Spyware Guard no text

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Gideon, Nov 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gideon

    Gideon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Hello, I run XP Pro/SP2, IE6.
    Have installed Spywareguard 2.2. I have the problem with the icon disappearing inthe systray. But it is running the 2 processes in Task Mgr. Kind of silly that it has to be installed to have the icon or I have to check the task mgr,but for now I will. But when the icon is there and I can open the program there is no text in the graphic see image. I'm not sure if the program is functioning properly. Should I just uninstall it again and leave it off my PC? Don't know what to do. Thanks
    http://img517.imageshack.us/img517/60/scr112105small8vv.th.png

    http://img517.imageshack.us/img517/60/scr112105small8vv.png
     
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Re: Spy Guard no text

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=40400



    snowbound
     
  3. Gideon

    Gideon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Re: Spy Guard no text

    hello again. i've checked what you recommended. I understand it and tried,but it didn't work. it led me to figure what else is affecting the display and i have a program called Windowblinds,latest versision. I've run it for 2 years. When I unload it I get the text back. Also I use Spywareblastre and EULAlyzer and it doesn't affct them.o_O
     
  4. GreenReaper

    GreenReaper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    SpywareGuard UI invisible due to incorrect use of system colours

    Hi there,

    We've had a support query from our user regarding your software, and it reveals an issue in SpywareGuard that I think deserves fixing.

    The user's original thread was:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=108018

    They were referred to:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=40400

    Another thread showing the problem:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=13009

    It should not be necessary for users to change their text colour if it is on an appropriate background colour. The problem is that SpywareGuard is not using the correct colours. If you use the button text colour, you should use the button (3D) background colour on the background. SpywareGuard is forcing a white background, and so when people have white text, it breaks.

    If you want to force a background, you should force the text to be black as well. Alternatively, use the 3D face/button background colour for your window's background (note that this is not the same as the window background colour, which is similarly paired with the window text colour).

    I hope this helps improve your software. Freeware tools that help people are good to have. :)

    Best regards,
     
  5. Gideon

    Gideon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Re: Spy Guard no text (SOLUTION)

    Here is the solution to the above problem. My thanks to Laurence Parry at Stardock Development. I and other users of SpyWare Guard would appreciate the Javacool teams attention to this matter. Thank you all for your time and efforts toward a solution!:D
    ------------------------------

    The problem that you are experiencing is due to Spywareguard's use of the button text colour for text on those parts of their windows without using the appropriate background. As you can see on other windows, Blackcomb uses white text for buttons, with a blue background. The problem is that Spywareguard is ignoring this background colour, assuming that the button text is dark, and always forcing a white background. This causes the text to be white on white, and thus invisible.

    It is not necessary to use WindowBlinds to see this problem. If you set the Windows Classic theme, and then go into Display Properties/Appearance and velopmentclick the Advanced button, you will be able to edit the system colours. Click the OK text on the button in the preview, change the lower (text) colour from black to white, and then press the real OK button and apply, and you should see the text disappear from Spywareguard.

    Thank you for making us aware of this problem. I will drop a note to Javasoft - I suggest you also forward them this mail let them know that this is the cause of your problem. For now, I suggest you use other skins, or edit Blackcomb to have a slightly different button text colour.

    To edit the skin requires SkinStudio to be installed - click "Edit in Skinstudio" on the WindowBlinds Configuration dialog, click "Miscellaneous/Colours" on the left, then "3D controls/Text - System Button" on the right, and change the colour as desired; then save the skin and press Shift+F9 to apply it (or "Apply changes" from WindowBlinds).

    I hope this answers your question. If there is anything else we can help you with, let us know.
     
  6. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: Spy Guard no text

    @ GreenReaper,

    I have merged your thread into the thread concerning this matter and the one you linked to given the fact there is no need to have a separate thread from what the user has already posted. I chose to do it this way instead of closing your thread in case some of the info you shared might be useful to Javacool the programmer.

    Regards,
    Bubba
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.