Spyware Guard Error

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by MakoFusion, Jul 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MakoFusion

    MakoFusion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Posts:
    130
    Having a bit of trouble with SpywareBlaster. This message comes up after 2 minutes of booting into Windows. (98SE)

    [move]Run-time error '429':

    ActiveX component can't create object[/move]

    SGMAIN caused an invalid page fault in
    module <unknown> at 0000:00000001.
    Registers:
    EAX=00000000 CS=017f EIP=00000001 EFLGS=00010246
    EBX=0068fa82 SS=0187 ESP=0068fa1c EBP=0068fa50
    ECX=004571e0 DS=0187 ESI=00000018 FS=47df
    EDX=817ad090 ES=0187 EDI=0068fa38 GS=0000
    Bytes at CS:EIP:
    00 00 00 00 00 01 00 16 00 d8 07 00 ff 00 00 65
    Stack dump:
    004571e0 000004a0 00000018 00000000 00000000 00008aa6 bff7363b 000004a0 00000018 00000000 00000000 8a8058a7 00000187 0068fa64 bff94407 4fbf8aa6

    Any help would this would be appriciated...

    Thanks!
     
  2. HeyPhil

    HeyPhil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Chicago, Il
    Hi, Whoever can help! I am getting the same error message as Mako Fusion. "Runtime Error '429'. Activex controls cannot create object." This is followed by the standard, "This program<meaning sg> has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down. If this problem persists, contact the program vendor."
    >Java, I really trust your work, and I know that even my jurrasic era machine (1998 IBM workstation) will not be hurt by your programs. However, I was hoping that SpyGuard would be able to protect my machine from hostile takeover (question: does that make spyware a form of internet piracy?)
    >I realize that this cannot be an inherent trait in the program or it would have been addressed already. Is it possible that something in Windows 98 (US version, I believe it is the one intended for home use) is incompatible with SpyGuards control settings, or that the program is simply too much for my memory card to run on its own? Or have I already got too much stuff running without SpyGuard? Any answer might help.
     
  3. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
  4. Reverend Ike

    Reverend Ike Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    HeyPhil - I have SpywareGuard running on an old machine with Win98se and 64MB RAM without any problems, so I don't think there's an incompatibility between SG and Windows 98 ...
     
  5. HeyPhil

    HeyPhil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Chicago, Il
    Thank you (again), Javacool,
    Once again, you have put your finger on the exact problem! My machine was not running scripts right. The download on the thread you indicated was perfect to correct the problem- because it replaced my version of scripts altogether. SpywareGuard now works, alongside BrowserHijackBlaster and my Virus Scanner (Thank you, Paul, for pointing me to a good freeware virus scanner- I chose AVG anti virus).
    >Douglas Adams used to joke about the state of programming companies in the UK, claiming that they could not even be mentioned in the same sentence with the large American programming outfits. You have proved to me that this is not because of a lack of ability or chutzpa on the part of British programmers. A thousand thanks, and hopes for a parasite/virus/trojan free machine,
    Phil
     
  6. greyfox

    greyfox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Posts:
    577
    Location:
    Washington State USA
    This worked for me, no more error message. I'm running Windows 98se, 64 MB ram BTW.

    Download the current Microsoft Scripting Runtime from the Microsoft site (as of this writing, 5.6 was the latest version)

    Go here to go to the Microsoft Scripting site and download and install the latest version for your operating system and language. http://www.microsoft.com/scripting

    Download and install the latest version

    Re-run SpywareGuard and see if you still get the error
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.