Spy Sweeper

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by chaos16, Sep 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    I have 3 antispyware but none of them with realtime protection only spybot-search & destroy immunize feature.


    would spy sweeper give a good realtime protection for antispyware.

    look at signature for my security.

    the thing is spy sweeper only supports IE right will it support firefox any time soon? or itt already does?
     
  2. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Yes, it's a good AS, perhaps the best, has a very large database +105000 sigs, but with your setup ýou most likely wont need it if you add a hostfile and keep it updated:http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm. Online Armour could also be a choice, uses very little in terms of resources and protects the hostfile.
     
  3. controler

    controler Guest

    Hi Don

    If I remember correct, Spysweeper let's you view edit and protects the host file also.
    They all seem to have about the same protections now days, some have higher databases as you pointed out.

    controler
     
  4. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Hi controler

    Yes, but unfortunately not very large hostfiles ATM, i spoke with support and he assured me that this will be supported in a new version of SS to arrive late this month or early oct.
     
  5. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Last time I checked, Spy Swweeper not capable of handling/protecting large host file: such as Spybot, SpywareBlaster and MVPS combo. This has been bandied about here before and is supposedly due for a fix from Webroot soon.

    Good real time protection from SS.

    Hosts manager and files as above includes v useful management utility and updater.

    MSAS good and free, not sure about host file protection.

    Regards
     
  6. Chuck_IV

    Chuck_IV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Posts:
    133
    The beta of 4.5 was released yesterday.
     
  7. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Hi Chuck

    Do you have a link to the beta?
     
  8. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    i would like it if it supports firefox not only IE?
     
  9. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    i think i will buy spy sweeper.

    i quite like it i updated it and gave a full scan and it found 1 adaware and 9 cookies.

    the adaware is called winad.


    For the shield should i have the IE enabled? coz i use firefox only?


    Also i got the windows system shield enabled should i leave that enabled?

    Host shield i can't enable it is says file is to large.


    Also any new for shield to support firefox and give protection to firefox.??

    pls tell me wat to diable and wat to leave enabled for shield thnx.





    Spy sweeper 4.5 has support fro firefox?


    i really would like that. :D
     
  10. ricari

    ricari Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    Farnham, Quebec
    Here's a link:

    www.webroot.com

    If you already have your ID #, install-it on top your your version and it will accept your ID.

    If you don't have an ID #, you have a limit of 30 days to try it.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 15, 2005
  11. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    don't wanna try it yet untill i know its stable enough to use on daily use.

    BTW wat are the new feature implemented in the new version of 4.5?
     
  12. patermann

    patermann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    UK
    If you use Outlook or Outlook Express for your e-mail, these use IE to display HTML e-mail so definitely leave the shield enabled. Even if you use another e-mail program, it is probably best to leave the shield on as there are other programs (such as Windows Explorer!) that also use IE for some things.

    Aside: A few years ago, I visited the Web site of a UK PC magazine using Firefox (it was called Phoenix then) and when I next used IE for a site that wouldn't work in FF, I was horrified to find that the site had added several entries to my IE Favorites! How it did that through FF/Phoenix, I do not know but it did...

    Unless SpySweeper is significantly slowing your PC down or is using too much memory, I would recommend just leaving everything enabled.

    I believe that the new SS beta still will not handle very large hosts files and I think that Webroot have said that, because of performance issues, it never will. However, if you know where your hosts file is, you can right-click on it, select Properties and make it read-only. This is not fool-proof but will give you some protection. If you want more than that, you could look at WinPatrol which has a free version that will watch your hosts file (among other things).

    I don't know the answer to that but SpywareBlaster has Firefox support and a good thing is that it does not need to be running to do its job. Also, you already have an extended hosts file which will protect all browsers (as well as e-mail etc.). As Firefox is generally more secure than IE anyway (although unfortunately that is changing), I think that you should be reasonably protected for now.

    HTH

    patermann
     
  13. Chuck_IV

    Chuck_IV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Posts:
    133
    I don't off-hand(although someone has already posted it), as I am at work. The way I got it was I was offered it when I used the "Update software" option, from within SS 4.0. When the webpage popped up, it said I had the current version but below that it said if I'm interested in testing the new version click the link. When I did it gave me the download link and a key to use for it(the beta reports the key being good for a year from now, but I did just purchased SS the other day tho).

    So this may only be for registered owners of 4.0 so far.

    I don't know where you are located, but if you are in the US and have a Target store near you, check them out. I got Spy Sweeper for $20, on sale/closeout, from my local Target.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2005
  14. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 15, 2005
  15. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Thank you siliconman01. Yes, it seems bugfree, unfortunately it still does not support large hostfiles, despite support saying it would, only 3 days ago! :)
     
  16. Brandon

    Brandon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Posts:
    222
    Cant seem to download the beta? I am a licenced user of SpySweeper and each time I click on Update Program Button inside options tab it only tells me that I have the current version...

    Regards

    Brandon
     
  17. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Brandon O - check PM, also i dont think the update function in SS detects for betas.
     
  18. Chuck_IV

    Chuck_IV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Posts:
    133
    Does anyone who's running 4.5 see any reall differences between 4 and 4.5?

    Other than the detailed "Beta" homepage(instead of the nice picture they currently use), the only differences I see are that when you click the "X" to close the Gui, it will only minimize itself instead. The speed of the scans seems about the same(maybe a tad faster), but I see no other real differences(but than again I only ran 4.0 for a couple days before switching to 4.5).

    I guess my question is, what's the significant enough change(s) that warranted the version to go up .5?
     
  19. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i believe 4.5 supports a slightly bigger HOSTS file and instead of erasing large HOSTS files, it will just disable the HOSTS shield. i dont know what else is changed, i only read this from somewhere.
     
  20. rawr

    rawr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Illinois, U.S.A
  21. chaos16

    chaos16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,004
    i have got the new spy sweeper version 4.5.

    but i am only going to use it for on-demand thats good enought right?

    th thing is the only realtime protection i got is kaspersky antivirus.

    so should i use spy sweeper or noo need?

    BTW i use firefox so i don't need IE protection right?

    but should i have the windows system shield enabled? and Browser add on shield?
     
  22. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    If ya buy Spy Sweeper now you get Desktop firewall for free. That`s a good deal. My subs is just about up too.
     
  23. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    It wouldn`t hurt to have the system shield on. More protection.
     
  24. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    Have Spy Sweeper V4.5.3.560 installed on XP-SP2 HE with NIS 2005, ProcessGuard and RegDefend as memory active. I have all Shields active and loading on system start up. This new version of SpySweeper really surprises me in that its CPU utilization is nil during normal operation of the system. I am experiencing no noticeable slow down in loading webpages, etc. A system scan on C: drive, memory, registry is quite fast.

    Is an antispyware program finally getting it right?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.