re-enable FF protection. As far as I know it has been like this all along. I delete cookies every time I close FF and SpywareBlaster protection is always enabled.
     
  18. BarryFS

    BarryFS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,

    I posted a comment a few weeks ago now (#64).
    I am still experiencing the issue whereby Chrome protection is 'partially enabled' with 239 items that are not protected.
    I cannot enable them at all.
    I am using Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit.
    Is anyone else experiencing this issue.
    Can anyone advise how I can get Chrome fully protected?
    I have tried uninstalling SpywareBlaster and re-installing but the issue remains.
     
  19. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    571
    Location:
    USA
    I had that issue once but it cleared after I rebooted and tried again. I may have run CCleaner as well (I typically do between reboots since they are rare and usually driven by installs).
     
  20. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,309
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Is the entire SB Database read in memory or from disk every time.
     
  21. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
  22. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,081
    No. SpywareBlaster does not constantly run in the background, nor does it constantly use CPU cycles or memory.

    If you're worried about a speed/performance trade-off, you're in luck: there isn't one with SpywareBlaster. :)
     
  23. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,309
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    How come the SB Database is not updated at least once a day.
     
  24. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,286
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Ha!
    About once a month is the norm these days.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2015
  25. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,678
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    Spywareblaster didn't protect my Google Chrome, no matter what I did it still could not be enabled. But Firefox are just fine.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.