SpywareBlaster 4.3 released!

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by javacool, Apr 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    SpywareBlaster 4.3 has been released!

    Prevent the installation of spyware, malware, and other potentially unwanted software!

    New in this version:
    -SeaMonkey 2.x support
    -Improved Firefox (and other Gecko-based browsers) support
    -Improved high-DPI support
    -Misc IE Settings enhancements for Windows Vista/7
    -Fixed incorrect "not enough free space" message on large hard drives
    -Numerous additional bug fixes, tweaks, and optimizations

    This 4.3 release provides enhanced protection, performance, and bug fixes.

    UPDATING OPTIONS IN SPYWAREBLASTER
    SpywareBlaster still offers the built-in Check for Updates feature. This feature is completely free and allows you to keep up-to-date by clicking on a button in the SpywareBlaster interface.

    SpywareBlaster also offers SpywareBlaster AutoUpdate - a brand-new updating solution. Just set it up, and AutoUpdate will check at every system boot for the latest updates and enable the newest protection (other options are available).

    As much as we would like to provide auto-updating functionality for free, costs are simply too great to make it feasible. AutoUpdate functionality is $9.95 (US) per year, which helps to cover the bandwidth costs. The Check for Updates function remains completely free, as does SpywareBlaster. You only need to pay if you wish to have the extra convenience of AutoUpdate.

    SpywareBlaster is freeware.
    Download the latest version here:
    http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html

    System Requirements: Windows 98, ME, NT4, 2000, XP, Vista, 7. (32 and 64-bit)


    Enjoy! :D

    Best regards,

    -Javacool

    P.S. If you have any problems please don't hesitate to post.
     
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Requirements:

    Windows 98, ME, NT4, 2000, XP, Vista, 7. (32 and 64-bit)


    Provides Protection for the Following Browsers:
    • Internet Explorer
      and any browsers that use the Internet Explorer engine, including:
      • AOL web browser
      • Avant Browser
      • Slim Browser
      • Maxthon (formerly MyIE2)
      • and more
    • Mozilla Firefox
    • Netscape
    • Seamonkey
    • Flock
    • K-Meleon

    Slim Operation:

    As always, SpywareBlaster doesn't use any services, drivers, or anything that constantly runs in the background, consuming your computer's memory and processing time. You just open SpywareBlaster, set your protection, and close it - you're protected.

    And it works great with other reputable security and privacy applications, including anti-virus, anti-trojan, and even other anti-spyware programs. There's no such thing as a 100% effective solution, and SpywareBlaster was designed from day one to be a compatible, effective part of any security setup you may want to configure.
     
  3. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Upgrading Tips:

    To upgrade SpywareBlaster from a previous version you can either:
    (a) Uninstall the old version of SpywareBlaster first. Please see the detailed upgrade instructions here: http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/sbupdate.html
    (b) Download and install the new version of SpywareBlaster "over-the-top".

    Either method should work, but we recommend uninstalling the old version first for completeness.
     
  4. brainrb1

    brainrb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    475
    Does it slow down surfing speed or browser start up time? what about compatibility with other antimalware software? how well does it work with sandboxie? too bad no opera support.
     
  5. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    Nope :) - the goal of the product is to be a no-compromise solution that doesn't interfere with what you do.

    For more information, please see: http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html#Principles

    SpywareBlaster is built to work nicely alongside any existing security setup as an additional layer of protection.

    We have Opera support planned. It didn't make it into this release because of a bug in Opera itself, but we're continuing to work on it.

    Regardless, almost every Windows system has Internet Explorer installed, and many systems have other browsers installed as well. SpywareBlaster can help tighten the hatches on Internet Explorer and many other browsers. (And even if you don't use Internet Explorer for regular browsing, other programs likely use its engine to display content.)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  6. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Thanks, javacool :thumb:
    I have spread the good word. Keep up the great work.
     
