Spyware Blaster. Spy Sweeper

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by hogndog, Jun 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hogndog

hogndog Registered Member

o_O I was told it is safe to run anti virus programs side by side. I believe the term used is layering. This sounded good "more is better" or is it The first line off defence already in place was Spy Sweeper. Spyware Blaster to follow, and then things got rather hectic. I started to do the updates in the Blaster and the Spy Sweeper asked permission to open access or block it, I stopped the download because the Spy Sweeper said it would change security settings. My question is, was I right to stop the download or should I have continued? :)

2. snowbound

snowbound Retired Moderator

I'm no expert but i would say that is wrong unless one is running resident and the other is on demand.

SWB and SS have had issues in the past as mentoned here,

https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=113841

Also, overlap is sometimes an issue.

snowbound

3. hogndog

:) Thank you, I'll look through your information* This much I know, the Spy Sweeper was the only security my computer knew to protect my computer.

4. snowbound

snowbound Retired Moderator

You're welcome. :)

snowbound

5. Tarq57

Tarq57 Registered Member

SpywareBlaster does change the security settings. That is what it is supposed to do. Once they are changed those changes will prevent connections from known bad sites. Having done that, the program uses no resource at all, and confers valuable (blacklist-based) immunity from certain nasties.SpywareBlaster has been part of my system for 2 or 3 years, and is never a problem.

Allow the download.

From trying Webroot once, and from other stuff I've read about it, it's a high maintenance piece of kit, and personally I wouldn't try it again.

A bit of clarification for you about "layering" (or perhaps more the terminology you're using.)