Spyware Terminator HIPS any good?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by TheMozart, Sep 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
  2. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,190
    Location:
    USA,IA
    it is very good at blocking everything which as a database of known good program along with a database of OS files that are good.
     
  3. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Does it take up a lot of RAM and resources and slows down PC operations and playing online games etc?

    And does the FREEWARE version have HIPS?
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2011
  4. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,190
    Location:
    USA,IA
    yes the free version does have hips and is disabled by default.

    its uses about 8mb of ram.
     
  5. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I installed it, but I had to UNINSTALL it because for some reason when Spyware Terminator is installed, Sandboxie won't load properly. But once I removed Spyware Terminator, Sandboxie worked perfectly again.

    So that's a big thumbs down from me for Spyware Terminator :thumbd:
     
  6. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    u could have excluded both products from each other :cautious:
     
  7. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I looked around google and apparently this Sandboxie + ST has been an issue for years, yet obviously ST haven't bothered fixing it!

    The reason I want ST is to it can protect me whilst using Sandboxie and browsing the web..so excluding it from each other defeats the purpose of having ST in the first place, right?
     
  8. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    If ur looking for a hips program den comodo hips maybe the best bet
    and i didnt understant ur second line ... if u r using sandboxie den u r already protected while browsing the net .. why/how u need st to protect while browsing net ?
     
  9. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Because Sandboxie has been letting files like .exe and .jog and .flv files to be saved into my IE temp folder..probably drive by downloads. I have lost confidence in Sandboxie..and as SB logo says, "TRUST NO PROGRAM" and that includes "DO NOT TRUST SANDBOXIE"
     
  10. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I have sandboxie for a while but still am no expert .. u can ask in this thread for any sandboxie related query
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/forumdisplay.php?f=98
    or the sandboxie forum itself , or sum1 will answer here

    And when u say it lets file save in ur temp folder they must still be sandboxed if u downloaded them through a sandboxed browser and if yes than they cant do any harm to ur pc even if they get downloaded or even if they are run
     
  11. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,190
    Location:
    USA,IA
    ST has looking into fixing it but havnt had any success at fixing it. even the Dev of SB has has issue of what would be the issue.
     
  12. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Are you serious or are you joking around? :blink:
     
  13. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Hey, hur mor du?

    I am 100% serious! The SB logo says, "TRUST NO PROGRAM", which includes SB itself...that's why I never trust SB completely either as it has let me down a few times now, by allowing driveby downloads and some .exe and .jpg and .flv files to be saved OUTSIDE the SB.:thumbd:

    It was lucky Hitman Pro alerted me of the infected files in the IE Temp folder.
     
  14. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    So u can keep on scanning stuff after downloading with HMP .. hillarious !
     
  15. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Mozart did you do a full system scan with ST and see if you could allow Sandboxie into the trusted programs list?
     
  16. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I did a full scan, but didn't see any option about that. Suffice to say, I have removed ST because I read on google that heaps of people have trouble running SB after installed ST.
     
  17. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    hahahahahahaha! lol
    man, that's funny, then why bother trusting ST?
    As long as you have Sandboxie properly configured you should be safe. ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.