spyware ??

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Ineke, Nov 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ineke

    Ineke Guest

    Hallo

    Is nod32 also checked spyware ??I can not find anything about it, maby stuppid question but i like to now...

    Oh and it updates now automaticly, after i have turn on the second option in the scheduler:Automatic update after dial up connection has been establed, change the setting to look repeatedly after one hour and with the settings on lan\fixed line....Ha it works.....

    Thanks ineke
     
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  3. Ineke

    Ineke Guest

    Thanks for the link....
     
  4. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Youe Welcome.:)

    Blackspear would probably be able to give u more information on Nod's spyware detection capabilities. ;)



    snowbound
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Thanks for that Snowy, I'll be sending a little of our summer heat to melt that white stuff around your house, you'll have a swamp in no time at all, just what you always wanted ;) :D

    Ineke, as of version 2.12.1 Potentially Dangerous Applications have been added, this function within the On-demand scanner detects Spyware, Adware, Dialers etc...

    It is a fairly new area for Eset, so I think they will need a little time to come fully up to speed with their detection database of such things...

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers :D
     

    Attached Files:

    • PDA.gif
      PDA.gif
      File size:
      31.5 KB
      Views:
      164
  6. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    I'll take it! :D

    Swamp and all. :cool:


    snowbound
     
  7. Ineke

    Ineke Guest

    Thank you guys ,
    I had that option not putting on in my configuration.
    Now i have, so let them come hihi..

    Ineke
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
  9. Ineke

    Ineke Guest

    I shal read it right now, maby i must turn on many more :)
    Thank you for the quick reply's , it helps a lot.

    Ineke
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    My pleasure. So, are you going to join us here at Wilders?

    Cheers :D
     
  11. Ineke

    Ineke Guest

    Hi again, two little questions please ...

    That higher effinciencie mode, is that make nod32 run slower on the machine, or is that setting for something else, and the other question, by alloptions of system clicks i see "list all files" but non of them has a click in it why not ? can you maby explane that to me ?

    Thank you, now i have the right settings :)

    Ineke
     
  12. Ineke

    Ineke Guest


    Yes, i think i am going to join you here, i have still the trial, and have many antivirus programms tryd the last few weeks, but still i am going back to nod32 :), little systemresourses and very quick whit scanning.

    I like the program very much :) to bad it is in the dutch language, but i can read english very good, not writing hihi..

    Ineke
     
  13. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    See the "Note" found here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=201866


    I prefer to have Nod32 scan everything, no matter if it has an extension or not, just a we bit safer that way ;) :D

    Hope this helps…

    Cheers :D
     
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    There are quite a few Dutch members here at Wilders, you should fit in rather well...

    Cheers :D
     
  15. Ineke

    Ineke Guest


    Yes it dos help a lot thanks......:) And goodnight...
     
  16. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
    The only way NOD will detect the amount of spyware that a dedicated antispyware program like Adawre or Spybot does is for everybody to submit all the spywares they find to NOD as well as adawre etc

    I automatically submit to NOD/KAV and TDS and Ewido as well as Adaware & Spybot every file that I come across that is spyware or adware or otherwise evil

    Eset will make up their own minds about what to detect & block, like KAV do and some will be targetted and some won't. It all depends on what risk to the user the techs at Eset feel about the spyware nasties
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.