SpyBotS&D beta update question

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by marti, Oct 2, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    I saw this notice: http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=3982

    I think I'm running "plain ole" version 1.0 of Spybot S&D. However, I have no idea if I have a released version or if it a beta version. I have always thought that I am running a beta program, as it doesn't install into the program files area. I have the program sitting in "mydocuments." Also, the method for getting updates is very cumbersome, which again makes me think I'm using "beta" software.

    If I am running a released version of the software, is there a good reason for me to install the beta version? SpyBotS&D never finds any spyware on my computer (neither does AdAware).

    thanks,
    marti
     
  2. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Yes. Patrick, time and again, has demonstrated his dedication and responsiveness to the issues of malware. Whatever he introduces is likely to be beneficial (beta terms notwithstanding).
     
  3. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Primrose,

    Sorry I didn't get back to respond before now. That answered my question. I don't want anything "calling home." Thanks for the explanation.
     
  4. @Primrose: "it will be calling home to report and some other things"...
    Do you want to insult me?

    Otherwise I'm sure that you can give proof that ANY of my betas phones home!
    And please tell me what you mean with 'some other things'.

    somehow the login doesn't store it's cookies even though I allowed it o_O had to write as a guest
     
  5. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Not to get in the middle of this, but I have not found any proof that any Spybot S & D betas "call home".

    -Javacool
     
  6. Primrose

    Primrose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,743
    Oh boy..I made a terrible mistake.

    You will forgive me please. I am beta testing three products right now and two of them are recording errors in the program and sending them back..I did not even mean for it to sound bad... "phoning home"...in beta testing this is necessary and desired..but I can see now it was a very bad choice of words even at that.

    The "some other things" has to do with the beta testers obligation to do more work to help the project in getting back other information to the developer on suggestion and preference.


    So none of what I wrote..did I even think was going to be thought of as bad....


    And now must say again I am turely sorry..for you beta products do NOT require any of that. It was my mistake and it was a busy day.

    Since it was Marti who asked the question..I looked at it quick..and knew Marti was busy..but I did not mean to imply your product was bad or to insult you at all.


    I apologize to everyone on this...and I have removed the post.

    John
     
  7. marti

    marti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Posts:
    646
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    You are digging your hole a little deeper. :D :D :D

    Why don't we just delete this complete thread? I have the answer, it's beta software.
     
  8. Primrose

    Primrose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,743
    You may do what ever you wish. I am not into playing games..but it was real.
     
  9. PepiMK

    PepiMK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Posts:
    43
    Ok, if it was just a mix-up, everything's forgiven and forgotten :)
     
  10. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    i dont know can you really call spybot beata anymore.

    i got the newest one and even the instilation now is proffestional

    it also cleans up after its predisesore.

    i think dare i say spybot with its constant up dates has even surpass AD-aware or perty darn close to it in my humble opnione
     
  11. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi Patrick and all,

    Since this whole thread obviously has caused confusion, I for one have no problems in deleting it.

    For the moment, it'll stay up.

    (accidents can happen..)

    regards.

    paul
     
  12. Primrose

    Primrose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,743
    Partick,
    The reason I did not want to delete this thread as Marti suggested... is that I do not play that game with threads that obviously have a statement in it about a PRODUCT that is false. In this case I made the statement and it was not done to be malicious.

    To just delete it all "would then be the "game"..for people have read it and now need an answer that is true.


    Thanks,

    John
     
  13. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    thats ok paul im always confused lol=)
     
  14. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK John,

    Thread stays up. I'll close it within days, if there's no objection ;).

    regards.

    paul
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.