SpeedConnect Internet Accelerator any good ?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rainwalker, Apr 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    USA
    I have doubts as these things show up now and again...and again. Seems your bought IP program is pretty much controlling the lion-share of download/upload speed, but maybe it would help some. I run Windows 7 and had thought it was tweaked as it could be.
     
  2. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,840
    Location:
    USA
    I played with this sort of thing in XP and sometimes it made a significant difference. I haven't tried since running 7. Maybe I'll give SpeedConnect a try :)

    By the way here's a link:

    http://www.cbs-soft.com/
     
  3. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    USA
  4. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,840
    Location:
    USA
    You can't beat the current sale price :) The program seems to do exactly what it claims and nothing else. It doesn't even set itself to run automatically with Windows startup (remarkable lack of invasive behavior). Includes a speed test so you can see if the changes make a difference.

    More generally I wonder how Windows 7 handles these settings, eg MTU, receive window, etc.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2012
  5. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, once upon a time(XP days), I played around with those settings and just decided it did not help much. Thanks for update.
     
  6. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    USA
    I only see a UL/DL meter with graph. I see no comparative speed test or anything else whatsoever. Computer seems the same(Win 7/64).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.