Spybot-search & destroy 1.4 is finally here offical version

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by chaos16, Jun 1, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
  2. AvianFlux

    AvianFlux Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Posts:
    237
    Did they fix the HOSTS file false-positive issue present in the beta releases?
     
  3. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825

    Not sure, I just found out about this on dslreports. I will install and report back regarding the hosts file issue.

    Jag

    EDIT: Scratch my original edit post. I rebooted and scanned again, it was back to normal scan speed for me (which was sorta slow, but I use hpguru's HOSTS file).

    And yes, its giving off some FP's (imo) out of his hosts file as well. :doubt:

    Double click on piccy to view full size Spybot scan results.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2005
  4. TeMerc

    TeMerc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    PHX. AZ.
    Installation method, recommended by Donna at Calendar of Updates:


    • 1. Undo immunization
      2. If SDHelper and TeaTimer are enabled, deactivate them first.
      3. If Opera Browser is installed, de-select "Opera Immunity" protection.
      4. Uninstall old version of Spybot S&D
      5. Reboot

      5a. Optional step: If you want to completely remove the all and old registry entries of the old version of Spybot S&D, get the registry file from the forum or get it directly from the website. Save it to your desktop where you can find it easily. Simply merge the reg file to the registry.

      6. Install Spybot S&D 1.4

    Original Link
     
  5. TeMerc

    TeMerc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    PHX. AZ.
    Once again, from Donna at COU.

    After you installing Spybot Search & Destroy v1.4, do the following:
    • * Update the program
      * Allow Spybot S&D to immunized your Internet Explorer
      * If Opera Browser is installed, select "Opera Immunity"
      * Don't forget to select "Enable Blocking of Bad Address in Internet Explorer
      * If you want Spybot Search & Destroy to detect all items that it can detect, read this.
      * Configure the settings
      * Run a scan!
    Original Link
     
  6. hadi

    hadi Guest

    Hi all
    I'm confused. Over 8 months and neither v1.3 nor the new v1.4 find any thing. I used it on daily basis and it always salutes me with "Congratulations! No immediate threats were found"
     
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    So that's a bad thing? o_O
     
  8. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    to make spybot scan faster, minimize it to the task bar. i think i first read about this at Calendar of Updates' site. i haven't used spybot for awhile, but it diffinately worked with the versions that were out a few months ago, not sure about these newer versions though o_O
     
  9. AvianFlux

    AvianFlux Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Posts:
    237
    I kinda suspected that might still be the case. Thanks for the feedback. :)

    I'll stick with 1.3 for the time being.

    Later!

    AF
     
  10. hadi

    hadi Guest

    Hi
    Not saying that, but after 8 months I'm thinking there might be some thing wrong preventing it from detecting. Thanks
     
  11. TeMerc

    TeMerc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    PHX. AZ.
    Found this posted over at COU by roddy32.

    It seems there is an issue with regards to SpywareBlaster after following the install instructions as listed above. Some have found, most all, that several items in the 'restricted zone' protection have remained unticked. With me it ws only 4, and others more. But its an issue, so I wanted to alert everyone.

    COU thread
    And a thread from C|NET forums
     
  12. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    That will always be an ongoing issue and has been around from the moment Spybot and Spywareblaster entered the Restricted Sites protection a few years back when the only kid on the block was Eric Howe's IE-Spyad. The above is one of the reasons Eric Howe's placed a comment in his ie-spyad.txt.

    IE-SPYAD text file
    So whether it's Spybot, Spywareblaster or IE-Spyad....users do need to be aware that when protection is removed from one programs database....it will most definetly effect entries in regards to the other porgrams database.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.