SpywareBlaster 4.4 released!

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by javacool, Aug 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    SpywareBlaster 4.4 has been released!

    Prevent the installation of spyware, malware, and other potentially unwanted software!

    New in this version:
    -Improved browser detection
    -Tweaks to support for Windows XP/Vista/7
    -Fixes rare issues checking for updates via HTTPS servers
    -Improved enabling AutoUpdate on Windows XP Limited Accounts
    -Improved enabling AutoUpdate while running other security software that restricts permissions / blocks system changes
    -Improved AutoUpdate license entry
    -Numerous additional bug fixes, optimizations, and tweaks

    This 4.4 release provides enhanced protection, performance, and bug fixes.

    UPDATING OPTIONS IN SPYWAREBLASTER
    SpywareBlaster still offers the built-in Check for Updates feature. This feature is completely free and allows you to keep up-to-date by clicking on a button in the SpywareBlaster interface.

    SpywareBlaster also offers SpywareBlaster AutoUpdate - a sleek, automated, no-nonsense updating solution. Just set it up, and AutoUpdate will check at every system boot for the latest updates and enable the newest protection (other options are available).

    As much as we would like to provide auto-updating functionality for free, costs are simply too great to make it feasible. AutoUpdate functionality is $9.95 (US) per year, which helps to cover the bandwidth costs. The Check for Updates function remains completely free, as does SpywareBlaster. You only need to pay if you wish to have the extra convenience of AutoUpdate.

    SpywareBlaster is freeware.
    Download the latest version here:
    http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html

    System Requirements: Windows 98, ME, NT4, 2000, XP, Vista, 7. (32 and 64-bit)


    Enjoy! :D

    Best regards,

    -Javacool

    P.S. If you have any problems please don't hesitate to post.
     
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Requirements:

    Windows 98, ME, NT4, 2000, XP, Vista, 7. (32 and 64-bit)


    Provides Protection for the Following Browsers:
    • Internet Explorer
      and any browsers that use the Internet Explorer engine, including:
      • AOL web browser
      • Avant Browser
      • Slim Browser
      • Maxthon (formerly MyIE2)
      • and more
    • Mozilla Firefox
    • Netscape
    • Seamonkey
    • Flock
    • K-Meleon

    Slim Operation:

    As always, SpywareBlaster doesn't use any services, drivers, or anything that constantly runs in the background, consuming your computer's memory and processing time. You just open SpywareBlaster, set your protection, and close it - you're protected.

    And it works great with other reputable security and privacy applications, including anti-virus, anti-trojan, and even other anti-spyware programs. There's no such thing as a 100% effective solution, and SpywareBlaster was designed from day one to be a compatible, effective part of any security setup you may want to configure.
     
  3. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Upgrading Tips:

    To upgrade SpywareBlaster from a previous version you can either:
    (a) Uninstall the old version of SpywareBlaster first. Please see the detailed upgrade instructions here: http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/sbupdate.html
    (b) Download and install the new version of SpywareBlaster "over-the-top".

    Either method should work, but we recommend uninstalling the old version first for completeness.
     
  4. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    Many thanks JC ;)
     
  5. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @ Javacool

    What a surprise :eek: Thanks :thumb:

    I would advise caution with

    If people have included their own CLSID's i "presume" this might wipe them all out. So i would suggest they save these first and/or install the new version of SpywareBlaster "over-the-top.

    If they save their previous CLSID's they can then include them in the new version ;)

    SUGGESTION

    Some people might have numerous CLSID's the've included themselves, would it be possible to make a way we could batch import them, instead of one by one ? TIA
     
  6. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,124
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    Thank you Javacool..installed, running like a charm!!
     
  7. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    SpywareBlaster's Custom Blocking list (customblocking.txt) should not be removed by the uninstaller. So no need to worry. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  8. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Great thanks, Javacool!
    Uninstalled the old, installed the new.
    Smooth as silk.
    :thumb:
    A reminder... don't forget to enable all protections!
     
  9. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Cool, Java ;)

    What about my general import Suggestion ? I was thinking of, say having these in a text file, and SB recognising them as CLSID's eg - {00000566-0000-0010-8000-00AA006D2EA4} - and being able to import them as a one shot batch.

    Inputting many one at a time is a bit tedious ;)
     
  10. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,124
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    over the top as always!! :cool:
     
  11. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Thank you, javacool :thumb:
     
  12. roddy32

    roddy32 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,585
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    Over the top here also, Quick and easy. Worked like a charm :)

    Thanks Javacool.
     
  13. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I went for a clean install, looks good. Nice one JavaCool! :thumb:
     
  14. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Are there any plans to include Chrome?
     
  15. Purrson

    Purrson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    In the past I elected to pay to get the auto update feature and have 599 days remaining on my registration, which option should I click? Should I still disable coverage and uninstall and reinstall and it will sense I paid or?
    Thanks for advice in advance
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2010
  16. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    Installed over 4.3 with no problem. Custom Blocking intact. Thanks for the new version.:thumb:
     
  17. thylacine

    thylacine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    guys, which custom blocking are still available?

    any suggestions to what r u using now?
     
  18. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Thanks javacool for update info.
     
  19. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks Javacool from me also, good install. :D
     
  20. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,115
    Very Good! :D
     
  21. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    Ad-Awares at:
    -http://koti.mbnet.fi/pattaya1/swb3.htm-
     
  22. thylacine

    thylacine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    cool! thanks! ;)
     
  23. blancheirving

    blancheirving Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Updating fails/freezes Re: SpywareBlaster 4.4 released!

    [ Under a different username I posted this on DSLreports.com as well. ]

    Reporting from west coast USA: manual update is failing today for this new free version. The program (v.4.4) hangs and prevents navigation to the rest of the screen.

    I have an upload/download meter so I can see that the attempted update server [non]connection quiets down to zero activity, really fast after a few weak initial blips.

    Task Manager (this is Vista Home Prem 32-bit) remained accessible, though, using CTRL+ALT+DEL. So I could back out of the freeze.

    I tried going into the program's folder and specifying both the updater .exe and the main .exe as "Run As Administrator" - but no change ensued. Again the Task Manager did work following SpywareBlaster's freeze while attempting a manual update.

    Pending some resolution I reinstalled v4.3 with its April 12, 2010 database.

    Thanks for the previous version though. Never one bit [pardon the expression] of trouble with it.
     
  24. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    No problems here, I went the fresh-install route. As I customarily do, I also checked for def updates after reinstalling, and no problems with that either (reported nothing new available, not surprising since I think the last update was only a few days ago).
     
  25. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    Has the conflict with Threatfire been sorted?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.