SpywareBlaster 3.3 released!

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by javacool, Mar 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BlackSwan

    BlackSwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Posts:
    104
    Today 01:47 AM
    Today 01:47 AM
    Ah, I see... Thank you both. :) [​IMG]
     
  2. kevm

    kevm Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Posts:
    19
    hi javacool, just downloaded 3.3, went fine. One thing I wanted to mention. I uninstalled version 3.2 first and rebooted. I have donated to your pay pal site and have also purchased autoupdate for 2 systems. I notice that when uninstalling version 3.2 and rebooting, SB sutoupdate still runs during startup. It doesnt complain, but is still does run. IMHO, you should have the uninstall remove the startup entry, or at least set it not to run, for autoupdate.

    When I installed version 3.3, autoupdate seemed to integrate back with it fine.


    I would like to ask you:

    I run MS antispyware Beta1 with all settings and real time scanner active. I also run trojan hunter with TH guard active. I use the immune feature of Spybot S and D which integrates with spyware blaster. All prtection is set, but I do not use the BHO helper of spybot for I/E or the resident tea time feature because I feel that it is redundant. Finally I use NAV 2004 and Zone alarm pro.

    Of the products I have mentioned, have you seen any conflicts in your testing?

    Thanks again Jcool

    Kev
     
  3. MaryB

    MaryB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Big Thanks :) was following all the instructions to install the new version 3.3 and it wouldn't install - didn't think of clearing my temp files and cookies - happy camper now :D
     
  4. TechDunce

    TechDunce Guest

    Why does it take so long to download. Even on dial up it is only 2.5 megs. I tried to download from the IMG site but the download failed at 45% so I have to start again
    Thanks for the prog very good
     
  5. Access Denied

    Access Denied Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    927
    Location:
    Computer Chair
  6. TechDunce

    TechDunce Guest

    It took ages to download but now I hav and installed and confirmed the protection is up to date. Thanks for the prog
    Regards
    TD
     
  7. javashava

    javashava Guest

    Thanx Been 97% spyware free ever since getting this. u people rock! keep up the good work.
     
  8. randwolfray

    randwolfray Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, everyone! I've had SpywareBlaster for almost two years now since I first heard about it in "PCs For Dummies" author Dan Gookin's online newsletter. I have always been absolutely delighted with this program, and several months ago I subscribed to the Autoupdate feature. It has always worked great until the other day when I downloaded the new 3.3 release. Now I get the following message: "Error Connecting to Update Server--There was an error getting the update information file from the server. The server may be temporarily unavailable, or there may be a conflict with firewall software installed on your pc. The update information file may have gotten corrupted durning download. Please try again soon."

    I've tried several times. I completely deleted all previous versions, and even deleted 3.3 and downloaded it again. I tried using all the options in the Options area. The only time I am able to establish a connection is when I manually type in my ISP "proxy.SafeBrowse.com" (on Port 80). Strangely, the second option "Use system settings" will then work, too. However, if I close IE 6.0 and open it again, the Autoupdate feature is back to not connecting. The only firewall I am currently running on my system is the one included in Windows XP (Service Pack 1--I've been afraid to download Service Pack 2). I don't know what to do to configure it to allow SpywareBlaster, if that is the cause. It has never been a problem before. Anybody have any ideas? Thanks
     
  9. JSmith

    JSmith Guest

    Download the latest version here: http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html
    [/QUOTE]

    Thanks, for a fine program.

    You have provided 2 sites to download the program:
    1. MajorGeeks
    2. allsecpros
    I downloaded from allsecpros.com and proceeded to install. At installation time, the install program wanted to contact 64.94.110.11, which is blocked by my other protection. After trying and not succeeding for a while, it started normal Spywareblaster installation.

    I believe allsecpros has added something to the original installation.

    After cancelling this installation I downloaded from MajorGeeks and it installed normally (As it did on a prior installation).

    Please, check this matter. Until this is sorted out, I would recommend not downloading from allsecpros.com

    I am reporting this matter because I care about you, as the publisher and about other users.
     
  10. SamS

    SamS Guest

    Thanks for such a great piece of software. Any chance you will include OPera in in future versions? Also woll you have a network version available soon?

    Keep up the GREAT work. I've installed Spyware Blaster on dozens of PC's
     
  11. snapdragin

    snapdragin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    randwolfray - could you try the suggestions in this thread: error connecting, and let us know if anything there resolves the problem?

