SpywareBlaster 2.6 released!

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by javacool, Jun 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mapsonx

    mapsonx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Posts:
    44
    Spyware Blaster still listed as v2.5.3, added 04/03/2003, at Wilders downloads

    http://www.wilders.org/downloads.htm
     
  2. Dan Perez

    Dan Perez Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    1,495
    Location:
    Sunny San Diego
    Hi,

    My apologies for the inconvenience but it appears that that link had not yet been updated and the homepage for the app which javacool posted on the first article in the thread is inaccessible at present. I am going to IM the admins about this but in the interim you can download from

    http://www.hazeleger.net/special/index.htm

    Thanks for bringing this to our attention!

    Best Regards,

    Dan

    Removed direct download link by request of Administrator of The Hair´s Lair.
     
  3. Dan Perez

    Dan Perez Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    1,495
    Location:
    Sunny San Diego
    Jezzman,

    Can you please elaborate? I could not replicate what you were referring to :)
     
  4. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,467
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi JezzMan,

    Could you please open a thread in the Privacy problems forum and post your HijackThis log
    Download, Unzip and run HijackThis, Then click Scan > Save log, save the log as a .txt file and copy & paste its content into your next post.
    Don´t fix anything yet. Most of what it finds is harmless.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  5. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,822
    Location:
    Canada
    I have a question, it is the fist time I hear about SpywareBlaster.Can I use it together with Ad-Awareo_O
    Thanks
     
  6. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,467
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Antarctica,

    I use SpywareBlaster, SpywareGuard, AdAware 6 Pro and Spybot S&D without problems. All happily working together to keep me spywarefree.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  7. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,822
    Location:
    Canada
    Pieter_Arntz,

    Thanks for the fast answer. I will give a try with SpywareBlaster. :)
     
  8. ihatespyware

    ihatespyware Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Michigan
    Whoa, I just installed that other new version like 2 weeks ago, and here's another one. My head's still spinning. :eek:
     
  9. I think I screwed something up.....I wanted to see what that flash kill thing was so I tried it and then I unchecked it and flashes still don't play...it's pretty annoying...
     
  10. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,102
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Did you try clearing out your cache and hitting "Refresh"?

    Good luck, Acadia.
     
  11. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,040
    Go back into SpywareBlaster and make sure it's unchecked.

    Then, if the change doesn't appear to activate immediately, reboot your pc.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  12. attilio

    attilio Guest

    I'm trying to check for updates, but following message appears: "An update is available but cannot be downloaded through this updater. Visit the site to obtain it". Does it refer to this new SpywareBlaster 2.6 to download? Thanks a lot

    ATTILIO - ITALY
     
  13. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,467
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi attilio,

    If you are using an older version: yes.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  14. klompen

    klompen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Posts:
    1
    Dear JC:

    Thanks for a great product. Is this the place to report a cookie that I would like to see Spywareblaster block?

    The cookie is:

    Vendor:Other
    Category:Data Miner
    Object Type:File
    Size:97 Bytes

    me@cgi-bin[1].txt

    Last Activity:7-3-2003 8:06:45 AM
    Risk LevelLow
    Comment:RedSherrif Tracking Cookie
    Description:Unnamed or unclassified object

    I do not know if Spywareblaster can block it or not, but that is a cookie I get each time I visit Lucianne.com, a news site. I do not know if I am getting it directly from that site, or from a news site that gets posted there.

    Regards,

    Gregg
    Simi Valley, CA
     
  15. Don Cole

    Don Cole Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Posts:
    1
    I now have all 4 programs you mention above. My question relates to overkill. Ad-aware does not prevent as the other 3 do. I assume from your answer there is no conflict if all three are running but is it necessary to have all 3 going at the same time as I assume there is some resources being used? Also I do a lot of online gaming. Do those programs operate while I am doing that?
     
  16. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,040
    Nope - there shouldn't be any conflicts between the four programs (SpywareBlaster, SpywareGuard, Ad-Aware, and Spybot S & D).

    You don't need to keep SpywareBlaster running in the background - simply Select All, Protect Against All Checked Items, and exit the program - protection will still be enabled. (Just open it once or twice a week to check for updates, and protect against all new items.)

    You don't need to keep Spybot S & D open either. And SpywareGuard shouldn't cause any problems with gaming.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  17. heggee

    heggee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Alamogordo, NM
    Howdy All !!!

    I finally got 2.6 downloaded. :D However for some
    reason I have not been able to get the updates. I guess I answered my own question here finally, because after I downloaded it, I hit my world for my site ( which is in Flash ) and it didn't seem to bother it. I'll check it again after reboot. Man, I see about everymember here + then some have read this post looking at the numbers. Java Cool -
    Thanks alot man - I run most of your programs and to have such, " Giving To The World, " I tip my hat to you sir. " :cool:

    Hammer
     
  18. museheart

    museheart Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for all of your programs, they are great. I talked to someone at PC World, forgot the name at the moment - praising your SpywareBlaster and they told me you were going to be featured in September, I think. Guess you know that ? :D

    Have you ever seen this? AdAware catches it over and over, removes it but it comes back. I wasn't sure if this was your area of expertise or not:

     
  19. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,467
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi museheart,

    Shall we keep that discussion limited to this thread: http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=11630 ?

    TIA,

    Pieter
     
  20. museheart

    museheart Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    USA
    Good idea. :D
     
  21. Uguel707

    Uguel707 Graphic Artist

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,999
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hello!

    Since two weeks ago, I have installed "Spyblaster 2.6" and it works fine with my OS. (XP home) Thank you for the good work! :)

    Uguel
     
  22. Anna

    Anna Guest

    Do I need ALL these programs?

    Do I need to run all these programs that you mention, Pieter?

    SpywareBlaster, SpywareGuard, AdAware 6 Pro and Spybot S&D
     
  23. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    18,201
    Location:
    New England
    Re:Do I need ALL these programs?

    Hi Anna,

    Using all 4 of those programs doesn't hurt, but, if time is an issue (regarding keeping them updated and all that), then you certainly could pick and choose.

    For myself, I use SpywareBlaster and Spybot S&D only out of those four. AdAware and Spybot are very similar, of course, and pretty much interchangeable, in my opinion. At different times, each has been better than the other and each has found things the other did not. That's why some people run both - as a kind of a double check. But, you could just choose one of the two and use only it.

    As to SpywareBlaster and SpywareGuard, they compliment each other very well and running them together provides a lot of preventative protections, which means that AdAware and/or Spybot should find a lot less on your system if you run both.

    Here's a post that has a description of SpywareBlaster and SpywareGuard and how they are different.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=11224;start=msg72783#msg72783
     
  24. Sue

    Sue Guest

    Re:Error DeleteFile failed;Code 5

    Everytime I try to install 2.6 I get a message that says DeleteFile failed; Code 5.

    Does anyone know anything about this.
     
  25. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,040
    Re:Error DeleteFile failed;Code 5

    Did you try uninstalling any previous versions first? If yes, please proceed with the following instructions:

    1.) Reboot your computer.
    2.) Re-download the installer from http://www.wilders.org/HTMLobj-1605/spywareblastersetup.exe .
    3.) Try installing again. With any luck, it should work. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.