Spysweeper 5 to Superantispyware.

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Badcompany, Aug 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Hello Forum,
    Thinking of changing from SS-5 to SAS, has anyone switched, and are they happy they did.
    Badcompany.
     
  2. muf

    muf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    926
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    I use both. I use SAS for realtime protection and SS for on-demand scanning. Personally, i find SS to be too much of a resource hog to run realtime. SAS is very light in comparison. Since i've been using SAS it is the only one of the two application's to find anything, and they were only tracking cookies. I've been using SAS about 4 months now and if i was asked to drop one of the two then it would be SS.

    muf
     
  3. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Hi Muf,
    Thanks for your reply, I have just downloaded SAS Pro, and will try for 15 day's.I am getting p*ssed off with the problems with SS5.
    Badcompany.:thumb:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 11, 2006
  4. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I switched and am glad.
    Jerry
     
  5. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    SAS is an excelelnt piece of software,if your concerned about ads and stuff than go for super-adblocker which contains SAS as well.
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    I am another person thinking of switching because SS 5 uses way to much resourse in real time.
     
  7. b00sfuk

    b00sfuk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    UK
    I switched recently, I like SAS a lot - do it
     
  8. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Hello Boy's,
    Thanks for all your reply's, I think i will be saying good bye to SpySweeper, And hello to Superantispyware.
    Badcompany.:thumb:
     
  9. lu_chin

    lu_chin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    294
    I also dropped my CounterSpy and switched to SAS recently.
     
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i cant belive how much resourse ss 5 uses i even hate opening it to check for updates cos it is so slow in doing that. i might try prevx or superantispyware
     
  11. Caratacus

    Caratacus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Australia
    Me too. I was amazed at CS's really heavy resource usage. My computer is running much smoother now. SAS seems very good.
     
  12. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I think that you taken a very good decision, because SpySweeper and SpywareDoctor are a resources hoghers...

    SUPERAntiSpyware have a very good detection, very good malware removal, and use much less resources than the above...
     
  13. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    yer im in the process of replacing the two resourse hogs i got f-secure internet secuirty 2006 and spysweeper.
     
  14. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    Webroot should re-design the way the shields interact. Implementing the shields is a good idea, but they may need an overhaul on how the shields work. I am lucky to have SS 4.5 and 5 working with no hangs or BSOD, but I can feel the resource usage "power" of the 13 shields. They should try to refine the existing shields before adding more shields.
     
  15. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    When you guys are referring to SAS are you referring to the free or pro version when replacing Spysweeper 5?
     
  16. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Both.
     
  17. angus49

    angus49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Hudson,Florida - USA
    SAS in, SS out. Didn't even wait for my SS subscription to run out in October. Also dropped SD and am using my TMAS as an on demand scanner only, and only until it runs out. The nice thing is, at least for now you can get a second copy of SAS Pro for only $9.95 and a lifetime subscription for only $9.95 instead of $14.95 per year. GREAT DEAL!:thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.