SpyCop V7.0 Beta updater.exe F/P

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by spy1, Jan 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    F:\Program Files\Microsoft\updater.exe - probably unknown NewHeur_PE virus [7]

    This is a legitmate update exe.

    Sample submitted to samples@eset.com Pete
     
  2. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    hmmm...
    Do u have your updater for Ms in Program Files?

    Perhaps this is due to the new AH added a day ago. It will be fixed soon. ;)
     
  3. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    The exe in question has nothing to do with Microsoft, it's the update module for SpyCop's V.7.0 Beta (and that folder is where it's supposed to be).

    But thank you anyway. Pete
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    No, why the heck should some 3rd party program be located in folder named Microsoft unless it wants to mask out from being deleted?
    Not to mention this Microsoft folder isn't even there by default so it must be created by this program. I'd avoid it just because of this.
    I don't understand why people don't stick to proven tools like SpyBot and Ad-Aware...o_O
     
  5. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    Well, yes RejZoR! That was strange for me also....that folder Microsoft.
    Spy1 you'd better try Ad-Aware or SpySweeper, or SpyBot(which is free). ;)
     
  6. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi pykko and RejZoR,

    SpyCop is a fine and completely legitimate program.
    Its files are put in what-you-might-call non-standard places.
    Usually with a new version that place is different.
    Those who use for example a file-integrity-checker know where they are put.
    Pete is a long time user of SpyCop (and so am I), and I do consider Pete as the SpyCop-expert of this board.

    BTW: I myself don't have the Beta version of SpyCop.
    I hope that Eset will look at this as Pete asked, and correct it.
     
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    But why on earth does it creates folder here:
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft\

    Is it MS product? I know it isn't. I don't have any Microsoft folder in Program Files. So WHY?
     
  8. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    Hi, FanJ! Good to see you this morning.

    RejZoR and pykko -

    "Q. Why does SpyCop default to install in xxxx location?
    Q. Why is the filename not simply spycop.exe?

    A. Some unethical spyware companies are developing code to crash privacy protection software such as SpyCop. We will periodically change the installation directory and program filename to prevent being crashed by Spy programs that locate spy detectors based on this information."

    (From this page: http://spycop.com/faq.htm ).

    My second post in this thread indicated that neither the folder or anything to do with Microsoft were related to the problem with the F/P:

    Hope this answers your concerns. Pete
     
  9. Stann

    Stann Guest

    Where'd you get the beta?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.