Spyware Terminator 2012 Version 3.x Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by Mops21, Aug 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
  2. Cloud

    Cloud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    1,030
    Location:
    United States
    ST 2012 now includes F-Prot for (optional) antivirus integration.
     
  3. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Wait F-Prot for free? So they totally removed the ClamAV engine?
     
  4. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    693
    Location:
    Hogwarts.
    I just installed ST and from what I saw you need to upgrade to the paid version for the av protection. I chose to add av protection in 'settings' and up popped a box to upgrade.

    There's also an advert for rx reg cleaner which If I read correctly is a rougue?
     
  5. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
    Nope, F-Prot is not free:

    http://i.imgur.com/vVWo7.png
     
  6. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    F-Prot AV is for the paid, and Clam AV will be in the free.
     
  7. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    I beta tested it for a while. its not to bad. with the paid av and hips its strong.
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i will prefer the paid version;)
     
  9. Crinie

    Crinie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Posts:
    22
  10. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    No it is not crippled, ST Free is the same as it is now. but there will be a Paid that is better. ie F-Prot. They are working out pricing and are subject to change depending how the public responds.
     
  11. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
  12. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    interesting..Howz this on system resources
     
  13. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    A 3 PC antivirus/HIPS which runs F-Prot for $60 is fair? Is this even the latest version of F-Prot's engine? I don't see anyone paying the same or more for ST when they could get a top tier av for the same price or less. I think the big problem is who is going to give their credit card numbers to a company with the history of ST?
     
  14. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    I'm guessing its not installing in SBIE because of its HIPS.
     
  15. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hey cheater87, ST is not installing properly and it gives an error at the
    end because it requires a driver to be installed. SBIE does not allow
    drivers to be installed in the sandbox.

    Bo
     
  16. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,485
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    My impressions after a few minutes using the free version:
    - it looks that ST now installs and updates faster
    - I think I can to describe the program as an "angel" whit a nice appearance, but "sexless" in functionality (even I can say "castrated")
    - function something less - is mainly about the possibilities and HIPS settings...earlier you could to manage the various components of the guards, now looks like no influence on it
    - scan is not so fast and somehow less clear
    - that was "funny" when I tried to run Firefox while quick scan...the system was totally frozen and only hard reset helped
    - because ST was runing on the virtual system - went to hell after reboot
    - Hmmm...I feel disappointed...but I have still version 2.8 :shifty:
    - Aha...I didn't found links to older versions on homepage - they was earlier - and I don't know why?
     
  17. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Spyware Terminator 2012 Version 3.x

    Are people who still using ST? o_O

    There are, by far, better Free programs, aren't they? o_O
     
  18. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA

    The scan will slow down if you take focus off of ST such as minimize and such. if you give focus to ST it will use more CPU and speed up the scanning.
     
  19. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Re: Spyware Terminator 2012 Version 3.x

    From what I have seen in past reviews the HIPS are quite good.
     
  20. Jose_Lisbon

    Jose_Lisbon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    245
    Location:
    Portugal
    Re: Spyware Terminator 2012 Version 3.x

    I wonder which reviews are that.
    It is a pure HIPS, "ask for everything".

    This is the last reliable review I know (if there's a new one please post).

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5CKam3HgJIc
     
  21. Re: Spyware Terminator 2012 Version 3.x

    Yes, indeed.
     
  22. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I used it for a short period in the past before I terminated the terminator.IMO the hips can be strong and chatty, but thats only a portion of the program the rest of it was weak.

    Refine the hips more and through Avast free in would be nice,then probably be a darn good program.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2011
  23. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,485
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    I have used ST because of two main reasons:
    - in the past there was not many security apps like anty-spyware or HIPS/BB in my own language - Polish...honestly saying only 3...Spyware Terminator, ThreatFire and System Safety Monitor (about SSM I didn't know yet) - so I have chosen ST
    - there was many opinion that ST is efficient, strong anty-spyware and HIPS...what was HIPS? - I had to learn and try.
    I have liked older version which I used only like HIPS and accidentaly like a anty-spyware after I made first scan and determinated WL and BL of software. I liked the simplicity and clarity of ST in the functions and options...I liked its popups alerts and learned what they mean and how they affect the system.
    Older version offered advanced settings of 8 shields: Startup Shield, Service & Driver Shield, Web Browser Add-ons Shield, File Extensions Shield, Winsock Shield, IE Settings Shield, System INI Shield and Hosts Shield. They offered also menu from sys-tray where you could choose "work mode" - deny, normal, allow, ask. ST could...maybe can...automatically detect some installation and continue work whitout alerts.
     
  24. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    Version 3 still offers all the shields that version 2.8 has. just a new interface and better protection, Ie F-prot, They are also using the most current version of the engine.

    With the F-prot engine now allows ST to scan archives using F-prot and ST databases.

    as for Sandboxie and ST, both Davs have been talking trying to fix the issue.
     
  25. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    it's good:thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.