Spyblaster 2.01

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by shoshin, Jan 10, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shoshin

    shoshin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Posts:
    1
    o_O
    Last week I downloaded Spyblaster and it seems to be working EXCEPT today I logged on and went to IE and found that Huntbar had taken over. I checked Spyblaster and sure enough, among all the checked items is Huntbar (actually 2 or 3 Huntbar ID's). So how did Huntbar get into my computer with Spyblaster on the job?
     
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Sometimes SpywareBlaster is only able to block components of spyware from running (SpywareBlaster is only 1 method of helping to secure your computer against ActiveX spyware - there are other spyware types, but generally ActiveX-based is seen most frequently). It is also quite possible Huntbar was not installed through a webpage, but was installed with some other program you installed recently. It could also be a new CLSID - I'll look into it.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  3. KeithS

    KeithS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    My armchair in the UK
    Hi,

    I'd ike to add this if I may. I use www.ntlworld.com as my home page. The top bar of the page contains adverts and since upgrading Spywareblaster to v2.0.1 Info Db 1/9/03 when I open IE the adverts are not blocked every time. I couldn't tell you what technical detail relates to this (CLSID means nothing to me I'm afraid) but could someone look into this. I'm concerned now as to whether or not SpywareBlaster is working properly.

    Thanks,

    Keith
     
  4. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    The ads are simply graphics files - thus they can't be blocked with SpywareBlaster. And don't worry, SpywareBlaster is functioning properly. :)

    If they were gone before, you might have simply encountered a fluke, or perhaps another program on your system was blocking them?

    EDIT: Ahah. Some of the ads are served by doubleclick, which something on your system is probably blocking. But it seems they have recently switched to a new part-time ad provider. An example beginning url is: realmedia-a592.d4p.net

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  5. KeithS

    KeithS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    My armchair in the UK
    Hi,

    Must say I'm impressed with the very quick reply, you must really be on the ball!!

    The adverts appear intermittantly which is puzzling me. I can't think of anything else on my system that may be trying to block them, I only run SpywareBlaster and Spybot - Search & Destroy. in addition to the usual Microsoft software (IE, Office etc). Maybe there is a setting in IE which sometimes blocks the adverts, I really wouldn't know (any ideas?).

    Still, you assure me that SpywareBlaster is working correctly so I will go away happy.

    Many thanks,

    Keith
     
  6. Prince_Serendip

    Prince_Serendip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Posts:
    819
    Location:
    Canada
    Re:SpywareBlaster 2.01

    :) Hi Keith S!

    Here is a link that should prove helpful to you in getting rid of those banner ads. It is freeware of course.

    AdShield


    Best regards from Larry :)

    I also use and promote SpywareBlaster and it works very well indeed. I have limited resources on my little box and Javacool's apps use very little and still get the job done.
     
  7. KeithS

    KeithS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    My armchair in the UK
    Thanks Larry.

    I'll give AdShield a whirl. I would really like to get rid of those pesky adverts completely.

    Keith.
     
  8. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
  9. KeithS

    KeithS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    My armchair in the UK
    Looking at the Read-me files for both AdShield and IE-SpyAd it would appear to me that both are needed as AdShield will get rid of the banner adverts that IE-SpyAd doesn't. Does anyone know if these applications will compliment each other or conflict with each other??

    If I have misunderstood these Read-me please put me straight, I admit to being a bit of a PC dunce :'(

    Keith
     
  10. claire

    claire Guest

    I run both with no problem at all :)

    Spy1 gave you a good advice try both and you'll be fully
    satisfied
     
  11. KeithS

    KeithS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    My armchair in the UK
    And I thought only the wife could keep me fully satisfied ;) ;) :D

    I'll run both as advised.

    Many thanks to you all.

    Keith
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.