SpywareBlaster 4.3 Help Files

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by bjm_, Jun 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,282
    SB 4.3 install was smooth. Trying app again after long hiatus ...as it now reports improved for FF
    No problems with app...familiar UI
    But, not able to open Help? I find Help Files chm.
    Click StartMenu SBHelp or UI ? > IE cycles > File Download pane pops and Open & Save pops File Download pane > file movement is rendered but nothing ever occurs. Just sits. Small file ..yet Download To & Transfer Rate are blank.
    Any comments?
    Thanks
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    you can't open SB help file or help files in general?
     
  3. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,282
    Yes correct...as I noted in OP.
    Sorry, I can't open/access SB help file....browser's Help files, Windows Help files etc. is not an issue.
    SB Help from AllPrograms & SB UI pops IE open/close and then renders File Download pane > sbhelp.chm w open / save and animated File Download Pane..
    open re=pops IE open/close with same File Download panes
    save offers to save chm to downloads. I have sbhelp.chm listed with SB files and saved to downloads > same kb.
    So, to answer your query I can't open / access SB help files.
    Trying to access Help just to review and to find out why SB sites populated to IE and FF are not listed with Blocked listing in UI. for example atdmt.com populates to IE and FF sites which is great But, upon scroll threw Blocked list in SB UI I do not find atdmt.com. May be under unrecognized cclids or another site entry?
    Anyway, back to How to Access SB help ?
    SB UI appears fully functional and this was first install after hiatus...so, I have nothing to delete from prior versions SpyBlast
    Thanks for your time and interest
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2010
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Do you click on ? in right top corner and nothing happens? But it opens fine if you open direct from SB folder? maybe reinstall in case if fixes whatever is broken.
     
  5. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,282
    No, unfortunately all roads do not lead to SB help
    All Programs , GUI ? , does not open direct from SB folder..
    all roads render same results
    IE pops open/close, File Download panes render and panes just sit pretending to transfer data.
    Have not tried re-install...as UI is flawless. Might overwrite with saved download correct glitch or better uninstall / new download & install.
    Refresh my memory as it has been a while ....SB help works though IE or should open with GUI even if FF is open. Tried with both browsers one at a time and both same results - No SB help
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2010
  6. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    reinstall SB, it seems the shortcuts are broken
     
  7. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,282
    overwrite re-install or clean install ...is it possible original download corrupt
    uninstall for clean install via control panel or uninstall file in SB folder ...think I recall uninstall file > unins000 app
     
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    try overwrite first if still not working, remove and clean install. What OS, use Run As Administrator option if Vista and above just in case?
     
  9. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,282
    OK...sound like a plan overwrite attempt first
    then unins000 RunAsAdmin
    Vista SP2 32bit
    Thanks ...will update thread ASAP
    Cheers
     
  10. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,282
    @ Cudni et al,
    OP issue update...
    Well, after multiple attempts using all avenues. Same broken Help link. I have two Admin accounts....I neglected to mention this in my OP :mad:
    Default Admin and user created Admin accounts. 99.999% of the time. A & B play as twins. Downloads/Installs A populate to B & B to A. My default Admin (A) has functional SB Help link - All Programs - SB Help Icon is page-yellow question mark. B's SB Help Icon is page-no yellow question mark. Thats the issue from original install and remains issue. All SB modules @ A fully OK. All SB modules @ B fully OK except for broken Help link. I've come at it from every direction...even snuck up on it. :thumbd:
    Thanks for your help...
    ideas how to resolve broken Help link in B. Or, just forget it. o_O
     
  11. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  12. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,282
    @ Cudni et al,
    Well, tried > just create a new shortcut or edit existing one pointing to "C:\Program Files\SpywareBlaster\sbhelp.chm"
    The shortcut target is > "C:\Program Files\SpywareBlaster\sbhelp.chm" & create a new shortcut renders same issue.
    Well, I did however realize user permissions are not Full control for "user" account only Full control for "Admin" account. Odd, since my user created Admin account is not LUA ...just a click through for UAC
    So, I did realize I may access sbhelp.chm from "user" account with Open with > Microsoft HTML Help Executable
    Also, odd since "permissions" are apparent default from SB install and user has Read & execute permissions. As I offered earlier All Programs sbhelp link is functional from default Admin account. Odd, as I never had similar Help file issue with other third party apps from "user created" account. Wonder, if anyone else running SB has similar sbhelp issue.
    Thanks for your feedback... I imagine sbhelp link is broken from my user created account because it just is by default. IDK if I grant Full control permissions if sbhelp link with fix to HTML Executable ?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.