SpywareBlaster 3.5.1 BUG.

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by iamnomad, Jan 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iamnomad

    iamnomad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Just downloaded this latest version. It told me that there were 253 unprotected items in "restricted sites". They were all CoolWebsearch variants. Why they were unchecked is beyond me. I took the time to check each one & it still would not enable protection for them. I tried the "enable all protection" option & it still would not work for these 253 variants. I had no such trouble with the previous version. Somebody better take a look at this. I uninstalled & went back to the previous version. (Thank God for GoBack!).

    Bob M.
     
  2. myluvnttl

    myluvnttl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Posts:
    150
    Well I upgrade and had no problem. :thumb:
     
  3. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    Hi iamnomad, and welcome to the forum.

    I have moved your thread from the General Topics forum over into Javacool's SpywareBlaster forum.

    By chance, do you have Spysweeper by Webroot installed? If yes, you might try the suggestion by Javacool in the SpywareBlaster 3.5.1 released! thread, Post #44.

    Regards,

    snap
     
  4. iamnomad

    iamnomad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks for the tip re Webroot. Followed your instructions & it now works fine.

    BTW, where did you get your "kitty" picture.? It's really hot!

    Thanks again,
    Bob M.
     
  5. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    Ah! :D Glad to see it worked for you, iamnomad, and thank you for letting us know.

    And thank you for the compliment about my avatar (I do make my own.) :)

    Best regards,

    snap
     
  6. balo

    balo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Posts:
    4

    I had that problem with 3.5 When I installed the new version 3.51 I purposely did not close SpySweeper and I had no problems. Another quirk but a positive one this time.
     
  7. dcdc

    dcdc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    195
    Location:
    Boston area
    I too have a conflict with SpywareBlaster and Spy Sweeper. With SB 3.5.1 just released, this is a good time to bring it up.

    Overall I think Spy Sweeper is excellent and worth paying for, but the IE shield in SS 4.5 does not work perfectly in my opinion. Initially it would ask me every time I booted if I wanted to prevent the SB updater C:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYWAREBLASTER\SBAUTOUPDATE.EXE from changing my IE security settings. I always checked "no" and "remember this decision", but SS never did remember it.

    Lately SS just posts a line on my SS main screen with the file name and "IE Security Modification denied". I would never know it unless I went to that screen, and there seems no way to add SB to an allow list. (SS does the same thing with MS AS Beta, by the way - "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT ANTISPYWARE\GCASDTSERV.EXE - IE Security Modification denied.")

    I submitted a ticket to SS on this matter but am still waiting for a reply or fix.

    The odd thing is that as usual during boot, SB will have a popup in the system tray that says "SB has verified and set the latest protection" or something like that even though SS has apparently blocked any SB update(s). On the SB main screen it says my database is dated 12/13/05 with 4999 items; this date is well after I began having the problem with SS, so I don't have much confidence that that piece of information is necessarily accurate.

    My question is this about the update process, and it would apply to any application. How does SB actually known what updates I have installed as opposed to what it has downloaded? If SB attempts to update but it is in fact blocked , does SB believe it has succeeded? From Javacool's perspective the download may have been successful, but from mine it was not. Does SB actually check my system to see if an update was in fact installed successfully?

    This is the second year I have paid for SpywareBlaster updates, modest money well spent in my opinion. Once the situation with Spy Sweeper is straightened out (if ever), I will be left wondering what holes I may have in my SB updates, and how best to plug them. I suppose one way would be to uninstall and install a new copy, but that leaves the question of whether Javacool will accept or transfer the already paid update service on a new download.

    By the way, does anyone know a good forum specifically for Spy Sweeper?

    Thanks to all for any replies on this matter.
     
  8. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Just to answer this question quickly:

    When you install a new version of SpywareBlaster / upgrade to a new version, your AutoUpdate service will automatically transfer and be enabled. This should even work if you uninstall the old version of SpywareBlaster first. :)

    So don't worry about losing the AutoUpdate service - you can reinstall a fresh copy of SpywareBlaster any time you feel like it, and it should just work. :cool:

    (Now, if you reinstall everything from scratch, including Windows, you will need to re-enter your key - but otherwise it's a pretty painless upgrade procedure.)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.