Spell Checker for IE9?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by AlexC, Oct 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,283
    Any recomended Spell Checker that works in IE9?
    Thanks!
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    did you try Speckie?
     
  3. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,283
    No... i'll check it right now, thanks.
     
  4. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,283
    Works in fine in Google search, but do nothing here in Wilders...
     
  5. cozumel

    cozumel Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Posts:
    260
    Location:
    London, UK
    Try ieSpell

    I Have never tried it, so it is a suggestion rather than recommendation.

    Edit: UK variant of English Language is far, far superior lol j/k :cool: :argh: Totally impartial opinion of course! :D
     
  6. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,283
    Just re-started the browser and its already working!
    Thanks!:thumb:
     
  7. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Spell Checker for IE9

    +1 for Speckie :thumb:
    which combines different Dictionaries, too.
     
  8. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,283
    Seems that i spoke too soon, in my standard user account, Speckie only works in Google search and i´m not able to access the program configurations...
     
  9. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,462
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I've been using Speckie on IE 9 as it is the only spellchecker that works on 64 bit. It can behave a bit oddly in some text boxes & it pays to persevere with it a little. If you hit the space bar two or three times after typing an incorrectly spelled word into a search box you should see the wavy red line eventually.

    For instance; composing an email in Hotmail it doesn't seem to work at first, yet after typing two or three words deliberately incorrectly, I discovered that once you right-click on a suspect word it will put a wavy red line underneath them & you will get the context menu with the selection of alternative spellings. After that it just checks as you type & the wavy line will appear as normal with a misspelled word. I have also discovered that double-clicking (highlighting) a word will often convince it to start working. To be honest, even with Speckie's slightly jittery behaviour when first employed, I still prefer it to ieSpell.

    This issue on their forum with user accounts & admin privileges may have something to do with your problem. However I have installed the freeware edition on a computer with multiple accounts for a relative, albeit from an admin account, & it works. It does also tend to behave the same as on both of my own computers though in the manner that I have stated above.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2011
  10. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,283
    Correction: neither Speckie nor IESpell works in a standard user account.
    What i was seeing in Google search was only the google spell checker.

    It seems to exist a way to use Speckie in a SUA, but for that the MSI packages are needed and i can't find those!

    http://www.versoworks.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3937&p=25997

    edit: already send them a e-mail, waiting for reply
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2011
  11. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,462
    Location:
    Lloegyr

    That's interesting. I have installed ieSpell & then later Speckie on a computer with multiple accounts as an administrator & they could be used on all accounts. Did you run the original installer in an admin account as administrator?
     
  12. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,283
    Yes...
    but i will try again, this time rigth-click and "run as admin"

    The same problem is described here:
    http://www.versoworks.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3937&p=25997

    edit: i've tried to "run as admin" in admin account, but still not working.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2011
  13. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,462
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK, I can't think why it's not working. Maybe try disabling the UAC then running the installer, then re-enabling the UAC? That's all I can think of at the moment, sorry.
     
  14. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    try installing in the user account.

    i could not configure Mouse Gestures (an extension for IE) in the 'limited' admin account if it was installed with UAC off.

    i had to intall it with UAC on as well.
     
  15. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    you have to show the Menu bar in IE.

    the config option for Speckie is in one of the menu, can't recall which one exactly...
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2011
  16. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,462
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It might be an idea to see if it is enabled in 'manage add-ons'. ;)
     
  17. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    lol, yeah, it might be worth checking out. hahaha!:D
     
  18. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,283
    Problem finally solved!

    I had to disable the SRP and the automatic deny option for UAC, and install the Speckie directly in the standard user account!

    After that i re-enabled the SRP and the automatic deny, and everything is working fine!:thumb:

    thank you all for helping
     
  19. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,462
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Well ... ya never know with IE! ;)
     
  20. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,462
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Great, I'm glad you've sussed it all out. :thumb:

    The UAC often has something to do with things like this. I remember trying all sorts of things trying to add Fanboy's adblocking list to SRWare Iron's internal adblocker. Eventually I discovered that switching the UAC off allowed me to save the file. I could then turn it back on again.

    I like Speckie, despite its foibles. I installed it on the computer of an elderly relatives's the other day for her. She thinks it's brilliant & can spell properly now in emails! She never quite figured out how to use ieSpell LOL. :D
     
  21. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,607
    Location:
    USA
    I had never heard of this before. Thanks, now I can finally get rid of the outdated IE7Pro I have been using.
     
  22. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,666
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    ieSpell works well. I changed the variant to Canadian from American as I did not realize until you posted that changing was even an option.
     
  23. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Does ieSpell support other languages?
    OR
    Is it only for the Canadian, UK & US English?
     
  24. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    that's what it says on their website.
    Speckie supports 30-40 different languages.
     
  25. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    I know about Spekie, because I'm using it.
    It is about ieSpell I want to know, please.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.