Spybot S&D???

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Cochise, Oct 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Don't know if this is the right place but, does anyone know why SSD isn't responding to Download please.

    I checked for update and it gives "Updated Directions -2003-10-10......but if I try to d/l it just freezes!!! and I have to abort it.

    Cochise. :cool:
     
  2. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I have had the occasional freeze with downloading SpyBot of late, maybe the servers become very busy?

    Could not download yesterday, but this morning( 7a.m. UK time) it was fine.

    Keep on trying.
     
  3. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Cochise,

    Have you tried some of the other servers? I had the same and changed to one of the Safer-Networking servers and then I got the update.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Thanks Blackcat,

    But it does seem to be a regular occurence as far as I'm concerned.
    Just wondered if it was something I'd said LOL.

    And having to C-A-D everytime is a bit of a Bummer, cos you never know whether it was something important.

    Do you have problems getting your head round this time difference? When I post this it will be 9.31 PM UK time but the Post will be 3.31PM!! So I wonder that, sometimes, when I post everybody is still in bedo_OLOL.

    best regards, Cochise. :cool:
     
  5. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Tch! Tch! Cheers Pieter,

    "Doh!"......Why didn't I think of that, actually I have never used that option.....ever.....

    Every day a new light gets switched on........

    Is this the place to be or what?

    Cochise. :cool: :D
     
  6. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I think so. ;)

    Pieter
     
  7. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    The USA(FXClips) mirror worked for me.
    Maybe there is just too much traffic on the European mirrors?
     
  8. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Cheers once More Pieter,

    I have never used that Option... ever.....being of a nervous disposition I try to not click things that I don't understand in case they bite!!

    I went back to S&D, clicked on Kolla de Doodad and downloaded the update in a trice.

    If there is anyone out there, like me, groping around in the 'Cyber Fog' then this is the Site for you.

    Very Best, Cochise. :cool:
     
  9. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,876
    Location:
    New England
    For me the last three (or so) "includes" updates for Spybot have been problematic like many people have said. However, each time I have found it best to just click to download the checked updates and then go and do something else. Yes, a watched download never finishes.

    Each time I've done this it has eventually downloaded fine. If you watch it and start clicking away from the Spybot window and then back to it, it looks like Spybot is hung and not responsive. But, if you leave it alone, often it will complete in time. At least that has been my experience.
     
  10. beetlejuice

    beetlejuice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    8,523
    My last 3 or 4 downloads have been slower than molasses too. Have your "Search for Updates" also been slow? Mine have. Glad to see it's not just me. Almost kind of sad it's not just me since my machine has been acting up anyway. This is getting kind of off topic but, has anyone ever had files "Locked" on the HD so that a defrag can't move them? o_O
     
  11. libbo1

    libbo1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    florida
    yep, after use i think we all have unmoveable files on the HD

    Nice avatar beetle!!! I think that was M. Keaton's best acting role!!!
     
  12. Technical

    Technical Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    Brazil
    The behavior with me was the same as LowWaterMark described. ;)
    Each download is a different story. Some works, others not, some mirrors were better than others :'(
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.