Spyware Blaster

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by sandan, Dec 29, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sandan

    sandan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    7
    Hi, I am new to this site and need help with Spyware Blaster. However I do not know if I am in the right section. Here goes. I d/l 2.01 the other day and when I go to check for updates I get a error message that the server is down. Can someone shed some light on this problem. Would appreciate any help.

    sandan
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Sandan,

    Welcome at Wilders. Your question is in the right section now. No problem. :)

    Are you behind a proxy of any kind?
    Did you try a few times ?
    Maybe you tried at the time a new version was being uploaded.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  3. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Sandan,

    I got this comment from you by mail.

    I´m afraid I can´t help you so I´ll leave this one up to javacool. You are right about the update from the 28th. There was another one today.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  4. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Being on AOL shouldn't make any difference - you should still be able to update successfully.

    Do you have any type of firewall application that might be blocking access to the net?

    Also, if you could do a quick test in your browser, I would greatly appreciate it: Browse to here: http://www.wilderssecurity.com/spyblasterversion.txt - can you view the text file?

    Could you also reproduce the error and take a screen shot of it and post it here? (The Print Screen key on your keyboard and MS Paint works very well for this, if you did not know how to do it.)

    TIA. :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  5. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Sandan,

    Could you try using the Reply button in stead of the report to moderator ;) Thnx in advance.

    Start quote

    Did the test as you requested, and read the text fine. I do not
    have any firewall software. Here is the error message. "There was an error getting update
    information file from server. Server may be unavailable, or there may be a conflict with
    firewall software on your pc. The update file may have also been corrupted during download.
    Please try again soon". This is the message I get when checking for updates.

    End quote

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  6. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    No firewall software?Are you using Windows xp operating system?The reason I ask is cuz there is a native firewall on xp systems.
     
  7. sandan

    sandan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    7
    No I have Windows 98. Wonder if I should not delete the program and start over. I understand there have been 2 updates since the 28th. Thanks Sandan
     
  8. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    It is worth a try. I would recommending downloading it again as well. Maybe your first download was slightly corrupted.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  9. sandan

    sandan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks, Will report back. Appreciate your help. Sandan
     
  10. KeithS

    KeithS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    My armchair in the UK
    Hi,

    I'm new to this Forum as well so forgive me if I'm in the wrong thread. I'm also having a problem updating v2.0.1 of Spyware Blaster.

    I have 3 PC's at home, all running Win98 and VET anti-virus software (which is up to date), connected to a cable modem internet service via a Netgear Firewall Router. I donwloaded Spyware Blaster the other day and have installed it on 2 of machines so far. I have had great difficulty in updating the application, however, one machine did update OK after many attempts. I am loath to install on machine 3 as machine 2 will not update.

    On machine 2 the application is loaded and is working. This I know as I am no longer seeing the adverts that I used to. The Database info displayed is; Date 12/15/02; Items 59. When I click on "Check for Updates" I find that 2 items (dated 12/29/02) are displayed. I click on "Download updates" and get a message displayed briefly which says that the downlaod may take a few minutes. This is followed by a "Spyware Blaster Updater" window which says "Update Downloaded Successfully!! Loading new definitions..". I click the OK button and get returned to the main "Spyware Database" window, this window has not changed and has no new items added to it. I close the application and on re-opening I find that the "Spyware Database" window is empty. The only way I have found to restore the settings is to re-install the application.

    I have tried changing the Firewall settings, I even switched it off for a while, but this has made no difference. Is there any help you can give me in getting this update to work please as I am now at a loss as to what is going wrong.

    Thanks (in anticipation)
     
  11. sandan

    sandan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    7
    Hie Pieter, Just downloaded spyware again. There is no change unable to check for updates. Where do we go from here, short of eliminating the program altogether. Thanks

    Sandan :'(
     
  12. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Sandan and KeithS,

    Let´s wait for Javacool to have another look. I´m sure he´ll come up with something. :)

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  13. sandan

    sandan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    7
    Hi Pieter, will do, thanks. sandan
     
  14. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    We have two different problems here, but both of you should be able to download the latest definitions manually from
    here: http://www.wilders.org/HTMLobj-1540/sbdatabase.dtb
    and here: http://www.wilders.org/HTMLobj-1541/sbinfo.dtb

    Save both of those files into your SpywareBlaster directory so you can have the latest protection while I look into this more.

    Also, could you both try something for me?
    Follow the instructions here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=5169 for downloading and installing the MSINET.OCX file, and let me know if that fixes either of your problems (after a reboot).

    In addition, (if the above does not work) if both of you could e-mail me at javacoolsoftware@hotmail.com with an e-mail address I could send attachments to, I'll send off a potential fix (which I believe will fix one of your problems, if not both). :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  15. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    If you could try the steps in my post above, I would greatly appreciate it.

    Also, however, could you try the following on that one machine that does not want to update?
    -Install SpywareBlaster
    -Check for Updates
    -Download all updates
    -Close the program
    -Re-open the program (if your problem repeats, the database list will be empty)
    -Check for Updates
    -Try downloading all updates
    -Close and re-open the program if they don't appear after download

    Could you tell me if this method works? (After following the steps in my post above, of course.)

    TIA. :)

    -Javacool

    P.S. The more I think about this, the more it seems to be related, possibly, to a wrong version of the MSINET.ocx control on your systems. If both of you could also browse to C:\Windows\SYSTEM, search for the "MSINET.OCX" file, right-click on it and show properties - check to see if the version is not 6.0.88.62. Thanks again.
     
  16. KeithS

    KeithS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    My armchair in the UK
    Hi,

    I have tried the options you mentioned with the following results:

    1)
    -Install SpywareBlaster
    -Check for Updates
    -Download all updates
    -Close the program
    -Re-open the program (if your problem repeats, the database list will be empty)
    -Check for Updates
    -Try downloading all updates
    -Close and re-open the program if they don't appear after download

    No change, the Spyware Database window remained empty. I had to re-install the program.

    2) Download and install MSINET.OCX and MSCOMCTL.OCX. Did this and the Spyaware Database window still remained empty after doing the updates. By the way, my old MSINET.OCX was v6.00.8862 and MSCOMCTL.OCX was v6.00.8177. The newly installed files are both at v6.00.8862.

    3) Downloaded the files suggested from HTMLobj-1504 & HTMLobj-1541. This worked and my Spyware Blaster program now shows the Date as 12/29/02 and the Items as 75. This is the same as that displayed by the machine that eventually did update (machine 1).

    I shall send my email address as requsted.

    K.
     
  17. sandan

    sandan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    7
    Hi Sandan here

    Do you create a new folder for these files under windows system or can you put them in the spyware folder. Thanks

    san
     
  18. KeithS

    KeithS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    My armchair in the UK
    Hi Sandan,

    For the MSINET and MSCOMCTL files I created 2 folders and downloaded each zip file into the relevant folder. I then extracted the 2 files into the same folder and ran the install function from the inf file as suggested. During the install I got a message saying that a file couldn't be found, I simply used the browse option to point the install to the relevant new folder I created and the install completed OK.

    For the 2 files from wilders.org, I copied them into my C:/Program Files/SpywareBlaster folder replacing the old files with the new ones. This updated the program OK.

    Hope this helps.

    K.
     
  19. sandan

    sandan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    7
    Hi Javacool

    My version is 6.00.8169


    Sandan
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.