Spell Checker for IE9?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by AlexC, Oct 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Any recomended Spell Checker that works in IE9?
    Thanks!
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    did you try Speckie?
     
  3. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    No... i'll check it right now, thanks.
     
  4. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Works in fine in Google search, but do nothing here in Wilders...
     
  5. cozumel

    cozumel Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Posts:
    260
    Location:
    London, UK
    Try ieSpell

    I Have never tried it, so it is a suggestion rather than recommendation.

    Edit: UK variant of English Language is far, far superior lol j/k :cool: :argh: Totally impartial opinion of course! :D
     
  6. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Just re-started the browser and its already working!
    Thanks!:thumb:
     
  7. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Spell Checker for IE9

    +1 for Speckie :thumb:
    which combines different Dictionaries, too.
     
  8. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Seems that i spoke too soon, in my standard user account, Speckie only works in Google search and i´m not able to access the program configurations...
     
  9. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I've been using Speckie on IE 9 as it is the only spellchecker that works on 64 bit. It can behave a bit oddly in some text boxes & it pays to persevere with it a little. If you hit the space bar two or three times after typing an incorrectly spelled word into a search box you should see the wavy red line eventually.

    For instance; composing an email in Hotmail it doesn't seem to work at first, yet after typing two or three words deliberately incorrectly, I discovered that once you right-click on a suspect word it will put a wavy red line underneath them & you will get the context menu with the selection of alternative spellings. After that it just checks as you type & the wavy line will appear as normal with a misspelled word. I have also discovered that double-clicking (highlighting) a word will often convince it to start working. To be honest, even with Speckie's slightly jittery behaviour when first employed, I still prefer it to ieSpell.

    This issue on their forum with user accounts & admin privileges may have something to do with your problem. However I have installed the freeware edition on a computer with multiple accounts for a relative, albeit from an admin account, & it works. It does also tend to behave the same as on both of my own computers though in the manner that I have stated above.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2011
  10. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Correction: neither Speckie nor IESpell works in a standard user account.
    What i was seeing in Google search was only the google spell checker.

    It seems to exist a way to use Speckie in a SUA, but for that the MSI packages are needed and i can't find those!

    http://www.versoworks.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3937&p=25997

    edit: already send them a e-mail, waiting for reply
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2011
  11. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr

    That's interesting. I have installed ieSpell & then later Speckie on a computer with multiple accounts as an administrator & they could be used on all accounts. Did you run the original installer in an admin account as administrator?
     
  12. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Yes...
    but i will try again, this time rigth-click and "run as admin"

    The same problem is described here:
    http://www.versoworks.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3937&p=25997

    edit: i've tried to "run as admin" in admin account, but still not working.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2011
  13. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK, I can't think why it's not working. Maybe try disabling the UAC then running the installer, then re-enabling the UAC? That's all I can think of at the moment, sorry.
     
  14. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    try installing in the user account.

    i could not configure Mouse Gestures (an extension for IE) in the 'limited' admin account if it was installed with UAC off.

    i had to intall it with UAC on as well.
     
  15. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    you have to show the Menu bar in IE.

    the config option for Speckie is in one of the menu, can't recall which one exactly...
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2011
  16. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It might be an idea to see if it is enabled in 'manage add-ons'. ;)
     
  17. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    lol, yeah, it might be worth checking out. hahaha!:D
     
  18. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Problem finally solved!

    I had to disable the SRP and the automatic deny option for UAC, and install the Speckie directly in the standard user account!

    After that i re-enabled the SRP and the automatic deny, and everything is working fine!:thumb:

    thank you all for helping
     
  19. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Well ... ya never know with IE! ;)
     
  20. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Great, I'm glad you've sussed it all out. :thumb:

    The UAC often has something to do with things like this. I remember trying all sorts of things trying to add Fanboy's adblocking list to SRWare Iron's internal adblocker. Eventually I discovered that switching the UAC off allowed me to save the file. I could then turn it back on again.

    I like Speckie, despite its foibles. I installed it on the computer of an elderly relatives's the other day for her. She thinks it's brilliant & can spell properly now in emails! She never quite figured out how to use ieSpell LOL. :D
     
  21. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    I had never heard of this before. Thanks, now I can finally get rid of the outdated IE7Pro I have been using.
     
  22. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    ieSpell works well. I changed the variant to Canadian from American as I did not realize until you posted that changing was even an option.
     
  23. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Does ieSpell support other languages?
    OR
    Is it only for the Canadian, UK & US English?
     
  24. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    that's what it says on their website.
    Speckie supports 30-40 different languages.
     
  25. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    I know about Spekie, because I'm using it.
    It is about ieSpell I want to know, please.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.