    Regards,

    snap
     
  12. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    18,188
    Location:
    New England
    No, that is not the case. The EXE is identical from that site and majorgeeks. If you still have the original download you can do a file comparison between the two to see that yourself, or check the file's MD5 checksum.

    The IP address 64.94.110.11 points to crl.verisign.com, the Certificate Revocation List provided by Verisign, a Certificate Authority and one of the largest issuers of digital certificates. The new version of SpywareBlaster (3.3) is digitally signed by Javacool using his own digital certificate. If your system is setup to support it, the first time you run such a program, your system will attempt to check with the Certificate Authority to see if the signing certificate is still valid. You don't need to allow this, but if you do it provides additional assurance that the file is in the original form, as the author intended it to be.

    We appreciate you being cautious and informing us. If indeed this had been something malicious, we'd want to know right away. And by asking this question here, others will also be informed about how certificates work. Thanks.

    Additional background posts: this and this.
     
  13. Double D

    Double D Guest

  14. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    18,188
    Location:
    New England
    How exactly (screen shot, message or whatever) did Spybot identify it as a threat? Do you know who allsecpros.com is? It is basically Eagle1, member #8 here at Wilders (Paul Wilders in member #7), aka. the guy who provides net-integration.net (the Official Spybot S&D online forums) and the single largest mirror provider of both Spybot and SpywareBlaster.
     
  15. Double D

    Double D Guest

    Correction.

    The following bookmark/favorite was identified as a Spybot threat called "TurboDownload"...

    http://allsecpros.com/sb.html

    Comments?
     
  16. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    18,188
    Location:
    New England
    I'd still like a screen shot or whatever because that is still the official host site of Spybot's forums. If there is a mistake in Spybot, I'm sure Patrick will fix it immediately since that site provides his very own forum. :doubt:
     
  17. Double D

    Double D Guest

    Specifically, Spybot listed it (an IE favorite) as a "TurboDownload" threat. Spybot fixed it, and I noticed it was then removed from my favorite list.

    How can I provide a "screen shot" (i'm no computer geek, so pardon my ignornace)?
     
  18. Double D

    Double D Guest

    Interesting.

    When I went back to Spybot "recovery", the "TurboDownload" threat was not there.

    I'm confused...is this just because it was only an IE favorite?
     
  19. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    hi, Javacool :) thanks for the program, after remembering i connect through a proxy it works perfectly :cool:
     
  20. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,023
    Indeed. The new setup file is digitally signed to help assure anyone downloading it (from any mirror - official or otherwise) that the file is not tampered with.

    Windows (at least Windows XP SP2) should alert you if a digitally signed file has been altered.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  21. Eagle1

    Eagle1 Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    Rio Rancho NM - Nevis, West Indies
    Net-Integration provides the support forums, etc. for Spybot Search & Destroy and allsecpros.com is nothing more than a server dedicated to mirror downloads and nothing else. There are no fancy scripts and applications are NEVER touched but simply transferred exactly as they are delivered to us by developer/distributors.

    I have been providing a mirror of SB for over a year and have successfully delivered over 200,000 copies of v3.2 (and over 75,000 copies of 3.3 in past 3 days) and I would never consider such a thing as altering an application or download!!! :(

    Secondly, although I have not duplicated it yet it appears the turbodownload is a false positive and as such will be reported through our channels in addition to those already done here and in the Spybot forums at Net-Integration.

    have a great day folks :)

    -------

    I would not have responded here because others seemed to have handled it fine but I need someplace I can reference with my comments for the slew of emails comming in on this. :(
     
  22. SamS

    SamS Guest

    The Register just published this Friday. http://www.theregister.com/2005/03/11/alternative_slimeware/
    Opera support would be GREATLY appreciated.
     
  23. Vivski

    Vivski Guest

    Hi and thanks for the brilliant software.

    I've just updated to 3.3 and can't access the Update Server. I'm behind a pretty strict firewall, but 3.2 managed to connect using the Alternative Download Method. Not sure what's changed, maybe I've got the options wrong.

    I don't want to have to go back to 3.2, 'cos from my understanding, there wont be any more updates for 3.2.
    Thanks for the help and once again, thanks for putting the effort in to help protect our computers.

    -Viv-
     
  24. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
  25. lawrence

    lawrence Guest

    i want to update my 3.2 to 3.3, however, is there anyway i can keep my old system snapshots??
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.