Spyware Blaster 3.1 BUG - Backing Up Host File

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by war59312, May 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. war59312

    war59312 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    U.S.A
    Hey,

    Just found a bug in Spyware Blaster 3.1 when you try to back up your host file.

    This error occurs when your host file is set to read only, if you have used spybot search and destory to lock the host file, or if you have set Zone Alarm to lock the host file.

    So when you click to backup the host file in Spyware Blaster 3.1 you get that error and when you click OK Spyware Blaster 3.1 crashes.

    Instead Spyware Blaster should recover from the error and notify the user that the host file is ready only.

    You should also check if the file is read only before hand and notify the user before trying to backup the host file when it is read only.

    Take Care,
    Will
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: May 24, 2004
  2. war59312

    war59312 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    U.S.A
    So can you please acknowledge?

    Thanks,
    Will
     
  3. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Yep - sorry for the late reply, and thanks for the bug report! :)

    (Out of curiousity, did this error occur when you were using an account that didn't have full privileges to that HOSTS file? Thanks.)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  4. dj twente

    dj twente Guest

    HELP!!

    When I try to reach the website of Javacool's spyware-blaster, the browser can't find the server. Is there a problem on your site, or is it on mine??

    All other website's work fine here, so there's nothing wrong with my computer.

    Also, updating with the older version 2.6.1 failed, due to the same server-fail.

    I WANT 3.1 (sniff)

    Greets DJ Twente
     
  5. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    DJ,

    Just take your pick over here

    ...and please open your own thread next time - thanks in advance ;)

    regards.

    paul
     
  6. war59312

    war59312 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    U.S.A
    I have full privileges. I'm the network admin. :) Guess the error is a little misleading. :p

    Take Care,
    Will
     
  7. war59312

    war59312 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    U.S.A
    Whooo thanks for fixing. Working pefectly in 3.2. :)
     
  8. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    :D Glad to hear it. Thanks again for your bug report!

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.