  7. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Thanks, Javacool, for the new version and the hard work that you put into it!
    :thumb:
     
  8. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thank you
    & btw:

    This site: System Lookup
    I found in siljaline's sig:
    Is that U 2 ??
    If so: nice job: i'll be visiting.
    :thumb:
    Regards

    ( donation coming :) : about time :oops: )
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2010
  9. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Installed on top. Just to see that it works and it does :)
     
  10. roddy32

    roddy32 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,585
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    Over the top here also, Very quick and painless :D
     
  11. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Thank you very much Javacool ! :thumb:

    I did a clean install.

    Keep up the good work !!!
     
  12. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    Yeah maybe your software might not in itself slow down browsing, but you neglect to mention the slowdown on the browsers themselves as they have to iterate over the massive list you employ. For example in Firefox, for every domain thats requested, you need to iterate your list around 3 times I believe. Once for cookies, once for popups, and once for images.

    To me this software is a waste of time these days, especially with better solutions available such as a hosts file, which isn't browser biased and only iterates once.

    My apologies for being Mr. Negative.
     
  13. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    I think you'll be glad to hear that this is not the case.

    Most browsers do what is effectively a direct (constant-time) lookup to see if a particular item is in a block list. (i.e. They do not iterate over the list for every domain/ActiveX/etc requested.) This is frequently accomplished using techniques similar to that of a hash table (for an overview, please see the following: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hash_table ) or various other data structures/indexes.

    The upshot is: There is no noticeable slowdown in the browser itself when SpywareBlaster's protection is enabled.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  14. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I always do a clean install. Everything seems fine. I know many people don't rate SB much these days but it always makes me feel a bit safer if I use K-Meleon or, heaven forbid, IE 8! There's nothing wrong with an extra layer of protection (I feel like making a lewd or risqué joke but I won't).

    Cheers JavaCool. :thumb:
     
  15. roddy32

    roddy32 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,585
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    No slowdown here at all with either Firefox or IE8 with SpywareBlaster enabled. Great job as always Javacool, Thanks :)
     
  16. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Thank you Sir :thumb:

    Never had any slowdowns even on 98se back in the day :)
     
  17. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    the only thing it slows down is badware ;)
     
  18. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    I actually found Firefox to start up a hair faster with the new version. I went the disable/uninstall/install route, and probably dumping the old registry entries and having the new ones added cleaned things up a little (I don't have a registry defragger, though I do occasionally use JV-16's compactor).
     
  19. WOOO! Thanks for the awesome software Javacool! I'd thought it was dead for a while.

    (Spywareblaster is an old favorite of mine, great for blocking drivebys on old machines.)
     
  20. toolsz

    toolsz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    Stick with 4.2

    Version 4.3 does not detect Seamonkey 1.1.1.8, so I uninstalled Spywareblaster 4.3 and re-installed Spywareblaster 4.2 !!! (for me Seamonkey 2.xx is not cool enough to use)
     
  21. eeebee

    eeebee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    I tried to download and part way through it said the install files are corrupted. Can you check please?
    Thanks,
     
  22. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    did you try both download links? One of them might work better on your connection
     
  23. eeebee

    eeebee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    thanks ... I was able to do clean install using the Geek site. I'm good now.

    The coral site gave me message 'setup files are corrupted. please obtain a new copy of the program.'
     
  24. eric4753

    eric4753 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    I LOATHE New Versions of This and Other Software

    I am mostly venting here and given the other posters' content I am certainly the "odd man out" here. Call me a complaining old fart -- I'm 42 -- or whatever but it just seems that when I get accustomed to a particular version of software there's a "latest and greatest" version I must start using. No option of using the old, but I must uninstall the existing software and replace it with the new. My complaint is basically a "blanket" complaint directed at not only Javacool, but also Adobe and countless others that warrant (too many in my opinion) updates, upgrades, etc. If these upgrades are absolutely, positively, and the-earth-may-blow-up-if-we-don't necessary, then okay. Sorry for my rant, but simply -- is this a necessary "evil" of all software that will ALWAYS exist?

    Eric
     
  25. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Well this old fart who is 25 years older than you has been using SpywareBlaster for several years. I've always installed over the top and never had an issue. If you want to run the older version go ahead I believe it will still work. Its free use it or don't your choice. :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.