Sp Guard will not show in my Systray nor open

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by oscar alo, Nov 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. oscar alo

    oscar alo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Posts:
    6
    I had the problem before so I uninstalled it and downloaded Sp-Guard again. when running for the first time, the main window will open (status, reports, options, ...), and SG will be shown in the systray. But later not. Not shown in systray, nor will the window open if I double click on the SG that is in the destop. No problems with the SG-Update in the destop, nor with MRU-Blaster.

    Thanks

    Oscar

    o_O :p
     
  2. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    Hi there oscar alo,

    Javacool will need to know what your operating systems is, and also what other programs (security, etc.) are running when you notice SpywareGuard no longer showing in the systray.

    Did you notice if it was still running in TaskManager?

    regards,

    snap
     
  3. oscar alo

    oscar alo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Posts:
    6
    Windows XP. recently bought. Norton's Antivirus, and Ad-ware 6, and Panicware's Free PopUp Stopper. I also got Aluria's Spyware Eliminator, but already I had the problem before. I never see 'SG' in the system tray, only when I did open it for the first time. Perhaps some scumware is disabling it?

    Oscar
     
  4. Cee

    Cee Guest

    I had the same problem. I left Task Manager open while I tried to start SpywareGuard and I noticed it flashed for a moment in the task manager box along with something named "SysFader" and then disappeared. On Windows XP.
     
  5. Cee

    Cee Guest

    SpywareGuard was actually running and I didn't know it. I right clicked on the red "SG" at the bottom right corner of my screen and the program popped up.
     
  6. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Now I could be mistaking but I think that Popup Stopper is conflicting with SpywareGuard. Let’s assume that Popup Stopper is indeed the culprit, when SpywareGuard launches the Popup Stopper Terminates the sgmain.exe process. OK; sgbhp.exe should be still been shown running in the background and whenever attempting to manually run SpywareGuard via Shortcut with only sgbhp.exe in the background the sgmain.exe Terminates.

    Terminate ALL 3rd Party Software, including sgbhp.exe if shown in Windows TaskManager and then attempt to re-run SpywareGuard.

    Regards,
     
  7. oscar alo

    oscar alo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Posts:
    6
    Sorry, but I am not that confident with windows: how do I terminate 'ALL' 3rd party softw? And, what is 'All'? I expect you only mean spyare programs and popup stoppers. And, if I terminate the sgbhp.exe, how can I then re-run SpywareGuard?

    Thanks
     
  8. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey oscar alo

    Execute SpywareGuard via Shortcut, or entering in C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe into Start\Run ;)
     
  9. oscar alo

    oscar alo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Posts:
    6
    Sorry again, but as I sayed I am not that confident with windows:
    1. How do I terminate 'ALL' 3rd party software?
    2. what do you mean by 'All'?
    3. If I terminate the sgbhp.exe, how can I then re-run SpywareGuard? I expect that your reply refers to this question. But, what is the "shortcut" or the "start/run"? Is it the window that appears when clicking the Start - Execute?

    Sorry

    Oscar Alomar
     
  10. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey oscar alo

    Reply to Question #3, view attached image...
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.