Spybot has a game?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikguy, Mar 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. erikguy

    erikguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Posts:
    236
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Did anybody else notice this game hidden within Spybot Search & Destroy?
    Too bad there aren't any other games, at least I don't think there are (hmmm....)! Or at least pictures, if you play this one you'll know what I'm talking about.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    What version of Spybot do you have? I don't have a hidden game. I use 1.3.1 TxT version.

    I just checked for updates and the only thing offered is a skin for color blind persons? That seems a bit odd. :doubt: The current definitions are over two weeks old and it is more important to offer a skin for color blind persons instead of new definitions? I don't see the point in offering any skins actually.
     
  3. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    I can't find it in 1.3....
     
  4. erikguy

    erikguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Posts:
    236
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    I think that colorblind skin update is pretty old. Probably older than the definitions file. If you just install it or set it to exclude it shouldn't show up anymore. Sorry didn't mean to get your guy's hopes up, it looks like my friend here on 1.3.1 TX doesn't have it either just on 1.4. Ooops :oops:
     
  5. BlackSwan

    BlackSwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Posts:
    104
    And how is the game played? :p I too discovered its existence by chance a while ago, but couldn't figure out how it works. o_O
     
  6. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    There is a game in spybot o_O Strange, whats the point?

    Jimbob
     
  7. erikguy

    erikguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Posts:
    236
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Apparantly you move like a knight would in chess from the first square in the corner there. Each square you uncover reveals more of the picture. You keep going until you uncover it or you can't move no more.
    That's what I was wondering myself, Jimbob and was hoping this thread could help.
     
  8. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    How do you get to it? where is it?

    Jimbob
     
  9. BlackSwan

    BlackSwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Posts:
    104
    You click the little icon next to the "title" of the window (see attached screenshot). You can open the game from any "page" of the programme. :)

    Ah! Thank you. Now I see... Heh, I'm not surprised to see this particular picture here. :p

    BTW, anyone heard the "Search & Destroy" song? (there's a link at the official Spybot site). :)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 4, 2005
  10. erikguy

    erikguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Posts:
    236
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Yes, I have now, thanks. It's pretty funny.

    As long as we got a Spybot discussion going here, does anyone know what happened to the LSP detections (see screenshot)? I don't know how long it's been this way but definitely with the latest update (March 3).
     

    Attached Files:

  11. dog

    dog Guest

  12. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    ?? ??
     

    Attached Files:

  13. BlackSwan

    BlackSwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Posts:
    104
    Uh... just checked my LSP list and it's empty, too. o_O
     
  14. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    It's an easter egg! Type "about:mozilla" in Firefox for another.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2005
  15. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    I haven't yet got that 3 march update.....will post after I do.
     
  16. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Yep.....mine are gone too now! What gives?
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    In the full 1.4 Beta2 version they have removed the LSP tab all together and relocated the 5 LSP items shown in post # 12 to different sections as of March 3 update.

    prior LSP tab entries:
    CommonName=Spybots tab
    JimmySurf=Spybots tab
    New.Net=Spybots tab
    webHancer=Spybots tab

    ShopAtHome=Hijackers tab
     
  18. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Thanks for that info Bubba!
     
  19. BlackSwan

    BlackSwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Posts:
    104
    Yes, that does explain it. Thanks for the info! :)
     
  20. erikguy

    erikguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Posts:
    236
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Does anyone know what's up with the Revisions tab? Is that stuff that will be removed upon Team Spybot's revision of the programs? Or the Possibly UnPopular Software? What's that about?
     
  21. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Anyone have an English translation for the help file for the game? The illustrations don't quite do it. :D

    Edit: I got the idea just from playing. I made 46 moves and then I think the error message is saying the game is over? I can't see another move. I backed myself into a corner I think. The game is fun.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 10, 2005
  22. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    You should be able to select Language of English via the Game and the Help file(KnightHopEN.chm) will be in English :doubt:
     
  23. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    you move the pic just the same as a knight on a chess board and uncover the picture ;)

    bigc
     
  24. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I did select English but the help file is not in English. Maybe I should try reinstalling it.
     
  25. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    You selected English when you were installing....or you selected the Language while in the Game ?
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.