SpyShelter Firewall questions

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by buckshee, Feb 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. buckshee

    buckshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    A couple of days ago I installed SpyShelter Firewall and so far I really like it but then I am somewhat of a novice when it comes to firewalls.
    I did notice after installation that the Windows 7 firewall was still on and I am confuswed as to whether this is correct as SpyShelter FW seems to work okay with the Win 7 FW turned off. Does SpyShelter Firewall replace the Windows 7 firewall or does it use it by enhancing it.

    Any positive or negative comments would be appreciatted about this firewall. It certainly doesn't slow down my computer. I have it set for `Auto Allow - Medium security"

    Thanks .
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2012
  2. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    I'll let the experts help you with your other questions but you should only have one firewall active at a time.

    Close the Windows FW while using SpyShelter's firewall.
     
  3. buckslayr

    buckslayr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    I asked the developer the same question. They told me that it was my choice because the SpyShelter FW was designed to work alongside Windows FW.
     
  4. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    I knew I should have kept my mouth shut. :oops:
     
  5. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Good to know. :thumb:
     
  6. buckslayr

    buckslayr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    No problem. I didn't know either, that's why I emailed them to ask. So far I haven't noticed any conflict between the two.
     
  7. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    The CfosSpeed Firewall, Avast Firewall and SpyShelter Firewall work in conjunction of Windows Firewall.

    Those which don't work in conjunction of Windows Firewall, during installation they automatically turn off the Windows Firewall.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  8. Heimdall

    Heimdall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    176
    Unfortunately, they don't work together at all. If you set Windows firewall to require rules for outbound connections, then run an application - say firefox - for which no rule exists, you'll get an alert or two from Spyshelter, but when you try to connect, it will be blocked.

    Conversely, if you allow oubound connections in Windows firewall, but create an explicit block rule for an application, it has no effect. Spyshelter creates it's own rules and overrides those of the Windows firewall.

    I'd say, if you want to use this firewall, disable Windows firewall first. Running two firewalls together is really quite silly.
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2012
  9. buckshee

    buckshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    I can't believe how bad their support is - despite their hype. I emailed spyshelter support twice over 10 days and got no replies. I sent them a pricing inquire asking if their price had VAT included as I live in Nth America and should be exempt. Instead of telling me they refered me to Pllimus who have no apparent method for asking a presales question. I told SpyShelter this, they didn't bother replying to that either. Hummm

    I like their firewall but I think I will buy some-one elses if I can't rely on support from these guys
     
  10. buckslayr

    buckslayr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    That's really too bad. I've had nothing but great response from the developer. They were prompt with pricing questions as well as technical support. Don't give up on them!
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2012
  11. buckshee

    buckshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    That company is unbelievable - they gave a useless answer to one email of 6. I'm not bothering with them any more. Hate to think what would happen if I bought their software and had a problem. I'll buy elsewhere
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.