Spyware Blaster 3.3 hangs when trying to update

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by aikox2, Mar 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aikox2

    aikox2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    I just installed 3.3 (uninstalled 3.2 first), and when I try to manually update, the program hangs. Itried to uninstall and reinstall again, and same thing happens. I never had any problems with 3.2.

    Any ideas? Am I the only one who cannot run update? I am using Win2K
    Thanks,
    Scott
     
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Hi aikox2. :)

    Welcome to Wilders.

    Did u try the one of the other methods of downloading in the Updates > Options, alternatives?



    snowbound
     
  3. aikox2

    aikox2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    The only option that seems to apply is the direct internet connection, which is the one I am trying to use.
    Scott
     
  4. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    What other security software are you running? Specifically:

    -What anti-virus

    -What firewall

    -What other anti-spyware

    Thanks! :)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  5. lappen

    lappen Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Posts:
    39
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    I had the same problem with 3.3
    Running Win 2000 in a corporate environment so I can’t change the firewall and so on.

    I had to use the Alternative Download Method for the update to work
     
  6. aikox2

    aikox2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    I have Sygate personal FW installed, but it never asked me whether I wanted to allow 3.3 access. I had no problem setting up 3.2.

    What alternate download option would work? I don't see why This prog. should be any different than any other prog that asks for access through Sygate.
    Thanks for feedback and suggestions.
    Scott
     
  7. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    Would you mind doing a quick test for me?

    Could you temporarily disable Sygate completely, and then try updating SpywareBlaster and let me know if it works?

    (Don't forget to re-enable Sygate when you're done.)

    That way, if it still doesn't work, we can at least rule out a problem with Sygate. :)

    Thanks,

    -Javacool
     
  8. James Skala

    James Skala Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    I have had the same problem since installing version 3.3. I suppose I can un-install and revert to 3.2, but will I be able to continue to receive updates? seems I'll be told to re-download 3.3. I'm using win2k behind a corporate filewall.

    I tried all combinations of Alternate method, but nothing works.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2005
  9. aikox2

    aikox2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    As per your request, I disabled Sygate, but I still cannot update. The app hangs, and when I try to close it I am told the program is not responding.
    Thanks,
    Scott
     
  10. aikox2

    aikox2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    alternate download method seems to work.
    Thanks
    Scott
     
  11. James Skala

    James Skala Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    This may help.

    I looked up my Proxy Server address and port in ControlPanel/InternetOptions/Connections/LanSettings.

    I copied that value into the SWB Update/Options screen, and with Alternate Method unchecked it seems to work.

    It doesn't work however if Alternate Method is checked.

    %{
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2005
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.